We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oxen Cottage

The sitting room in Oxen Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The sitting room in Oxen Cottage
An aerial view of The Durrance and the Cottages Oxen and Cider Mill Cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
The sitting room in Oxen Cottage
An aerial view of The Durrance and the Cottages
Oxen and Cider Mill Cottages
The kitchen in Oxen with the Welcome pack ready for new guests
The Super king size bed can be split into 2 single beds
The twin bedded room in Oxen cottage
The Bathroom in Oxen with a walk in shower
You can collect your eggs for breakfast from these ladies!
Admire the view of the Worcestershire countryside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maxwell-N...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Excellent accommodation in a perfect location where you can experience the beauty of the Worcestershire countryside whilst being within easy reach of Worcester, Birmingham and Bromsgrove. Moved to Scotland from south Birmingham in 2013 and this was the ideal place to stay over the festive season where we could see family and old friends and prepare Christmas lunch! Thank you Helen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim S
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect base”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Durrance is located in beautiful countryside, about 10 minutes drive out of Bromsgrove, and is convenient for motorway access. It therefore makes a great base for exploring the West Midlands. Aside from the farmhouse there two cottages for rent.

We've stayed in Oxen Cottage twice now, bringing our two small children. Pretty much everything you could want is provided in the cottage

(Washer, dryer, cooker, microwave, fridge, TV, WiFi, even board games and toys for a rainy day). It really is a home away from home - and Helen is a perfect host, making sure everything is in place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TessaPoli...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Even Better!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Sadly this will be our last visit to Oxen Cottage as we are relocating back to England in March and will be living in Gloucestershire. Oxen Cottage has been our 'home from home' since Christmas 2006. It is warm, comfortable and superbly equipped. However, Helen has refitted both the kitchen and bathroom. There is now a full-sized fridge/freezer and a new cooker with ceramic hob. The bath has been removed and replaced with a large walk-in shower. This means that Oxen Cottage is even better. We do hope others gain as much pleasure as we did from our stays at 'The Durrance'. It is excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large, comfortable super-kingsize bed.
Liked least: Having to leave for the last time!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TessaPoli...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Superb base for Heart of England”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Stayed at Oxen Cottage over Christmas and New Year period. How lovely when we arrived to find not only an excellent 'Welcome Pack', including farm eggs, but a beautifully-decorated real Christmas tree complete with lights! Oxen Cottage is homely and extremely well-equipped. The superking-size bed is wonderfully comfortable and there are ample coathangers, mugs, glasses and little touches that make self-catering so much easier. The shower is powerful and the whole cottage is warm and cosy with exposed beams from the original cow shed. The shared washing machine and tumble dryer in the Boiler Room were much appreciated. We loved it so much we'll be back in August!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and also the helpfulness of Helen, the owner.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona B
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Peaceful, clean, beautifully kept & furnished... Excellent overall!!”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Staying at Oxen Cottage with husband, two children (8 and 11) and our dog having sold our house and waiting to move... so an interim measure between homes. Oxen Cottage is absolutely perfect... enough space (even though we've had to bring stacks of our own stuff with us). It's peaceful and in a gorgeous location. There's everything we need to make it feel home... all mod cons available so I can still 'work from home'. It's beautifully kept, very well tended and the furnishings are excellent. The beds are comfy and good quality which is so important! Just a shame we couldn't book this for the entire 2 months that we need accommodation as it was already booked out. Not surprisingly! If you're interested in visiting worcestershire/Birmingham.... well worth staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home feeling!
Liked least: all perfect
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing