We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
87
39
19
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
39
19
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a sea view room tui rep air conditioning units soft drinks in the fridge the small car park drinking glasses bed and breakfast wonderful position evening meal half board coastal walks coffee machine waiter service pool area small hotel hotel restaurant standard room
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Well what can we add that hasn't already been said. From the moment we arrived at the Golden Mar Menuda we were confident we had chosen the right hotel and we were in no way disappointed. Reception staff greeted us professionally and with a smile, a very good start, in fact all staff were helpful and friendly and we felt 'very much at home'. The hotel really is in a wonderful position overlooking the beautiful bay and just a few steps to the beach, We did not have a sea view but had a well appointed room at the front of the hotel (the other side to the sea view) overlooking the small car park but it was lovely and quiet. We enjoyed the variance of delicious fruits, hams, cheeses, etc. and a freshly cooked breakfast by a nice lady who always greeted us with a smile. We were half board and although we did miss not having our vegetables, meat and fish were of a very high quality, we never ventured out for dinner anywhere else but always ate in the hotel, (the waiters always made the meals that little bit more special) so what more could we ask for. Golden Mar Menuda we will return at some time and thank you for the champagne, a lovely thought for us to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sparky052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Golden Mar Menuda, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear sparky052,
What can we say other than a massive thank you for this amazing review!
We are thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us particularly the warm and friendly service delivered by our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

There were many things we loved about this little hotel - the location is fabulous, right on the beach - there were always loads of available sunbeds, it was nice and quiet, the staff were very friendly, rooms very clean and breakfast was fabulous, with a nice outdoor area to sit at to eat them. We were half-board and the dinners were very bizarre - no vegetables, so if you ordered a pork fillet or steak, that's literally what you got! We would rather have gone B&B but that wasn't an option with TUI, so we ended up eating out at the many lovely restaurants in Tossa. I'd happily stay here again, but probably only if we could book B&B only as unless they sort the dinners out, I'd be wary of paying for them then paying again to eat elsewhere!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bb67Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Golden Mar Menuda, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear bb67Nottingham,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your stay with us!
I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location, your room and breakfast. Of course, we are so proud about your kind words towards the staff.

On the other hand, we are so sorry to read that our half board service did not reach your expectations. Of course, I have made note of your comments and we will be looking into these issues with the aim to improve where necessary. I hope that, if you decide to come back next year, we can change your mind about meals service.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay in the future to truly impress you.

Kind regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for our last three days in Spain. We booked after reading reviews and were very happy when we arrived. We took a local bus from Barcelona which took 1.5 hours but a relaxing trip. Air conditioned bus and plenty of room. Hotel a 10 minute walk along local streets. The location is fantastic with a private beach are directly out the front of the motel. Plenty of room and water sport activities if you require. The rooms were nicely furnished and clean. Staff were very helpful and professional. The breakfast was ample with plenty of western and European styles of food with a chef to cook as required. The pool area is very well set out with umbrellas and chairs and cane relaxation seating. Pool great and salt water and right temperature to cool off. We ate some pool meals and drinks which were good pricing and nice flavor and size. Didn’t eat in the restaurant as we ate out each night. Plenty of local restaurants within 5-10 minutes walk which were all good. A walk into the old area will give you an appreciation of shopping and plenty of places to eat. Overall we were very happy and the location is fantastic with plenty of great views. A nice place where for once you don’t get hounded by shop keepers to buy or come to eat.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Golden Mar Menuda, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Glenn K,
Thank you so much for writing such a detailed and positive review about your recent stay with us.
It is always a pleasure to hear our guests really enjoying a great stay.
Of course, we will share your comments with all the team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

I'm currently writing this review from my sunbed with the most amazing views.
The hotel is in a wonderful position, just a few steps from the glorious beach, and minutes from the town.

The hotel is incredibly clean and the rooms are spacious enough with modern bathrooms. The beds are comfortable and the rooms have a safe, fridge and coffee machine.

I stayed with a friend and we are both foodies and couldn't wait to taste the local produce. The hotel breakfast is lovely and fresh with plenty of choice.

However the menu of the day, which when you stay half board is what you are offered, can only be described as odd at best. Examples are carrot cream and ham and cream cheese salad with red berries. There are also no accompaniments served with the meals. Veal cheeks with pine nuts was just that. 3 cheeks in a bowl sprinkled with raw pine nuts.

Thankfully the local restaurants are all in walking distance and many of them serve beautiful fresh fish and seafood with grilled vegetables! Recommendations are Minerva (see photo attached) and another is within the castle wall (literally against the length of one of the walls).

The hotel restaurant just doesn't cut it but it wouldn't take much to make it wonderful.

That said we would definitely stay again but just bed and breakfast. Thoroughly recommend the area and location.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank VeeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Golden Mar Menuda, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear VeeSheffield,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Golden Mar Menuda with other travellers.
We are delighted to know that you appreciated your stay, highlighting our privileged position, the views, the cleanliness and the comfort of the rooms and also or breakfast service.
We are so sorry that the halfboard menu didn't reach your expectations, but we hope we can change your mind about that in your next visit to Tossa de Mar.
We sincerely hope to see again in the near future! Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Once again stayed in this small and perfectly located hotel.
I think it is one of best located hotels I've had the privilege to stay at .
The sea views rooms are worth the extra , as the rear views are not the best and who would not to wake up pull back the curtains to a view of the bay and castle?
Lovely lazy feel to the hotel , staff become friends and make you feel very at ease.
Cool off to a long Gin in the evening
Some areas I had concerns is I found the evening menu a little too Pretentious, would prefer the menu reflect the area and the sea. Just another minor thing is the choice of TV channels available. Simple answer to me is don't put the TV on , just absorb the view and walk up the town in the evening.
Will be staying at the Mar Menuda again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a kettle in your room rather than the coffee pod machine and tip the cleaners!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Golden Mar Menuda, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Rob J,
Thank you so much for your kind review! It has also been a pleasure for us to welcome you back once again.
To be candid, our first point of pride is the incredible team that we have working with us, so I am delighted to know that you found the service to be so accommodating and genuinely nice!
I am nonetheless very sorry to know that you were a little bit displeased with the menu, because we try to cover all tastes, but I hope we can make you change your mind in your next visit.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back, whether for another music festival or simply to further enjoy Tossa de Mar.
Kind regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews