We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very suitable for family and friends visit to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Full view of property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full view of property
Main bedroom with ensuite shower room TV / lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Full view of property
Main bedroom with ensuite shower room
TV / lounge area
Enjoy a romantic evening!
bright and airy kitchen
spacious living area
games room
Triple bedroom with ensuite shower
shower room
double bedroom with access to outdoor terrace
triple bedroom
Shower ensuite
Marsascala Bay
Book your Gozo trip to Blue Lagoon, Gozo and comino.  There is so much to explore!
Diving in Malta. A truly heaven.  You experience the wonders down below
In valletta during Carnival times
Golf  course in Marsa - 25 minutes drive
Sandy beaches in St.Thomas Bay
The Maltese signature - The Luzzu
main bedroom with en suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Marsascala, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
MandRAust...
Forster, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very suitable for family and friends visit to Malta”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A very nice rental property in a lovely place which was convenient for getting around Malta by car. The owners were very helpful and available when needed. The apartment was very neat, clean and tidy and well equipped. The swimming pool was a bonus for the children in the hot weather. Thanks - we would hire it again if we were to visit Malta.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly and helpful owners and good layout of the apartment.
Liked least: Had to pay extra for airconditioning use and wifi - would expect it in the price.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
Thanks for your time to submit your review. we look forward to see you again in malta.

The Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shedboy72
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent from start to finish”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The villa itself was perfect for out group of 7 adults with a lovely private pool that got the sun most of the day. There was everything that we needed and we were allowed access relatively early in the day which helped greatly.

Located in a very quiet street but within a 5 minute walk of the supermarket and approximately 15 minutes on foot from the harbour area in Marsascala that offered a variety of restaurants and bars set around a beautiful setting.

David & Jane were always very quick to reply to any request for information prior to our arrival and also arranged airport transfers and other transport requirements that we had while in Malta. All transport was on time and without any issues.

As we had a late flight home David & Jane were happy to store our luggage which allowed us to enjoy our last day without the hassle of trailing cases with us and we simply returned to the villa at the agreed time to pick up the luggage and get ours transport to the airport which was waiting for us.

Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very easy people to deal with
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Dear guest

we thank you for your time in submitting your review. we are happy that you all had a great stay at carville. We look forward to see you again

David and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat G
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worn, torn and extra fees”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I suppose at one time the Carville looked as it does in the pictures, sadly time has taken a toll on this property. That is not to say that it is not liveable.

Let's begin with the worst. The recreation area is only accessible via a set of steep outside stairs. This would not be a great issue but the air conditioning unit drips on the stairs making them slick and unsafe. Further, the recreation area is dank and smells of mold - for us it was unusable space.

The deck and internal furniture is worn but useable, this is not a serious issue if you just need a crash space but again not as shown in the pictures of the property. The beds are a different matter - they are all doubles or bunks so if the only way to get something bigger is to push two together. The bds themselves are of very basic quality with thin foam mattresses and low quality linen. Better than a blow up mattress on the floor but not by much. The kitchen equipment is serviceable but mismatched and again of the most economical quality

Scattered throughout the property are signs admonishing guests to conserve water and electricity, to watch noise levels and to get the garbage out on time. None of which are particularly wrong, but they are so in your face as to be insulting.

Now in fairness Malta has seen huge increases in power and fresh water costs, and conserving both makes a lot of sense. This brings up the problem of undisclosed fees. The owners of the Carville give guests so many units of water, electricity and air conditioning with extra charges applying. This would not be a problem if mentioned up front - which it was not. Further, the electrical system in the Carville doesn't seem to follow a coherent plan. Some switches are up for on others down. It is not clearly marked what switches control inside and outside lighting. Further, the switches for the two hot water heaters were not clearly marked making it difficult to control these power hogs. Finally the pool pump runs on a timer over which you have no control further using up your allotment of watts. Despite our best efforts and only running air conditioning at night and at a moderate level, we easily exceeded the power allotment for the week.

Another hidden charge was for the internet not onerous but applied on a per-head basis so a week there cost more than a month of unlimited at home.

A final charge was the 50 Euro "Property Improvement" fee - it was very obvious that previous installments of this had not been used for the intended purpose and that it appears to be just another way to squeeze a few more euros out of the property.

Overall the space is liveable in a good area with decent beach access but the price was far too much for what was on offer. I would go back to the area but not to the Carville.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Carville villa apartment is fully detached property built on 400 square metres with own private pool and entrance. The property is spacious enough to accomodate comfortably 10 to a maximum of 15 persons. Located in a quiet residential area close by to the sea and local amenities which are within easy reach on foot. This property to start with is advertised informatively on all uk sites in detail, describing the spaciousness, the interior rooms and exterior outdoor surroundings including the games area, BBQ and the outdoor pool. Also described in the description are the optional extras including wifi and air-conditioning at an extra cost per day ,. No more, no less. The games room area is not so detached as described but leads from outdoors from near the outdoor pool. As the property is located in a quiet residential area, including more of our properties in the neighbourhood it is of utmost important not to be disturbed or disturb others by loud noises. Signs are useful for everyone in general to follow which are part of the rules there are in the house. Regarding to toiletries, we provide starters to our properties including toiletries in every bathroom, basic detergents in kitchens and other useful additional items left in the pantries. From then on it is self catering to the guest. I do not believe that one has to pick all this ridiculous thoughts and put them down as issues. We were always around to come by a have a talk. But this never happened and no one contacted us. There was nothing at all to worry about and make it obvious to dangerous. From our recent positive reviews guests had a wonderful and a great stay at Carville, feeling at home! And we are happy that every guest comes out with a smile!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not As Advertised”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The only reason I'm even giving one star is because it was big enough for our extended family to stay, but you can be sure we'll never stay there again. So many unexpected nasty surprises.

Let's start with the games room. It was unusable. Overpowering smell of mold and chlorine. Wasn't even part of the house, had to go down very slippery, wet stairs to get there - very dangerous.

Not informed that had to pay for wifi, stay fee, water, air-conditioning and electricity. It was ridiculous. And what was even MORE ridiculous was the number of signs EVERYWHERE telling us what not to do. "Signs, signs, everywhere are signs, blocking up my scenery, breaking my mind, do this, don't do that, can't you read the signs".

And everything was as cheap as possible, and we even had to buy our own toilet paper. Not cool for the high price we paid to stay there.

I would never, in my wildest nightmares, recommend this place. Don't ever stay here.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Everything else
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Carville villa apartment is fully detached property built on 400 square metres with own private pool and entrance. The property is spacious enough to accomodate comfortably 10 to a maximum of 15 persons. Located in a quiet residential area close by to the sea and local amenities which are within easy reach on foot. This property to start with is advertised informatively on all uk sites in detail, describing the spaciousness, the interior rooms and exterior outdoor surroundings including the games area, BBQ and the outdoor pool. Also described in the description are the optional extras including wifi and air-conditioning at an extra cost per day ,. No more, no less. The games room area is not so detached as described but leads from outdoors from near the outdoor pool. As the property is located in a quiet residential area, including more of our properties in the neighbourhood it is of utmost important not to be disturbed or disturb others by loud noises. Signs are useful for everyone in general to follow which are part of the rules there are in the house. Regarding to toiletries, we provide starters to our properties including toiletries in every bathroom, basic detergents in kitchens and other useful additional items left in the pantries. From then on it is self catering to the guest. I do not believe that one has to pick all this ridiculous thoughts and put them down as issues. We were always around to come by a have a talk. But this never happened and no one contacted us. There was nothing at all to worry about and make it obvious to dangerous. From our recent positive reviews guests had a wonderful and a great stay at Carville, feeling at home! And we are happy that every guest comes out with a smile!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipu, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
We are happy that you enjoyed your week here at Carville Villa.

thanks again

David and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$14
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing