We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely ,peaceful mini break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Vilamoura, Quarteira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joanne51...
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely ,peaceful mini break”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We came on a friends hen party, fourteen of us ranging from twenty to fifty plus,the villa is lovely, airy and clean,plenty of facilities and Antonio was thoughtful and friendly,lovely welcome hamper and so much room.The garden and pool are lovely,perfect for rounders! It's a nice walk into town,the bakery with Ruby on it is divine,we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we would recommend the villa to anyone x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the airyness and space,plus the location
Liked least: the basement rooms
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra777...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location ideal villa for group of friends”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Villa Popa was a great base for our holiday. Ideal to walk to beach supermarket and marina
The villa was as advertised and good for our requirements, at a reasonable price. We suggested a few minor changes that would make it even better which hopefully will benefit future visitors, the few immediate niggles we had were sorted quickly.
We did not use the basement bedrooms.
The pool and grounds are great with plenty of chairs and sun loungers,but the drive needs urgent attention, which will take place as soon as possible according to Seashell.
Favourite restaurant was the Mayflower on the marina, worth the extra cost.
We used taxis to get around, less hassle and very reasonable
We will be returning next year.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike S
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation in beautiful location”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Totally agree with the previous review, they were possibly in the villa immediately before us ? The property is exactly as described, and the patio, garden and pool areas are exceptional. Over the summer months these properties are bound to suffer some wear and tear, but on the two minor issues I raised with Antonio he fixed them within a couple of hours, no complaints whatsoever. There were ten of us, all adults, and we were very comfortable. Whilst the villa can indeed sleep 14, the rooms in the basement are not ideal, with no natural light, and despite the fans, can get very warm. However, that's what the description said, so again, no complaints.
It would be helpful to have the instructions for appliances, tv included, all in one folder for ease of reference ? that said, we'd go back again in a minute !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, patio and garden
Liked least: The basement
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne J
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic villa!!”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We're a family of 13 (7 adults and 6 kids) and have just come back from a 10 night stay at villa popa. After reading a recent review we were extremely worried but we needn't have been, the villa is fantastic!

Location wise, it's around a 20 minute stroll to the marina. It's on a lovely road of villas and the back of the property overlooks the golf course. The nearest supermarket is a 5 minute drive away. The pool was a perfect size for our party and was cleaned 2 or 3 times during our stay. It was in full sun all day from around 10:30am. There's plenty of trees providing shade for those who prefer to be out of the sun. There's more than enough sun loungers but be warned, if you leave them out they will be wet through in the morning due to the sprinkler system. The tiled patio area is very slippy when wet so care is needed to avoid a fall! The washing line is plenty big enough but again, don't leave things hung out overnight as they'll be wet through in the morning! The front driveway to the villa is very uneven, we suffered several stubbed toes during our stay!

Moving on to the inside of the villa, yes it's a little bit tired and in need of some tlc, but it is so well equipped, you want for nothing! It was also spotlessly clean. There is a large, brand new American fridge freezer which provides ice cold filtered water and ice whenever you want it. The microwave and kettle also looked brand new. There's also enough crockery for 100 people! All the bedrooms/bathrooms are perfectly adequate with plenty of towels which looked brand new. The only problem we had was with the basement rooms, we were told they had fans but there was no fans to be found anywhere. We emailed Antonio and within 24 hours 2 fans were delivered. The pool table was not great as it had a big bump in the middle but someone arrived to fix it on the day we were leaving so this should now be resolved. We honestly could not fault the villa or the service we received from Antonio and his team.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area and how well equipped the villa is.
Liked least: The uneven driveway.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely villa, but tired!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with 8 adults and 2 young children last week. We had cause to point out numerous things that were in our view below standard. Antonio Palma and he colleague did put some items right straight away like replacing one air conditioner in a Ground floor bedroom and repairing dangerous patio tiles. However the list was long and as follows:-

BASEMENT

Bedroom on left
bed spreads are stained
bathroom has hair on wall and grubby hand marks on tiles above bidet

Bedroom on right
bedspread is stained

Games room
sofa badly stained, pool table cannot be used, tiles in corner coming up.

GROUND FLOOR

Lounge
1 A/C unit not working
Curtains hanging off
Unit / cupboard doors - some don't shut and some hanging off hinges
Lack of sofas for 10 people

Kitchen

Refrigerator is dangerous - shelves are broken and door shelves fall out. Not big enough for the number of people that this house can house!
Cupboard doors - some don't shut and some hanging off hinges
Mugs are plastic and discoloured, also insufficient in number. Why only 1 china mug?
Plug socket for kettle is not fixed to wall, most electrics look suspicious
Sealant around sink is discoloured and disgusting
Microwave is rusty

Patio Area
Floor tiles dangerous, one tile comes out completely - cuts your feet
Shutter doors to patio do not clip back into position, our 6 year old was knocked over when this came away
Canopy is ripped in many places
Floor was filthy and sticky on arrival as was majority of tables and chairs - we have had to clean everything down
BBQ was so dirty it was unusable until we spent over an hour cleaning it and door is hanging off, hinge is broken
Pool fencing is dangerous, bolts are missing
Loungers all dirty
Not all lights work (this is the case throughout the entire property)

Bedroom next to kitchen
Bathroom door does not open from inside
One bedside light does not work
Mouldy sealant by bathroom sink

Bedroom nearest to basement

Bedroom door does not open from the inside
Bedspread and throw cushions stained with what looks like dried blood spots
Air conditioning very noisy as if a gale is blowing through it
Wires showing on bedside lamp
Bed uncomfortable as mattress on three boards
Curtains hanging off
Bathroom, one light switch not working, mouldy sealant around base of bath, many hairs around base of bath stuck to sealant, shower floods entire bathroom.

Laundry room
no instructions for washing machine and dryer

FIRST FLOOR

Bedroom overlooking rear of property
Main bathroom light does not work
Poor bedroom lighting
Bathroom door does not lock
Main bedroom door badly fitted and has to be slammed shut
Curtains hanging off
No hot water in bathroom sink
Patio shutter do not clip back
Pillows, bed linen and towels are inadequate

Bedroom overlooking front of property
Sewer smell coming out of bathroom
Insufficient towels
No lock on bathroom door

Generally the house is tired and very unclean / unhygienic, such a shame as a lot of effort gone into outside and property is generous in size.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and space
Liked least: See list of defects
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review. We tried our best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible but in this case that was a battle we couldn't win as the glass would always be half empty no matter what.
The villa is quite some years old and the pictures show exactly that. From the maintenance issues pointed out many are not true at all and others are insignificant, the ones that really mattered were attended promptly. Including one air conditioning that stopped working during the stay and was replaced for a new one in record time.

Nothing is ever perfect or good enough for an half-empty kind of personality. Avoid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$354
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing