We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$83
US$76
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/12
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$77
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/11
Expedia.comUS$76
Priceline
ZenHotels.comUS$83
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
54
210
157
82
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
54
210
157
82
31
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 534 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2019 via mobile

We stayed one night at this hotel as part of a tour in a coach. With that said, we had dinner set up ahead of time, as the nearest restaurant is who knows how far. The meal was weak & tasteLess, but that seems to be the norm when you’re traveling in a group. The chicken was dry & tasteless. The other food options were just as bad. No kettle in our room, we don’t know why. The room was endured for one night, but the showered completely soaked the bath floor. We spent half of the morning soaking up the water as they build the showers with a partial wall. The shower was powerful, thus causing the water to splash all over.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Travel13Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane H, Manager at ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2019

Dear.

I am sorry that you were disappointed not to eat at the hotel but we have an agreement with Leger Tour because we are anable to serve serve a large group "A la carte" without having choices before but the information is not relayed to the guide in order to eat elsewhere before.

Please contact LEGER Tour for further information.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

The hotel was OK..
More 2*than 3.. Rooms small but bed comfortable and water hot.
However if your part of a tour don't think your going to get fed.. The hotel refused to serve any food or bad food to anyone on the tour.. No reasons given just total refusal even when not busy !!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Scrow101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane H, Manager at ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2019

Dear.

I am sorry that you were disappointed not to eat at the hotel but we have an agreement with Leger Tour because we are anable to serve serve a large group "A la carte" without having choices before but the information is not relayed to the guide in order to eat elsewhere before.

Please contact LEGER Tour for further information.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2019

Another holiday another Ibis. We ended up staying here for a couple of nights as part of coach trip on the way back from a Battlefield trip. Upon arrival we were allotted a room but there was a problem with the toilet where the water kept on running even though no one had flushed. Worryingly the reception desk seemed to know of the issue before mentioning it to them. To their credit they allocated us a new room straight way, but if they were aware of issue why were we put in there in the first place?

The new room was pleasant enough, basic, but clean and comfortable. It was hot evening and as there was no air conditioning I had to open the window only to be greeted by a loud and constant thud of a bass line. Someone obviously enjoying their night better than me. Breakfast was ok, but I was disappointed that the egg, bacon and sausage mentioned in some other reviews were nowhere to be seen. The biggest issue however was the hotel could not cater for our coach party for dinner. We had to be bussed into Caen city centre some miles away for something to eat. This was made worse by coming back to the hotel to find independent guest eating meals.

It was not always easy to get the staffs attention as they appeared to be very busy. When you did get hold of them they were helpful and friendly. Having stayed in Ibis hotels many times before I know what to expect, this hotel I do not find representative of the brand.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SotonRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane H, Manager at ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2019

Dear.

Thank you for your comments that help us to improve our service. Our hotel has never had air conditioning since 40 years and never propose bacon and sausage for breakfast. We mention that nowhere.

I am sorry that you were disappointed not to eat at the hotel but we have an agreement with Leger Tour because we are anable to serve serve a large group "A la carte" without having choices before but the information is not relayed to the guide in order to eat elsewhere before.

Please contact LEGER Tour for further information.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2019

Stayed at this hotel for three nights as part of a Leger coach tour. I paid an extra supplement for a single room as part of a group that totalled some 40 people.

During our stay a second coach party arrived, no thought had been given by the hotel as to staggering meal times in truth the hotel staff appeared to be totally overwhelmed in the evenings and at breakfast.

We were not permitted an evening meal - not even the offer of a light meal service. We therefore had to arrange for taxis into Caen to dine. The number of rooms booked must have indicated to the hotel the amount of guests present who would seek to utilise their services. There are no other amenities close by.

The worst experience was arriving after a long day out at 8pm to be told there was no restaurant service followed the next morning by a completey log-jammed breakfast room with an early coach departure time for the ferry crossing.

If anyone with medical requirements requires regular meals this is not the hotel to visit.

The hotel was clean, pratical and functional. The staff were very pleasant but appeared to be totally under resourced. I booked three alarm calls at reception and only received one this was probably due to all the other customer demands being made of the late staff shift.

The management at either local or senior level need to look at providing sufficient resources to meet customer demand.

In summary the customer experience here was not good.

I would not stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiggoryLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane H, Manager at ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2019

Dear.

We are very sorry that you were advised by LEGER TOUR that you could not eat here. It's foreseen in our contract because we haven't got the hability to take the group into acount.

I see that you were satisfied by the hospitality so we did our job and were are proud for that.

LEGER knows the agreement for meals but not advise their clients. You can be sure that this is a problem for us. We have bad comments such as yours but we are not responsible.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2019

An older Hotel, recently refurbished, was comfortable but with rather cramped rooms, due to the over large size of the bed. Being in a quiet location was a bonus, although it made finding the location rather difficult. Breakfast had a good selection of foods, although the management of the same Restaurant in the evening was chaotic with potential guests left uninformed of likely lack of service due to prior booking of 2 coach parties making the likelihood of getting a meal virtually impossible due to the lack of any other choices nearby. Although a great meal was enjoyed elsewhere involving a car journey to get there.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank rogerfarmery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane H, Manager at ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2019

Hi Roger.

Thanks for your comments. Indeed wehave a small restaurant that cannot welcome everybody especially when two groups are eating the same evening. That's the reason why we always advise individual clients that the service might be long. We also propose to eat elsewhere.

We are sorry for that and are very pleased that you enjoyed the hospitality.

Hope to see you soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews