We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$59
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grange Cleveland Winery(Lancefield)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gisborne Motel(Gisborne)
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Spa
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
24
23
18
12
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
23
18
12
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry publovely pubwine listprosciuttosat nighttake awayopen fireplacedining roomsrestaurant areaschnitzellovely helpful staffbooked lunchfriendly servicesticky date puddingdarcybendigobeers
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It doesn't get much worse. We went with a group of about 40 car enthusiasts for a Sunday drive and had reserved a dining room for lunch. It was a lovely sunny day to start winter and obviously a number of people had the same idea to enjoy an outing into the country. The management obviously had no idea of staff rostering, as they were grossly understaffed, and waitresses who were called in had no idea of what to do. Anyone who sat outside, should have been given a table number - but they weren't. Meals were paid for, and after 2.5 hours they were still nowhere to be seen. It was chaos! The angry chef refused to cook any more meals after 3pm so people were left to try to claim a refund. Many didn't get a copy of the receipt when they paid by eftpos so they were left high and dry. Those that did get meals - they were just ok, and the high prices were not reflective of what you ate. There are plenty of amazing gastro pubs and restaurants in country Victoria - this is not one of them.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRANT AND LISA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

The staff serve people who they know rather than respecting the queue.. the special pork was absolute dogs food: horrible quality.. anywhere else would be better .. the decorations and ambience is certainly inviting, but it’s when you get in that you know that you’ve been rubbed

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank melbournetraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Friends Lunch catch up on a Thursday. We ate it the BAR, nice atmosphere sat beside a crackling fire. Friendly and efficient staff. A good variety to choose on menu.. we chose..Lambs Fry, Soft Shell Crab Burger, Chicken Schnitzel and childs meal ..nuggets and chips... meals came out fairly quickly...
Lambs Fry overcooked and dry, CRB burger overfull with slaw, Schnitzel and childs meal ..just okay... these meals were Restaurant prices along with $9.50/glass wine, in the Bar !
Will we return, probably not, will we recommend, probably not..this pub is famous for its position, regrettably it’s food does not come up to standard. Very disappointed.. needs a major boost in the kitchen.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank ChezmossAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

We went for Mother Day lunch. The staff were extremely helpful on this busy da. We went knowing that we may not get a table and were going to order pizza for lunch. We found a table outside and with the heaters on it was still very cosy and warm.
They service was great and we didn't have to wait long.
The only gripe I have was the fig pizza, if they are going to charge $$ make sure you put fresh figs and not dried....there was about 2 dried figs on it.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Hiphopfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

We were planning lunch to be in Kilmore however due to time we decided to have a meal at the Mt Macedon Hotel. Hubby ordered the fish and chips, I ordered the fig and prosciutto pizza. Ordering meals at the bar needs some attention as a queue was building but no one advised where to actually ordere from! That aside the wait for meals was relatively short, very efficient considering the outdoor area was packed and others migrating inside would have made it a very busy service. The fish basket was great, good serve of battered fish and the chips nice and crisp. The pizza was good, loved the gorgonzola, perfect accompaniment to prosciutto but why would you not use fresh figs while they're still in season? The preserved fig just didn't deliver the sweetness that enhances the other two ingredients.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shadow040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews