We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely home in a perfect location but lacked the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Palmtree cottage

Living room - range of downlighters and lamps for relaxing and reading
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room - range of downlighters and lamps for relaxing and reading
Kitchen/diner Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Living room - range of downlighters and lamps for relaxing and reading
Kitchen/diner
Living room
Living room - range of downlighters and lamps for relaxing and reading
Main bedroom
Bathroom with large walk-in shower area. Heated towel rail.
Twin bedroom. 2 single beds. Wall mounted TV. Antique fireplace.
Enclosed outdoor area, Charcoal barbeque
Palmtree cottage
Yes - there is an actual palmtree!
Palmtree Christmas
Local pubs and diners only a 5 minute walk from Palmtree
Scenic shore walk from Moville to neighbouring village of Greencastle - 2 minutes from Plmtree
Village square - 5 minute walk
St Patrick's Day parade 2016
St patrick's Day parade outside Palmtree Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Moville, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Angelsare...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely home in a perfect location but lacked the personal touch”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A few days before travelling to this property we were informed that the open fire was not operational. We had done a lot of research in to different cottages for this break away. Having an open fire was one of our main reasons for booking this property so to be told so close to our arrival date was very disappointing. It was too close to our check in date to cancel. Just check with the owner before booking as it is still listed as a luxury. Overall the cottage was clean and spacious. Lots to keep the boys entertained. Beautiful beaches and scenery nearby. A drive up to malin head is a must see. Breath-taking scenery.
Would have given a five star rating only for the open fire fudge.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
I am sorry that you were disappointed with the fire not working. As explained, the issue with the open fire was only discovered just prior to your arrival and it was not possible to get the necessary repair work done in time. We have had this repaired and our recent guests have reported no issues. i am heartened that you would have given a 5 star rating if the fire had been repaired in time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leahbest9...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent house in a lovely town”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed in this house for my birthday weekend and had a great time. The house had everything you would need including a massive range of dvds! Very clean throughout! My husband and I met Hugh the owner and he was a gentleman. The house is very close to the centre of Moville which is a lovely wee seaside town. We will definitely be back and will be booking again VERY soon!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevang47
Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Everything available for a peaceful holiday in Moville.”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Being in the 65+ age group we found the house very comfortable with lots of room in the bedroom, kitchen and lounge. (There were also two bedrooms upstairs which would suit a family of five). There was central heating for the cooler nights. There was a lovely back yard with outdoor setting in the garden perfect for summer afternoons/evenings. We enjoyed all the amenities provided especially having a washing machine and being able to park our hirecar on the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and comfort of the place.
Liked least: TV reception could be improved and the lack of a clothes airer for drying clothes on when it was raining outside.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire131...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“great holiday home with everything you could need”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just spent a week here with my husband and 3 kids (aged 6, 3 & 16months) the house was great everything was really clean and presented really well with lovely linen and towels provided, there were even beach towels as well. The house is in a great area close enough to walk to the village , kid's park and shore front and only a short drive to some blue flag beaches, culdaff is a must see. All in all I would highly recommend palmtree cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melvynfle...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Family friendly house close to beach and town centre”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Palmtree cottage is a well presented and comfortable holiday home. It is close to the beach and the town centre. There is tv & dvd player and lots of dvds and books for inclement days. There are lots of pubs and restaurants and takeaways near. There are some small grocery shops in Moville but the nearest large supermarkets are in Derry about half an hour drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to the town and beach but on a quiet road
Liked least: There was no internet access
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing