We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn’t fault!”
Review of Thon Hotel Lofoten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thon Hotel Lofoten
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Svolvaer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel invites to relaxation, activities and excellent breakfast! I recommend a room with view towards the «Hurtigrute»dock. Short walk to anything Svolvær can offer. Recommend dinner at «Børsen» at Svinøya!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank TravelExplorePassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari A, Service and Quality Coordinator at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to give us this nice feedback and review and thank you for staying with us. It's really appreciated. I'm so glad to hear you had a nice stay and enjoyed our breakfast. Welcome back! Kind regards Kari, Thon Hotel Lofoten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2018

My wife and myself have stayed in the Thon Hotel Lofoten in Svolvaer, Norway from December 28 until January 3 2018.

We booked through our agent the best and biggest room there was, a Panorama suite.

Upon arrival and while checking in, we received the keys of a hotel suite, which as we were told should be the correct room.

When we came up on the 5th floor and entered the room, we were surprised, since the room was much much smaller then we expected and did not at all match the description we received earlier from our agent and it wasn't at all in line with the high room rate of NOK 6500 we had to pay upfront. When we checked this down stairs at the reception we were explicitly told several times that this was really the room we booked and that it was absolutely the biggest and best room there was. Since we were tired, we decided to leave it for that moment and contact our agent back in Holland first.

The next morning we got a reply back from our agent, stating that as far as he could see we were given a wrong room. We went back to the reception and again we were told that this was the correct room by 2 different staff member. I asked what the rate of the room was where we were staying in and the answer was NOK 4500! This “proved” to us again that we were not given the correct room. By now also the assistent manager (Madeleine) came from the back office and told us also explicitely that this was indeed the right room and that there were no better or bigger rooms. We confronted here with the price we had payed upfront, being NOK 6500 and said that this price did not at all match with the allocated room and she said that she understood our opinion and that our room wasn't worth that rate, but replied that sometimes agents put a lot of margins in between and therefor we should take it up with our agent.

Our agent is very trustful and we could not believe that this was the case, but anyway gave him this feedback aswell and asked him to sort things out with the (assistent)manager which he did.

Unfortunately this took a few day because it turned out hard for our agent to get someone on the phone or otherwise get a proper answer. When we checked out on our last day, we ourselves again asked for the (assistent) manager, but also she was not available we were told ("she is in a meeting").

The day after we got back in Holland, we finally got the message that we were after all given the wrong room and that there indeed turned out to be a bigger/better room, which was probably double booked (we don’t know) and we would be reimbursed for the incorrect rate (NOK 6500 - 4500 = NOK 2000 per night x 5 nights.

It is clear to us that we have been deliberately mislead and our agent was falsely discredited. We got the wrong hotel suite and were not compensated for the wrong rate if it weren’t for our own research and perseverance. We are very very disappointed about this dishonesty.

Other area’s of improvements from our point of view:
-receptionist staff members chewing gum while talking to customers
-the bar isn’t open until 19.00 PM, were as it is dark in this time of year as off 14.30 PM and a lot of people are sitting in the bar area doing games or sit and talk or email/text and would love to order a drink
-on January 1, 2018 we were told the hotel restaurant was closed for individual guest and we were send out to eat outdoors.

To summarize: our experience was bad; we would not recommend anybody to stay in this hotel!

Stayed: January 2018
2  Thank 13Berend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari A, Service & Quality Coordinator at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback on your stay. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience suffered during your stay and that you got allocated the wrong room category upon arrival. We regret to know that your experience with us did not reach your expectations as our main goal is to satisfy our guests and make them feel like if they were at home. Your feedback and comments are forwarded to the responsible departments and will be a part of the evaluation of the holiday season. If you decide to give us another opportunity, we will do our best to change your last memory. Do not hesitate to contact me directly as I will do my best so you can have a special occasion at Thon Hotel Lofoten. Kind regards Kari, Thon Hotel Lofoten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Past the first positive impression, mainly driven by the spectacular Svolvær scenic and environment, we noticed some severe missing for this hotel during our 6 nights stay over Xmas and new year’s eve.
First the food & beverage: The breakfast is very good, that’s all….The restaurant was serving the same very simple menu for dinner (1 starter and 2 main courses) during the whole stay. Very boring and not up to any international higher hotel standards. Then, the bar in the lobby was closed in the afternoon. What about the guests staying there during bad weather outside ? It was not possible to order any snack or drink while the restaurant is closed ! Yes, a self-service coffee machine was provided, but again this is not ok for such hotel.
Second, we experienced a light medical emergency and felt the hotel staff was absolutely not prepared to handle such situation. The only support we received was the name of the clinic. No further help such as transportation, special needs (i.e. wheel chair) or staff assistance was
proposed…We were on our own ! Any serious and international hotel has a procedure in place on how to address any medical situation, minor or severe. This is a big lack !
In general, we felt the staff was far too junior to provide the level of service we expected from such hotel (we did not see any senior manager during 6 days, only front-desk and restaurant staff). I am spending about yearly 90-100 nights in various hotels across the world and I was
expecting far more from the Thon Hotel as per their advertisement.
Now, it might be opposed to me that our stay was during the year’s end holidays and that this period is difficult in regard to staffing, etc... But, that is none of my concern. If the hotel management is not able to keep up with the usual yearly service level, then they close for year’s end. It cannot be half way ! I booked, I paid (not half…) and I did not get what I was expecting. This was very disappointing.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari A, Service & Quality Coordinator at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Peer K, Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback on your stay. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience suffered during your stay. We regret to know that your experience with us did not reach your expectations as our main goal is to satisfy our guests and make them feel like if they were at home. Your comments regarding the menu and the lobby bar is forwarded to the kitchen and the restaurant and will be a part of the evaluation of the holiday season. The reception staff is trained to handle medical crises and I’m deeply sorry to hear that you felt that you were on your own. The reception staff has already repeated and talked about the procedures and what to do when medical crises accurs, to assure that this will never happen again. If you decide to give us another opportunity, we will do our best to change your last memory. Kind regards Kari, Thon Hotel Lofoten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

The hotel is located just right at the city center, next door to the tourist information center, a minute walk to the convenience store and on top of that it is such a great view on the surrounding area. The hotel staff is so kind and helpful. The restaurant is really huge, it is a variety of choice for the breakfast. The room itself is quite a good size. Svolvaer is a gate way to Lofoten, so from the hotel, you can travel to the rest of the island quite easy. I like the place and definitely will go back again.

Room Tip: every room is as good as it get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suchet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari A, Service and Quality Coordinator at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Suchet - Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this nice review and feedback. We really appreciate it. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Thon Hotel Lofoten. We look forward to welcome you back. Kind regards Kari, Thon Hotel Lofoten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

The breakfast was marvelous – the best breakfast ever!. The hotel was nice, clean and very calm in the middle of the small city of Svolvear. We loved our stay in Lofoten and we are looking forward to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Annika Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari A, Service and Quality Coordinator at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Annika, Thank you so much for this review and feedback. It's really appreciated. So happy to hear that you had a nice stay at Thon Hotel Lofoten Glad you enjoyed the breakfast. Welcome back! Kind regards Kari, Thon Hotel Lofoten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svolvaer
0,3 km away
Scandic Svolvaer
Scandic Svolvaer
#2 of 4 in Svolvaer
358 reviews
17,1 km away
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
#1 of 2 in Henningsvaer
153 reviews
0,3 km away
Vestfjord Hotell
Vestfjord Hotell
#3 of 4 in Svolvaer
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31,5 km away
Lofoten Panorama
Lofoten Panorama
#2 of 2 in Stamsund
6 reviews
0 km away
Lofoten Suite Hotel
Lofoten Suite Hotel
#1 of 1 in Svolvaer
95 reviews
0,7 km away
Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Lofoten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Lofoten

Address: OJ Kaarbos gate | Torget, Svolvaer 8300, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Vagan > Svolvaer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Svolvaer
Price Range: R 2 271 - R 3 675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Lofoten 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Thon Hotel Lofoten - a new and top modern conference hotel in Svolvaer, the hearth of Lofoten! Thon Hotel Lofoten is located right on the sea front of the harbour in Svolvaer. Only a few metres away from Hurtigruta and within walking distance of the many attractions of Svolvaer, the main centre of Lofoten. Thon Hotel Lofoten will have 161 modern rooms and wireless internet access points throughout the hotell. Most of the rooms will have a spectacular view of the Lofoten sea. Eating and drinking: Restaurant Bojer is located on Kaien (The Quay) in Svolvaer. The restaurant serves food made from local foods, like Cod and Stockfishk from local fishermen, whale meat, local cheese and the Lofoten lamb. Outdoor service in the summer season. Conference at Thon Hotel Lofoten The conference department has a capacity of 750 persons in the largest hall and an additional 20 meeting rooms allow for maximum flexibility. Maximum total capacity will be 1 100 persons. We can arrange banquets and parties for up to 750 persons. Thon Hotel Lofoten - A perfect starting point for exciting experiences in beautiful nature! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Lofoten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing