We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (716)
Filter reviews
716 results
Traveller rating
389
226
60
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
226
60
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews omelette fantastic breakfast hotel breakfast nice room great view excellent hotel next morning modern design business room hotel is located hurtigruten cruise superior room our night stay clean hotel scenic view great selection salmon
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 716 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018

My wife and myself have stayed in the Thon Hotel Lofoten in Svolvaer, Norway from December 28 until January 3 2018.

We booked through our agent the best and biggest room there was, a Panorama suite.

Upon arrival and while checking in, we received the keys of a hotel suite, which as we were told should be the correct room.

When we came up on the 5th floor and entered the room, we were surprised, since the room was much much smaller then we expected and did not at all match the description we received earlier from our agent and it wasn't at all in line with the high room rate of NOK 6500 we had to pay upfront. When we checked this down stairs at the reception we were explicitly told several times that this was really the room we booked and that it was absolutely the biggest and best room there was. Since we were tired, we decided to leave it for that moment and contact our agent back in Holland first.

The next morning we got a reply back from our agent, stating that as far as he could see we were given a wrong room. We went back to the reception and again we were told that this was the correct room by 2 different staff member. I asked what the rate of the room was where we were staying in and the answer was NOK 4500! This “proved” to us again that we were not given the correct room. By now also the assistent manager (Madeleine) came from the back office and told us also explicitely that this was indeed the right room and that there were no better or bigger rooms. We confronted here with the price we had payed upfront, being NOK 6500 and said that this price did not at all match with the allocated room and she said that she understood our opinion and that our room wasn't worth that rate, but replied that sometimes agents put a lot of margins in between and therefor we should take it up with our agent.

Our agent is very trustful and we could not believe that this was the case, but anyway gave him this feedback aswell and asked him to sort things out with the (assistent)manager which he did.

Unfortunately this took a few day because it turned out hard for our agent to get someone on the phone or otherwise get a proper answer. When we checked out on our last day, we ourselves again asked for the (assistent) manager, but also she was not available we were told ("she is in a meeting").

The day after we got back in Holland, we finally got the message that we were after all given the wrong room and that there indeed turned out to be a bigger/better room, which was probably double booked (we don’t know) and we would be reimbursed for the incorrect rate (NOK 6500 - 4500 = NOK 2000 per night x 5 nights.

It is clear to us that we have been deliberately mislead and our agent was falsely discredited. We got the wrong hotel suite and were not compensated for the wrong rate if it weren’t for our own research and perseverance. We are very very disappointed about this dishonesty.

Other area’s of improvements from our point of view:
-receptionist staff members chewing gum while talking to customers
-the bar isn’t open until 19.00 PM, were as it is dark in this time of year as off 14.30 PM and a lot of people are sitting in the bar area doing games or sit and talk or email/text and would love to order a drink
-on January 1, 2018 we were told the hotel restaurant was closed for individual guest and we were send out to eat outdoors.

To summarize: our experience was bad; we would not recommend anybody to stay in this hotel!

Date of stay: January 2018
2  Thank 13Berend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari A, Service & Quality Coordinator at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback on your stay. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience suffered during your stay and that you got allocated the wrong room category upon arrival. We regret to know that your experience with us did not reach your expectations as our main goal is to satisfy our guests and make them feel like if they were at home. Your feedback and comments are forwarded to the responsible departments and will be a part of the evaluation of the holiday season. If you decide to give us another opportunity, we will do our best to change your last memory. Do not hesitate to contact me directly as I will do my best so you can have a special occasion at Thon Hotel Lofoten. Kind regards Kari, Thon Hotel Lofoten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Past the first positive impression, mainly driven by the spectacular Svolvær scenic and environment, we noticed some severe missing for this hotel during our 6 nights stay over Xmas and new year’s eve.
First the food & beverage: The breakfast is very good, that’s all….The restaurant was serving the same very simple menu for dinner (1 starter and 2 main courses) during the whole stay. Very boring and not up to any international higher hotel standards. Then, the bar in the lobby was closed in the afternoon. What about the guests staying there during bad weather outside ? It was not possible to order any snack or drink while the restaurant is closed ! Yes, a self-service coffee machine was provided, but again this is not ok for such hotel.
Second, we experienced a light medical emergency and felt the hotel staff was absolutely not prepared to handle such situation. The only support we received was the name of the clinic. No further help such as transportation, special needs (i.e. wheel chair) or staff assistance was
proposed…We were on our own ! Any serious and international hotel has a procedure in place on how to address any medical situation, minor or severe. This is a big lack !
In general, we felt the staff was far too junior to provide the level of service we expected from such hotel (we did not see any senior manager during 6 days, only front-desk and restaurant staff). I am spending about yearly 90-100 nights in various hotels across the world and I was
expecting far more from the Thon Hotel as per their advertisement.
Now, it might be opposed to me that our stay was during the year’s end holidays and that this period is difficult in regard to staffing, etc... But, that is none of my concern. If the hotel management is not able to keep up with the usual yearly service level, then they close for year’s end. It cannot be half way ! I booked, I paid (not half…) and I did not get what I was expecting. This was very disappointing.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari A, Service & Quality Coordinator at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Peer K, Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback on your stay. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience suffered during your stay. We regret to know that your experience with us did not reach your expectations as our main goal is to satisfy our guests and make them feel like if they were at home. Your comments regarding the menu and the lobby bar is forwarded to the kitchen and the restaurant and will be a part of the evaluation of the holiday season. The reception staff is trained to handle medical crises and I’m deeply sorry to hear that you felt that you were on your own. The reception staff has already repeated and talked about the procedures and what to do when medical crises accurs, to assure that this will never happen again. If you decide to give us another opportunity, we will do our best to change your last memory. Kind regards Kari, Thon Hotel Lofoten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

The hotel is located just right at the city center, next door to the tourist information center, a minute walk to the convenience store and on top of that it is such a great view on the surrounding area. The hotel staff is so kind and helpful. The restaurant is really huge, it is a variety of choice for the breakfast. The room itself is quite a good size. Svolvaer is a gate way to Lofoten, so from the hotel, you can travel to the rest of the island quite easy. I like the place and definitely will go back again.

Room tip: every room is as good as it get
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_suchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari A, Service and Quality Coordinator at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Suchet - Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this nice review and feedback. We really appreciate it. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Thon Hotel Lofoten. We look forward to welcome you back. Kind regards Kari, Thon Hotel Lofoten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

The breakfast was marvelous – the best breakfast ever!. The hotel was nice, clean and very calm in the middle of the small city of Svolvear. We loved our stay in Lofoten and we are looking forward to come back.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Annika Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari A, Service and Quality Coordinator at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Annika, Thank you so much for this review and feedback. It's really appreciated. So happy to hear that you had a nice stay at Thon Hotel Lofoten Glad you enjoyed the breakfast. Welcome back! Kind regards Kari, Thon Hotel Lofoten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Where do I start? Everyone knows it’s expensive in Norway. But we found a great place to stay in Svolvaer that really gave you value for money. Spacious rooms, quality bedding - read super comfy! We have a king bed at home, so a double here is the same size - and has the added bonus of individual duvets! Opening windows and water views were great, and our 6 days here just flew by.

Breakfasts were fantastic - if you went hungry it’s your own fault. And a coffee machine in the foyer means you can recharge and sit in the funky lounge area at any time of day or night.

Free access to the local Stamina gym meant we could remind ourselves that we had muscles!

The location is 5 stars too, right on the waterfront and literally steps to the Hurtigruten.

The real star here is Ho Ronja - the best hotel front of house we’ve come across. She went out of her way to help us plan our stay, always greeted us with a smile and a hello, and really took the time to make us feel welcome. I call that value for money. Make this your home base for the Lofoten Islands - We’ll be back in the spring or autumn one year for sure, and we’ll stay here. Definitely.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank squirrel6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari A, Service & Quality Coordinator at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you so much for this nice review and feedback. We really appreciate it. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Thon Hotel Lofoten and Svolvær. Ronja has already been notified of your nice feedback, and you are right she is a star. We look forward to welcome you back. Kind regards Kari, Thon Hotel Lofoten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews