We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It looks like someone had an idea to run a restaurant but lacks of all (management) skills...”
Review of Beagle's Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

Beagle's Indian Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Description: A cosy, family run bar/restaurant with friendly prices situated in the charming seaside village of Mellieha, Malta. We serve Indian cuisine exclusively and we are currently the only Indian restaurant in Mellieha. We are new to Tripadviser but we have great reviews on Facebook where most of our history can be found. We have two adorable pedigree Beagle sisters, Daisy (2yrs) and Milly (1yr) on the team who are always present to look after our guests. A visit to our unique and very friendly Beagle's Restaurant will leave a lasting impression and become one of the highlights of your visit to Malta. We are open for dinner every evening from 7pm until 10pm except for Monday's and we look forward to your visit. Groups of more than 4 should book in advance to avoid disappointment.
Restaurant details
Description: A cosy, family run bar/restaurant with friendly prices situated in the charming seaside village of Mellieha, Malta. We serve Indian cuisine exclusively and we are currently the only Indian restaurant in Mellieha. We are new to Tripadviser but we have great reviews on Facebook where most of our history can be found. We have two adorable pedigree Beagle sisters, Daisy (2yrs) and Milly (1yr) on the team who are always present to look after our guests. A visit to our unique and very friendly Beagle's Restaurant will leave a lasting impression and become one of the highlights of your visit to Malta. We are open for dinner every evening from 7pm until 10pm except for Monday's and we look forward to your visit. Groups of more than 4 should book in advance to avoid disappointment.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

One hour to closing time and customers were turned down as kitchen was not able to serve food anymore. Not even busy as only four tables were occupied which of, two waiting for a check. Very limited menu as they have should be able to be served until announced closing time.

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank Commandantefurioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaglesSunsetLounge, Owner at Beagle's Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Our restaurant is a private establishment not a public one. The management makes the decision and judgement whether they can serve any more customers. We are sorry you were disappointed because we could not satisfy your request for a takeaway. We had our reasons for doing so and still had prior bookings to arrive. We do not like having to refuse customers and we do not do so unless there is a good reason. Since you did not have a dining experience with us your review is rather irrelevant. Our menu is selective and reflects the quality of our offering. We suggest that you take your anger and negative feelings elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We arrived early on a Tuesday evening. We received attentive service with a good selection of food and wine. The starters and mains were very good. Being uber critical the naan bread was not the best I’ve ever eaten but the curries were delightful, the rice and sides well prepared as well. We had starters, meal for two, bottle of wine and beer for just over €60. We would return.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank MP-KJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaglesSunsetLounge, Owner at Beagle's Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you Mark and Pauline...we are very happy that you enjoyed your experience at Beagle's Indian Restaurant as much as we enjoyed having you as our guests. We hope to see more of you in the future. Thank you for the generous review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

The owners of Beagles were lovely and I love that their restaurant is named after their dogs. The dogs were friendly with our little girl and the owners encouraged her to play with them. So welcoming.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank 75kellymariec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaglesSunsetLounge, Owner at Beagle's Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

How kind of you to write such a generous review for us....thank you we appreciate it very much. Say hi to Ruby and tell her she is welcome to visit Daisy and Milly anytime. Enjoy the rest of your holiday in Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

We ate here whilst on holiday. The food was lovely and home cooked. It's a bit of a gem. Be prepared that as this is a family run cooked to order restaurant, food will take a long as it takes to cook. The owners do it all themselves. Owners were very friendly and informative about the heat in the curries, which you can have cooked to the strength you want, which is a bonus. Would recommend but be prepared to wait it's worth it ! Thanks for cooking us a lovely curry

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Julez1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaglesSunsetLounge, Owner at Beagle's Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience at Beagle's Indian Restaurant and we hope you had a lovely holiday in Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

This tiny little gem is well worth a visit for some home cooked Indian food which is subtlely spiced and absolutely delicious! The menu isn’t huge, but this is because everything is cooked fresh to order, and the chef adds his own extra dishes to your main choice. All of the dishes in our meal complimented one another and we thoroughly enjoyed a great evening. Booking is essential if you don’t want to be disappointed!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank elcatgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaglesSunsetLounge, Owner at Beagle's Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

What a wonderful and beautifully written comprehensive review of Beagle's Indian Restaurant. Thank you so much. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit to our humble little family restaurant and we hope the rest of your visit to Malta was equally satisfying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beagle's Indian Restaurant also viewed

Mellieha, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing