We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Lakeside Lodge(Lakeside)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lakeside Rest(Lakeside)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
74
20
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
20
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfalse baykalk baycouple stayingchain hotelthe hotel websitecape townpenthouse suitefollowing morningprivate balconypublic areasfive star hotelbreakfast was excellentstayed nightsmuizenbergcomfortfranschhoekensuite
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Look at the hotel website and you will not be disappointed: the very individual bedrooms, the outlook, the elegant and imaginative public areas, poolside area - all more than live up to expectations. There is no restaurant but we asked for dinner on the evening of our arrival and an excellent dinner was provided. It is on the False Bay side of the Cape but all the quieter for it. The service was outstanding - waste paper baskets and trays cleared several times a day.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 853chasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2CapeTown, Owner at Colona Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Wonderful Guests
Thank you so much for visiting Colona Castle in February. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with your wife and sisters, and appreciated our location in the center of all sight-seeing highlights in and around Cape Town. We wish you many more wonderful discoveries. With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We ended up at Colona Castle after a very disappointing arrival at a location in Franschhoek, And what a find Colona Castle was. We stayed 4 nights. We had a stunning room with private balcony and an ensuite for our two children. The breakfast was outstanding. They have a lovely pool to cool down in after a day filled with activities, but most importantly the people were extremely warm and welcoming. The location was great. I really wanted to stay in the winelands, but this location just on the border of it actually worked better for us. There are some stunning nearby wine estates (don't miss Steenbergen) but also plenty of other things to do. All in all, it couldn't be improved upon!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank catharina422017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2CapeTown, Owner at Colona Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Catharina
We are so glad you discovered Colona Castle on your way from Franschhoek to Cape Town and loved our location close to Constantia Winelands, False Bay and the main sites of interest in and around Cape Town. We wish you and your wonderful family the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

I knew nothing about Colona Castle until I "stumbled" upon it whilst looking for accommodation in Cape Town. It was nothing less than spectacular. We stayed there for four nights at the beginning of our trip to South Africa and two nights at the tail end. I felt like we had been transported out of our "ordinary" life to something from a movie. The views were spectacular, the house out of this world and the attention to detail wonderful. David and the rest of the staff could not have been more accommodating.Michael and Nicole made us feel like cherished house guests instead of "customers". I give Colona Castle six stars.

Room Tip: Front rooms have million dollar views. We loved the Green Room.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I stayed there for two nights and I wished I could stay more. The view next to lake, so awesome. One can see far because of the place where Colona is situated. I love everything in there, the food, the suite I slept in, the gesture of the people in there made me love that place even more. The antiques inside, blew me away. Also the view just outside the Castle, the flowers (lavender and the white roses) ooooh!! they just made my heart skip a bit.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank aditsheannikied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2CapeTown, Owner at Colona Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Thank you for capturing the feeling in your great experience at Colona Castle. We do so enjoy hosting guests with such an appreciation for the finer aspects of life. Wishing you many an astonishing discovery in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Colona Castle is strategically placed to access main places of interest on the Cape Peninsula without having to drive in and out of Capetown city. It's also well placed to visit Franschhoek and Hermanus. Best of all is the Colona Castle's attention to detail, impeccable, discreet service and local knowledge. We stayed in the Green Room and our conservatory overlooked the courtyard and pool with views towards False Bay. The perfect spot for morning coffee and afternoon tea.
An exquisitely prepared and presented candlelit dinner with the ambience of a roaring log fire typified the elegance that made our wedding anniversary memorable.
If you relish a superbly comfortable bed, crisp bed linen, fluffy heated towels with complementary luxuriant toiletries then the Colona Castle will suit your requirements as it did ours! Thank you Nicole and Michael and your wonderful Team.

Room Tip: Request a kettle to make your own tea and coffee. We thoroughly enjoyed the Green Room with the sunrise from our balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mourneadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2CapeTown, Owner at Colona Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Mourneadventurer
Thank you so much for staying at Colona Castle with your lovely wife Liz. We are so glad you enjoyed your 4 night stay to commemorate your wedding anniversary with a romantic candle-lit dinner. Thank you also for appreciating our quiet and special location so close to all points of interest in and around Cape Town. Wishing you both the very best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews