We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$176
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Solana Hotel and Spa(Mellieha)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Classic Rooms(Mellieha)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Pergola Hotel & Spa(Mellieha)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$335
US$251
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$426
US$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2 927)
Filter reviews
2 928 results
Traveller rating
1 090
1 070
472
181
115
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 090
1 070
472
181
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden poolal ponteles jardinsvillage viewrooftop restaurantcocktail barmain buildingthe bussmall carcomfort roompizza restaurantlovely hotelreception staffsauna and steam roombuffet dinnermellieha bayhalf board
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 2 928 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were encouraged by recent reviews on Trip Advisor and booked our stay at the Maritim Antonine with some confidence and we very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel, however, does need to address some issues:-

1. Check in was chaotic. Many guests had arrived prior to the 2pm check in time and, at 2:30pm, when we tried to check in, anticipating a queue at 2pm, there were still insufficient staff to handle demand. 25 minutes passed between arriving at the desk and receiving the keys to our room.

“Chaotic” is a fair description as people were called forward seemingly at random and I had to protest that a guest who arrived after me was called to the desk ahead of me.

More seriously, though, it took hotel staff a number of minutes to find one of our suitcases left in an unlocked room, near, but out of sight of reception. This caused a fair amount of anxiety and I heard later that a case had actually gone missing. It is unusual for a hotel not to make sure that a luggage room is locked at all times when not leaving or collecting luggage.

2. With one exception, electrical sockets in our room (455) were of the 3 pin round variety. We had brought 3 pin square to 2 pin round adaptors but these were of no use. Consequently, we could only power or charge one electrical device at a time.

3. There were no hangers suitable for hanging trousers in our wardrobe. This is an amazing oversight but the hotel quickly provided some.

4. Wi-Fi in our room was unusable and, even in the hotel lobby, slow and unreliable. Usually, after setting up a Wi-Fi password, one does not have to remember it or retain the slip of paper given at check in. I had to supply the password given me several times during our week’s holiday.

I now go on to the many good bits.

Everyone at the hotel was friendly and attentive. Igor deserves a special mention as one of the hardest working and most pleasant barmen I have ever encountered (and there have been many).

The food was excellent. Breakfast was taken every morning and the quality and variety could not be faulted. Both the Al Ponte Pizzeria on the ground floor and the Al Fresco Thai Fusion Restaurant on the hotel roof provided excellent food and service. The views from the latter were spectacular.

Electrical supply apart, our room was very satisfactory. Furnishings and décor were first class. The bathroom was well appointed and the shower powerful and reliable. Room service too was excellent. From our balcony, overlooking the swimming pool, we had a beautiful view of the Mellieha coast and beyond to the northern tip of Malta and Comino and Gozo.

This was our fourth holiday in Malta, and our first at the Maritim. When we return we will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon Nemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Anon Nemo

We are so pleased you took the opportunity to visit us here at the Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa and thank you for sharing such a kind yet very constructive review.

Your warm appraisal of the staff is sincerely appreciated, your kind words will be relayed to Igor, and we are happy that you found the rooms, food, and decor to your liking.

I would like to apologize for the time it took to check in however i would also like to point out as that check in time is at 2pm around this time the reception is very busy with the high number of guests checking in at the same time. I can appreciate how anxious you must have felt when you could not locate your case but i am happy to hear that you were reunited with your case after a few minutes. We do have trouser hangers available in our hotel upon request as well as extension leads.

Should you opt to visit again our staff will be happy to assist with any information regarding your options and extras available to you.

Once again we thank you for your review and recommendation whilst hoping to welcome you again in the near future.

With my kindest regards

Amy Lovell

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They managed to make our day so memorable. Both we and our guests enjoyed ourselves and were 100% satisfied with the service and the food on the day and in preparation for it as well.

Daniela Borg who was the person responsible for the planning of our event is a very professional woman who managed to accommodate all our requests and nothing was too much for her. She took care of everything that we needed and everything was perfect. I cannot thank her enough.

The venue around the pool area with its own terrace is beautiful and the perfect location even during the summer months because it never gets too hot here in the evening.

The food was plentiful, tasty and of premium quality as were the witness and wedding cakes. You can only expect the best when dining here since everything is prepared on site. Well done and thank you to all the team!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank maltese_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear maltese_foodie

We would like to highlight how honored we were to be chosen as the venue for your special occasion.

It is such a pleasure to learn that The Maritim Antonine Hotel was able to fulfill your expectations and we thank you for taking a moment of your time to review us so kindly.

Your warm words have been relayed to Daniela and all the staff who helped make your day so memorable .

We all hope we have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel very soon.

With kindest regards

Libby Punshon

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow wow wow. This little gem was amazing. Its 4 star hotel is fabulous. I would say 4 star in the food but 5 star for everything else. The staff were friendly, the room we had was comfy. Can't wait to go go back

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hollyjack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hollyjack1

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Maritim Antonine Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that your stay with us warranted a 5 Star rating and sincerely appreciate your appraisal of the hotel, facilities and food along with our staff and the service they provide.

Once again ,I thank you for your review and recommendation and hope to see you with us again very soon.

Kindest regards

Libby Punshon

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a modern, stylish, well-equipped hotel, with some very nice features, including a roof-top swimming pool and another pool in a shady and pleasant, small 'garden' area, at ground level, however some aspects of the hotel annoyed me from the beginning of our one-week stay.
We arrived in very hot conditions, and feeling very tired after a nine hour journey from home, to be confronted by a flight of seven steps, up which I was expected to lug our own suitcases.
I looked for a ramp or a lift, and although there was a small lift, a large notice made it clear that it was for wheelchair users ONLY. There is no ramp and no Porterage.
After a wait at the Reception desk, at around 11.00 am, we were told that we could not get into our room until 2.00 pm; not unusual hotel practice, however we had booked several weeks, previously, and our flight arrival time was known.
Our room turned out to be really lovely; light, bright, very big and overlooking the pool in the 'garden' area, and with pleasant view, from the balcony, down to the bay below. There was virtually no noise from the pool, as very few children were staying in early June, however an annoying oversight was that there was negligible drawer or shelf space in the room, so we had to live out of our suitcases to some extent, there being no storage for underwear, socks, handkerchiefs etc.
My wife got on okay with the evening self-service buffet in the main restaurant, however I found the choices a 'odd', at times, and frequently dishes were hard and overcooked; maybe having stood too long; beef dishes being particularly bad. A nice choice of tasty hors d'oeuvres appeared one evening, however this was not repeated, sadly.
The breakfast buffet was generous and mostly edible, however the bacon was always hard and difficult to cut. Small, thin, square omlettes were cooked to order, and there was a frequent supply of freshly-cooked fried eggs; also square, strangely. Perhaps the efficiency experts had dictated that square omlettes and eggs are less wasteful....
Other dining options are adjacent to the roof-top swimming pool, and an Italian diner beneath the hotel; both at extra cost.
Mellieha is a moderately pleasant place, with some attractive old streets and easy access to Valletta and elsewhere by bus. There's a MAGNIFICENT Church; more a small cathedral to us; which is a delight to see from the front of the hotel, and to stroll around during the day, or in the early evening. There is a pleasant cafe with a nice view of the bay, beneath, very close to the Church.
We dined in the hotel in the evenings, however there were a couple of fairly good looking restaurants in the town, together with two 'a la carte' restaurants in the hotel, for those on bed and breakfast terms.
The more mature should note that it is a LONG walk down to the nearest beach, and a much longer, and hotter walk back up the hill; not an option for the 'over 50s'. We used the frequent buses to go down to the beach, which is clean and quite well-equipped with cafe and 'portaloo' facilities and the sea is beautifully clear and warm. You need to allow time to get back, though, as buses get crowded and will drive past people waiting at bus stops if they are full.
In summary, there is a lot to like about Mellieha and this hotel, however the hotel is let down by an 'attitude' among staff that customers are an annoyance. We were ALWAYS made to wait for attention at the Reception Desk, whether anyone else was being served or not. The staff; particularly female ones, always had to finish THEIR conversations among themselves, first, before customers could be looked after, and housekeeping was very erratic; sometimes we got fresh tissues and new teabags in our room, sometimes we didn't. In summary, this is a nice hotel building which is let down by poor management, who simply don't notice what is going on around them, and who allow self-important staff to rule the roost - except in the dining room, where the service was unfailingly pleasant and helpful. Shame about some of the food though....

Room Tip: 'A' wing is an annexe to the main hotel, and it didn't look very attractive to us.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank WILLIAM556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear William556

Primarily, I would like to say how happy we are that you chose to stay at the Maritim Antonine Hotel.

Where we are pleased that overall you enjoyed the hotel facilities, pools, your room and the views, I must also thank you for taking the time to give us such an informative and constructive review.

I am of course saddened that your stay fell short of your expectations is any way, however please rest assured that your observations and perception are of the utmost importance to us, if we are to maintain and further improve the services we provide.

With the above in mind the details of your stay have been relayed to all departments for immediate attention.

In the meant time. we do hope that we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the future

With my kindest regards.,

Libby Punshon

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

been looking so forward to going to malta for a long time we reviewed the hotel and im glad to say here we were right to book good location good size room bath shower all toiletries etc and each room has nice high view to the sea . tea coffee etc and mini fridge . the half board basis we booked was more than sufficient great bfast all there from cereal to fry up and cold meats fruits superb fresh juice . evening meal as always salads meats roasts fresh fish great wine list superb food and more than you want . my partner came here 20 years ago and said to me not much had changed I was hoping for something more but it still had its charm people drive crazy but safe . wetook a great boat cruise to gozo and blue lagoon which was superb . we do prefer to city break but thought to try sun for 7 days this was a nice break but just nice please visit malta but stay here its great.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Antonine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Paul

We are of course very pleased you opted to stay at the Maritim Antonine Hotel during your return to Malta.

Despite the island not being quite as you imagined, we are delighted that our hotel fulfilled your expectations and sincerely appreciate you taking a moment to review us so kindly.

I will certainly pass your warm words to all the staff who thank you for your appraisal and recommendation.

Wishing you and your family a lovely summer ahead.

Kindest regards

Libby Punshon
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews