We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 2 340
Expedia.com
R 2 360
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
R 1 830
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
64
11
3
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
64
11
3
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course golf estate polo club beautiful estate rooms are spacious stunning views pizza main clubhouse couldn't do enough the hotel staff delicious food playing golf in great condition wine region security mountains gail
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2023 via mobile

One of the largest and nicest rooms (207) I have stayed in for some time. Clean, modern and everything you need. Great complimentary coffee.
World class estate with so many facilities you can use.

Backs Restaurant:
Small but very affordable menu. Friendly staff.

Valley Restaurant: You can eat about the same breakfast for almost half the price at “Backs”

Negatives:
Golf: This must be the in the top 5 most expensive courses in South Africa to play as a affiliated member. Not really catering for South Africans. As a very avid golfer, I am not willing to pay that fee. Even the discounted rate if you stay in the hotel is exorbitant. 2/10

Access to the estate is shockingly slow and ineffective, especially for hotel staying/returning guests. Every day the same procedure to gain access. Code only valid for 1-day.

R40 for still water in a normal plastic bottle!

Price: 6/10
Staff:9/10
Location: 9/10
Facilities: 9/10
Overall: 8/10

As the estate is so large, a map of the location of all the facilities would be great.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank NelusR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, General Manager at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2023

Dear NelusR

I am delighted to have received such detailed feedback from you as guest feedback is imperative for business owners to understand where we are doing well and where there is room for improvement. I will share your great feedback on the hotel and its facilities with my team in order for them to continue to stay positive, motivated and keep exceeding all the guest's expectations. Complimentary water (both still and sparkling) in recycled glass bottles are available in your rooms in the fridges.

Food and Beverage Facilities:
The same goes for the business owners of the golf course and the outsourced food and beverage outlets. Glad that your experiences at both restaurants were positive and that the quality of the meals met your expectations. I will share your concern of the difference between meals at Pearl Valley Restaurant and Back's restaurant with the owners.

Golf:
We pride ourselves with top service, top facilities and a golf course currently ranked 3rd in the country. Every day we remind ourselves that we have to provide exceptional services and facilities to stay on par with one of our goals of being the top public accessible course in the country. We offer a bucket list experience and when you drive down the Jack Nicklaus Boulevard after days/ weeks/ months of anticipation, you are met with a team that is willing to do even better that what you expected.

Access:
Security is the prime USP of Pearl Valley Golf Residential Estate and that of the Greater Val de Vie Estate. Access control will remain a priority to ensure all residents, guests, staff and suppliers are safe at all times. Longer staying guests are able to have their biometrics temporarily registered, bar meeting strict terms and conditions. Apologies for the inconvenience it has caused, but it is for your own safety. I would rather apologies for inconvenience than having to explain an incident.

We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the near future

Merry Christmas and we hope you will have a memorable experience with your friends and family during these festive times.

Kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2023

Had fun with my best friends we felf home away from home the atmosphere was exceptional the staff was very welcoming the service was excellent we slept like babies the view was good and mostly well prepared meals

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 563andilem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, General Manager at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2023

Dear 563andilem

We are truly delighted to have received such a beautiful and well written review. I will share your feedback with my team, and I am 100% sure that this will continue to re-energize them to continue to strive for perfection.

We all hope that you will be able to return soon.

Travel safely

Kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2023 via mobile

Beautiful hotel on a golf course. Part of a tour of South Africa, so we did not choose it. Stayed two nights, wished it could have been more.
Beautiful accommodation. Lovely grounds.
A la cart meal the first night was excellent. Buffet meal and breakfast was good.
Staff very pleasant.
Highly recommend this hotel, especially if you are a golfer. Round of golf with equipment etc. very competitive compared to GB .

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Elma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, General Manager at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Dear Elma H

We are delighted to hear that you have had a memorable experience at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis. I will share your positive feedback with regards to your meals with both restaurants.

Thank you for telling all potential guests to the hotel or future golfers about our competitive pricing structures. We are grateful that we could provide you with beautiful accommodation, friendly staff, well looked after facilities and grounds.

Hopefully you will be able to return and make Pearl Valley Hotel your base to continue exploring the winelands.

Keep travelling safely and we wish to welcome you very soon.

Kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2023 via mobile

A beautifully presented hotel with it’s own golf course. Stayed 2 nights in very large ground floor room. Very high quality furnishings and finish and luggage delivered by golf buggy. The staff do tend to drive at high speed around the paths so be aware of this when walk to and from the main hotel area. Food for such a large hotel was a little disappointing but as the rugby World Cup was going on at the same time the staff were a little busy. Would go back again just for the quality of the hotel but there as no doubt others in the area which may be a little smaller and more intimate it just depends what you are looking for in a hotel

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 639martinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, General Manager at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2023

Dear 639martinw

We are delighted that you chose Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis as your accommodation destination. We are thankful that you have enjoyed your stay at the restaurant and enjoyed some of the facilities.

I will share your feedback with regards to your Food and Beverage experience with the owners of the two outsourced restaurants of the estate. I have also shared your feedback with regards to the staff driving the golf carts at speed and I will continue to monitor the situation.

We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back when you are in the winelands region again.

Please travel safely, enjoy your South African trip.

Kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2023

This place over promises and woefully under delivers. It makes sense that considering it’s based around a GOLF COURSE, it’s absurd that hotel guests are not allowed on even the driving range (as we were brushed aside with ‘club championships week so try going somewhere else) is pathetic, and their was no prior warning of this. Room was not ready on time. Suggest management visits Fancourt to see how things are done. Otherwise all it is a hyped up overpriced generic hotel.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Siona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, General Manager at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2023

Dear Mrs O'Connell

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for your support in the Val de Vie triathlon.

Although a disappointing read, I must highlight the fact that when we fail the expectations of our guests, for whatever reason, we as a team work hard to rectify the situation and always prevail in amicably resolving any concerns. We work on two pillars: Ownership and responsibility, thus I would like to clarify and fill in the missing information to ensure our potential future guests receives the information required to make a calculated decision if they wish to support us in the future.

Pearl Valley Hotel is one of the businesses and service providers on the greater estate, meaning that Pearl Valley Hotel and Management does not have any authority in how the estate run their main business, namely golf. As a service provider our valued guests receives benefits e.g. better rates and packages when they book and stay at the hotel, but access to the range, preferential access to tee times etc is not in our hands.

Your request on the 27th of October to check in between 14h00 and 15h00 was answered as this is our normal check in times. On the 4th of November you asked for a 12 o 'Clock check in, which was again answered, but unfortunately declined as we were full the previous night and we could not guarantee your early check in request, thus we did not want to promise and disappoint you on arrival. This communication went out to all the attendees of the Triathlon.

Travel safely

Kind regards

Mynhardt de Jongh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews