We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
146
125
25
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
125
25
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city walls continental breakfast excellent price nice hotel traditional portuguese the location is perfect air conditioning free parking limited english street parking enjoyed our stay bed was comfortable top floor yogurt interior cathedral stairs
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

A very different interior of the hotell with lots of stonewalls, very nice and amazing. Rooms are a bit old, but very clean. Friendly staff that serves you a very good breakfast. Perfectly situated in the middle of old town.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Annarneweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

I stayed for four nights, as Guarda was my base for day trips into other locations in this region of Portugal. The hotel was kept clean and it was quiet at night.

The breakfast is partial table service. Breakfast doesn't begin until 0745, so I missed it most mornings, as I wanted to get an earlier start on the day. It consisted of the usual Portuguese hotel breakfast fare, of average quality. By the way, the cafe 100 yards down the street opens early.

The location is perfect, adjacent to the tower which is all that remains of the town's castle. Go into the tower and out the other side, and you'll find yourself in a portion of the old medieval quarter, next to the cathedral. There are several restaurants within easy walking distance; quality varies.

Most listings for this hotel include an air conditioning symbol. None of the rooms has an air conditioner. However the management will wheel a portable device into your room. It requires that you keep your window open about a foot to accommodate an exhaust hose, This meant that bright light from a street lamp shone into the room at night. Also, it was noisy. Hence when using it I slept with a sleep mask and high quality, foam ear plugs of the type I use with firearms.

I had a room at the rear. The elevator does not serve all of the hotel. Hence to get to the breakfast room, I had to walk down one flight of stairs, across a walk way to the front section, and then up the stairs two flights. The very old building is intact on the exterior. However, the interior has been totally re-done and has something of a modern feel. The rooms are basically furnished. They won't win any design awards, however I slept well.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank O705OQdavidf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Hard to describe layout, two sets of disconnected stairs, a small elevator and a maze of hallways. Early check in got us the best room in the hotel, #307, the penthouse room with a queen bed and a single cot, lots of floorspace, and a small adjacent rooftop deck. The other rooms looked somewhat cramped with vintage furniture/beds (think late 20th century asylum motif). Street parking is a free for all and difficult during the day, but there seem to be enough spaces at night. Continental breakfast with limited coffee choices, Nestle instant packets and lots of hot water, bread, rolls and some sliced meats, cheeses, nothing cooked, fruit and yoghurt.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank dr_odd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Doña Aurora is a very special person, taking care of all details. Seems that she works 24/7. The hotel is built against the old city walls. Twin bed is a bit on the small size better ask fot two singles.
Breakfast is served at your table and is more than you can eat. All places of interest are at walking distance.
All rooms are aired after they have been cleaned. Recommended!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Niels-Fernanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

We arrived, not knowing whether we had parked the car illegally, rang the bell and waited and waited. Eventually we were greeted by a lady with no English (and we knew two words of Portuguese). It took some time to establish that we had booked a room...and were escorted to it...and somehow we ascertained where and when breakfast would be served (tip: go upstairs from the breakfast room for a rooftop view of town - which we did not find particularly exciting compared other towns in Portugal [we'd driven from Marvao, which is an absolutely amazing town). We never ascertained whether we were illegally parked, and it was do-it-yourself in the receptionist's area (with no receptionist present) to discover the password for wi-fi.

Otherwise the hotel was fine. The breakfast was good (we then encountered some staff who had a limited understanding of English), the room was good, comfortable and clean.

The hotel would do itself a giant favour if it simply placed a comprehensive English language compendium in every room - outlining details about the town, where to eat, where to park, the hotel's wi-fi password, etc.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 60yoAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews