We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
105
103
87
30
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
103
87
30
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spar lifeguards wifi cagliari beaches base pizzeria
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

This is a huge hotelcomplex used for a small part. Why was it build here? We ended in a no star room with bobbing full carpet full of stains. Yes with swimming pool view. The swimming pool is by the way fantastic. But for the rest I have to think about positive points for this place on an uninspired part of the coastline. The breakfast? No, nothing special in an overheated inside area on the highest floor. The parking lot? Yes, no problem at all! At the end, we found along the road some nice adresses for dining. But for a nice seaside feeling: run!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_HotelSetar, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Setar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Paul D,
Thank you for reaching out to us.
We are sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations due to the condition and accommodations of your guest room. This is not the kind of experience we would like you to have. Your feedback is appreciated and will be forwarded to the hotel management for further improvements.
We hope for another opportunity to serve you again and exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

After reading the reviews here, I expected something much worse, but it turned out to be a good experience. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are clean and it was not noisy at all, everything worked properly and the water in the swimming pool was clean. The breakfast was also quite good with many options.

Wifi was good as well - there is a router on every floor, you just need to connect to the network corresponding to your floor.

The Poetto Beach is very close to the hotel - we had a car and it was very easy to get there, but we preferred other beaches in Villasimius that had turquoise water (Siaggia di Solanas was my favorite).

For the price, it is a good hotel - the only thing is that you need to rent a car if you want to go to beaches other than Poetto or Cagliari because taxis are very expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_HotelSetar, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Setar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Alexandra P,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for your stay here at the Hotel Setar.

We really appreciate your kind words and we are glad to hear that your stay was great and that our staff was able to make you miss home a little bit less. I will make sure to let my staff know that your do appreciate their friendliness, as we always strive to make our guest feel like they are at "Home" when they come and stay at the Setar Hotel.

Thank you again for staying with us, and hope to see you again in Cagliari the next time business brings you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

The staff are very helpful and the hotel is clean. It has however seen better days and could do with renovation. The baby pool is just a rectangle shallow hole it doesn't have any shade and is not really any good for toddlers as they have to step down into it and the edges are slippery. One day the hotel sold all the sunbeds to outside visitors refused to get anymore out of storage for us even though we have 4 rooms with them a total of 10 paying guests.
The air conditioning units are very old and only one of rooms had proper air conditioning. The bedroom units are all coming off their hinges, the carpets in the rooms are worn and need replacing.
The hotel has little around it to see or do and is next to a fast road.
We have extended family who live nearby we certainly won't be booking here when we visit them.
The only positives are the cleanliness of the beds and rooms (although the stairway down to the poolside toilets could do with a clean) and the friendly helpful staff.
Rent a car if you stay here you'll want to be out a lot!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_HotelSetar, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Setar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Jade W,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel Setar following your recent visit.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any shortfalls in the service and product you have experienced throughout your stay. I am genuinely sorry to hear you feel the overall experience has not been up to standards.

Your feedback is extremely valued and please rest assured I have taken the liberty to highlight your comments with the rest of the Management team here.

The way you have experienced you stay is certainly not representative of the high standards we strive to achieve and I am disappointed that this occurred during your time with us.

I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to convince you of a greater service and restore your confidence in us in the future.

If you have any plan to visit us in the future, please do contact me directly and I will be delighted to arrange your stay and make sure you have a very memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for the kizomba festival in June.
It was clean and basic but most definitely not a 4 star hotel .. not even a 3 star!
The food was absolutely terrible for anyone vegetarian or with a palate!
I emailed a request for soya or almond milk before I arrived twice of which nobody could be bothered to reply.
Towards the end of our stay a man walked into our room with a key past midnight and I believe the security within the hotel is weak.
The hotel is really not in the best location and I wouldn't recommend this for families.. well I wouldn't recommend it at all.
It would be helpful for anyone travelling here to have a basic knowledge of Italian as English is not that well understood.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rowki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_HotelSetar, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Setar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Rowki,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and providing us valuable feedback about your stay.
We appreciate hearing from our guests so we can evaluate our performance.
On this occasion, we have not met our usual high standards and will be reviewing what has occurred to address the deficiency in service delivery you have experienced.
We are a little confused regarding what you wrote about the soya milk: we have all type of food for special diets, gluten free, lactose free, meat free and sugar free. During the Kizomba festival, we had more than 20 vegetarian/vegan guests and all of them have been extremely happy with the food proposed in breakfast room: grilled tofu, granola bars, rice/soya/almond milk, milk free cookies and pastries etc.. I really don't know what happened with your breakfast because all of the special food was available to everyone hosted here.
I am also very glad to announce that the Kizomba Festival 2018 will still be held at the Hotel Setar in June 2018, because of the good results of last year, I guess we won't see you in 2018 since you would not recommend our property, but in case you'll change your mind we will be happy to show you our usual high standard of services. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

4 days in July, glad no more! Clean enough, rooms ok. Major headache is that there is an Italian kids summer club run on the premises which has 100+ 10/12yr old kids running around and taking over the pool on a daily basis. Seriously feels like the paying holidaymaker is in the way and booked to stay in an adventure playground. No explanation or apology, we were just shoved to a corner of the pool area whilst they took over the rest.

Massive hotel, mostly unused so I guess this is a way of generating income but seriously this is no way to treat holidaymakers looking for peace and tranquility on their break.

Other than that the bus connection is great and cheap, the beach is lovely and the weather to die for.

Management please take note of the comments and if you have to accommodate Academia Britannica then advertise as such or co spider where/when the children can go /take over

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_HotelSetar, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Setar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Setar. It is through feedback from our valuable guests that we can continue to improve our hotel and services. We will use your comments as a learning tool as we go forward.
We agree on the fact we have a massive hotel, our property offers more than 150 rooms that can fit up to 400 people and we are fully booked since May to September accommodating several types of guests, from families to big groups of senior travelers, from sport teams to big dance events, from well-known conventions and meetings to couples and single travelers. And we pride ourselves in offering a high level of service to every single guest.
I am very disappointed that we were not able to meet your needs during your stay. Our guests are our upmost priority: your concerns stated have been addressed and we will continue to make improvements because we truly strive to ensure that everyone has a very enjoyable time at the hotel.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity to be your home away from home the next time you are in South Sardinia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews