We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Guadiana(Monte Gordo)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 19/07
US$173
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Prime Energize(Monte Gordo)
US$172
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Calema Aparthotel(Monte Gordo)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Vasco da Gama Hotel(Monte Gordo)
US$263
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alba(Monte Gordo)
US$158
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Alcazar Hotel & SPA(Monte Gordo)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casablanca Inn(Monte Gordo)
US$138
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
27
42
39
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
42
39
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscleaned every daytowels changedhalf boardsea frontsaladfish or meatquiet resortevening mealbars and restaurantsshort walklovely hotelyogurthoneyfloorbalconybasementcleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018

We have just returned after spending 10 nights at this hotel. We were a little apprehensive before arrival, as it was very inexpensive for the half board option, but the location was excellent. We were very pleasantly surprised, as it is a spotlessly clean hotel, with comfortable beds, and a high level of service. Joao (John) is the excellent manager, and all the staff, without exception, were totally friendly and helpful. I am involved in the food industry, and I thought the range and quality of food was more than adequate! I have to wonder at some negative reviews, and the people who write them? We had a car, but even without it, there were plenty of villages nearby, which could be easily accessed by taxi (very cheap), or walking. I would certainly return, and hope to do so again next Spring. Fantastic value for money!!

Room Tip: 4th, 5th and 6th floors, afford the best views, but are worth the small fee for the upgrade
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DublinDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

We stayed here for 8 nights...Half board. Location has all the advantages we tourist look for & they have it. Rooms are OK...As I always say ...you get what you pay for...We liked the basic room...clean & nothing to complain about. Breakfast & dinner were very good with wide menu like in 4 star hotel. The kitchen staff was very efficient & friendly. Only dragging of heavy chairs was loudly & annoying . I suggest to put felt padding under the chairs. Monte Gordo is a very nice place to have a vacation ....Obrigado !!!

Room Tip: Road side rooms have a small view of the ocean
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itzhak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We asked for a sea view and got it up on the 6th floor. It is only a side sea view but you would pay a whole lot more somewhere else for a glimpse of the sea and this was more than a glimpse. A good balcony. The hotel was very clean and the room was light and was cleaned everyday and the towels changed.
Dont drink at the bar, it was really expensive and there are plenty of places in the town of Monte Gordo.
It is our 3rd time in this town and a first stay at the Baia.
The staff are hard worked but all really nice.
The food was fine, always not quite hot enough but there was always plenty of choice and lovely salad stuff. I did find the dining room a little depressing as it is in a basement and therefore no windows. We were half board but did eat out on our last night at the wonderful Indian restaurant just around the corner.
All in all this was a really good stay and we would stay again if we could not get into our other favourite hotel. The Biai is very good value for money.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor with a balcony and a side view of the sea. It was very quiet and we slept really well
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gael01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Though the room and cleaning service was adequate, my boyfriend and I felt thoroughly uncomfortable by the way other guests would stare and shake their heads at us. As a young couple we experienced considerable rudeness that could only be described as racism from older members of the community both in the town and in the hotel. When we walked into the dining room we were met with cold stares which made my boyfriend and I extremely uncomfortable considering that this was our first holiday together without our parents (we're 17 and 18). It appeared that they looked down on us with the assumption that we were spoilt rich kids who's parents had paid for everything when in actuality we had both saved up to pay for the holiday ourselves. The rude stares made me so uncomfortable that we actually missed meals we had paid for because I preferred to eat out instead of being constantly judged.
It was a shame that their attitudes put such a damper on what was otherwise, a lovely holiday. The top floor pool was perfect to swim in or sit by the poolside reading a book and the beaches surrounding the hotel were beautiful.
Would not recommend coming to this area out of tourism season because you will find yourself feeling isolated and gawked at for being obviously foreign.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiagoSilvestre, Diretor de vendas at Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Mrs Maya

Many thanks for your feedback.

We are very sorry about the way our clients or staff has made you feel. That it's not our values or mission at Baia Hotel.

Thank you to point us out about our staff, which we'll take measures about ,we never had comments about some kind of situation like that.

Please contact us trough our website, if possible, we would like to take action and understand when was your booking.

Thanks for begin our cliente.

Best regards,
Tiago Silvestre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

Very close to the sea. Helpful staff. Good selection of food at breakfast (much better than in all other Portugal hotels I was).
The only issue are a little outdated facilities and old carpet, reducing the good perception at first look.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews