We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just exquisite”
Review of Colona Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colona Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Reviewed 17 May 2017

This is pure luxury and the most efficiently run little family guest house (it fully deserves its 5 stars). Lovely views over False Bay and an easy ride to the beach. And the owner is a gem. I call this Versailles by the Sea!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peteklat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2CapeTown, Owner at Colona Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Peteklat
Thank you so much for visiting splendid Colona Castle. We are so glad you enjoyed it and appreciated the superb quality of experience guests can access in and around our breath-taking area of Cape Town
Wishing you the very best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Colona Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2017

Look at the hotel website and you will not be disappointed: the very individual bedrooms, the outlook, the elegant and imaginative public areas, poolside area - all more than live up to expectations. There is no restaurant but we asked for dinner on the evening of our arrival and an excellent dinner was provided. It is on the False Bay side of the Cape but all the quieter for it. The service was outstanding - waste paper baskets and trays cleared several times a day.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 853chasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2CapeTown, Owner at Colona Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Wonderful Guests
Thank you so much for visiting Colona Castle in February. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with your wife and sisters, and appreciated our location in the center of all sight-seeing highlights in and around Cape Town. We wish you many more wonderful discoveries. With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We ended up at Colona Castle after a very disappointing arrival at a location in Franschhoek, And what a find Colona Castle was. We stayed 4 nights. We had a stunning room with private balcony and an ensuite for our two children. The breakfast was outstanding. They have a lovely pool to cool down in after a day filled with activities, but most importantly the people were extremely warm and welcoming. The location was great. I really wanted to stay in the winelands, but this location just on the border of it actually worked better for us. There are some stunning nearby wine estates (don't miss Steenbergen) but also plenty of other things to do. All in all, it couldn't be improved upon!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank catharina422017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2CapeTown, Owner at Colona Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Catharina
We are so glad you discovered Colona Castle on your way from Franschhoek to Cape Town and loved our location close to Constantia Winelands, False Bay and the main sites of interest in and around Cape Town. We wish you and your wonderful family the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

I knew nothing about Colona Castle until I "stumbled" upon it whilst looking for accommodation in Cape Town. It was nothing less than spectacular. We stayed there for four nights at the beginning of our trip to South Africa and two nights at the tail end. I felt like we had been transported out of our "ordinary" life to something from a movie. The views were spectacular, the house out of this world and the attention to detail wonderful. David and the rest of the staff could not have been more accommodating.Michael and Nicole made us feel like cherished house guests instead of "customers". I give Colona Castle six stars.

Room Tip: Front rooms have million dollar views. We loved the Green Room.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I stayed there for two nights and I wished I could stay more. The view next to lake, so awesome. One can see far because of the place where Colona is situated. I love everything in there, the food, the suite I slept in, the gesture of the people in there made me love that place even more. The antiques inside, blew me away. Also the view just outside the Castle, the flowers (lavender and the white roses) ooooh!! they just made my heart skip a bit.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank aditsheannikied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2CapeTown, Owner at Colona Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Thank you for capturing the feeling in your great experience at Colona Castle. We do so enjoy hosting guests with such an appreciation for the finer aspects of life. Wishing you many an astonishing discovery in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
21.5 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1 513 reviews
18.2 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
4.7 km away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2 055 reviews
19.6 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1 762 reviews
21.4 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colona Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colona Castle

Address: 1 Verwood Street, Off Old Boyes Drive | Cape Town, Lakeside 7945, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Lakeside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Price Range: R1 880 - R4 528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Colona Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the epicentre of Greater Cape Town, Colona Castle, graded 5 Star, is truly a sophisticated, elegant and enchanting base from which to explore Cape Town, the Peninsula and Winelands. Gracing the mountainside above a tranquil Lake District on the warmer False Bay coastline, and furnished with a treasured antique collection, this splendid Mediterranean style retreat offers character, exclusivity and infinite charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colona Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colona Castle Hotel Lakeside
Colona Castle Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing