We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Botanists dream!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
San Gregorio di Catania, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Guest9999...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Botanists dream!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Stunning garden and pool, extremely relaxing. Travelled as a family of five, inc three kids aged 3-8, all had a great time. Bedrooms and bathrooms all perfect, only small issue was kitchen a little sparse. Two mins from motorway for trips to Etnaland, just 30 mins away. Highly recommended particularly for extended family if rent one or more of the other apartments but also for couples and families. Would love to return, and owners very pleasant and hospitable. The grounds and garden are what you'd expect renting a huge villa, but you get for a fraction of the cost, go for it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden and pool
Liked least: Bit remote, would certainly need a car
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2013
We thank our Guests for Their review: many thanks for the beautiful words!
We thank Them for everything, They have been wonderful guests!
We hope to welcome Them again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enlondon
london
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely Garden”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I stayed at the Green House with my grown up daughter and son and his girlfriend. The house is nicely furnished and comfortable with air conditioning in the bedrooms and the garden and pool (shared with other houses and owners) are lovely. Although there were other people around we never felt we lacked privacy. It is very quiet area, even when some of the neighbours had a party, and high up so a few degrees cooler than by the sea. The wi-fi worked well in the pool area though it wasn't so good at the house and crashed when there was a thunderstorm. A car is essential but with one the location is very convenient as it is very near the motorway (though not too near to hear it) but also a fairly short drive from the centre of Catania, the villages on the slopes of Etna and the sea at Aci Castello. It is therefore a good location for exploring the area though driving in the Catania area is hair raising as there are so many steep and windy roads and driving in Sicily is not like driving anywhere else so be prepared! The only down side was the weather which was terrible with a lot of rain (unusual for this time of year). Unfortunately the house does not have a living room so there was nowhere to sit or eat undercover other than in the two bedrooms. The outside eating area is sheltered from the sun by trees (in fact the house itself is in deep shade) so it would be excellent if the weather was very hot. Unfortunately trees don't give cover from heavy rain and even the lovely big umbrellas round the pool didn't shelter us when the wind got up. This however was the one down side, I would love to stay there again but might think twice about going there if warm weather isn't expected.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and pool
Liked least: The lack of anywhere covered to sit and eat/read when it rained
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
We thank our Guests for Their review.
We thank Them for everything, They have been fantastic guests!
We hope to welcome Them again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The courtesy and the garden
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
We thank our Guests for Their review: many thanks for the beautiful words!
We thank Them for everything, They have been wonderful guests!
We hope to welcome Them again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WillieB65
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Haven in Sicily away from the mad drivers”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely location in a lush green garden about 15 minutes from Catania. The house was nice and cool in 30+ degrees sunshine. Aircon was great in both bedrooms. The double bed was very very hard. The main eating area was outside and the table was small - ideal for two, tight for 4. The pool was lovely - shared with the main family - but they seldom used it so it was like a private pool for us. The kitchen was small with few utensils - would struggle to cook a meal in it but big enough for breakfast and lunch preparation. There were six tortoises and hens in two pens close to the house - a nice touch with nature. The main family had little or no english but we communicated fine. Broadband is a little sketchy - keeps dropping and you need to reconnect and generally only available outside the house and at the pool. Nice local restaurants in the local village, San Gregoria di Catania - If possible stay out of Catania, a dirty crowded city.
But it was a lovely relaxing holidays amongst mad Sicilian drivers. Road rules are only there to be broken!!
The mosquitos and other flies are a problem when sitting out in the evening time - They loved me!! - bring the repellant

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The pool and the Aircon!!
Liked least: The lack of dining area
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2013
We thank our Guests for Their review.
We hope to welcome Them again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bousignie...
bousignies
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
We thank our Guests for Their beautiful review!

We thank Them for everything!
They have been fantastic Guests!

We hope to welcome Them again in the future!

Best wishes
Villa San Bartolomeo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing