We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 14:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely house and village

Real picturesque village and house on the thames near pangbourne. Idyllic and actually quite... read more

Reviewed 10 August 2020
MarkMahoney
,
Aldershot, United Kingdom
very nice

this house is set in a beautiful setting by the river thames .we went for a food festival and the... read more

Reviewed 8 May 2019
sueandphil13
,
Newbury, United Kingdom
Read all 189 reviews
  
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
83
66
17
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
83
66
17
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent visit lovely house thames eagles church film
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2015

On a deal with Travelzoo. Boat trip, Tour of the House,& Mill, Cream tea was of generous proportion.
lovely!!

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank barneyCamberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapledurham H, Manager at Mapledurham House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2015

So pleased you had a good time here with us at Mapledurham. Please do visit again in the future ~~Kind regards, Lola Andrews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015

She and I saw how close Mapledurham was from Reading - at least as the crow flies - but we did get there, eventually driving not much more than 30 minutes. A great place to visit especially the working mill, much better explained than other examples, eg in East Anglia. As others have said, the house was nice but only a fraction of it is open to visitors, and also as others observed the price is expensive, just short of the edge of keeping people away .... perhaps that's skilful commercial judgment on the part of the owners? But we certainly recommend it as a fine and authentic place to visit.

Date of experience: April 2015
3  Thank HerbertPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapledurham H, Manager at Mapledurham House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2015

So pleased you had a good time - Mapledurham is a very special place! You are quite right - its amazing how close we are to Reading - yet how far away! I do hope we can welcome you back another time. Kind regards ~~ Lola Andrews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015

We had a tour both of the house and the watermill led by the miller, who did an interesting and informed tour. The inside of the house had various pictures and old furniture as you would expcet, but it was nice to see that it was still lived in and also used to run the whole estate. You have to admire that efforts of the owners to pay their way and keep the house and estate in good condition. Not an easy task when you consider the costs of running and maintaining such a place.The watermill was especially interesting, being the only commercial mill still working on the River Thames. It will be good to see it again when it has been fully restored. The tour was completed with a generous and tasty cream tea!

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapledurham H, Manager at Mapledurham House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2015

I am delighted you enjoyed the tours. You certainly had an excellent guide in Corry! I will make sure Mr. Eyston sees your comments - he always appreciates it when some one acknowledges the huge amount of work he has undertaken to put and keep this lovely house in a condition to be able to open to the public. Kind regards ~~ Lola Andrews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

We came across information that there was to be a World war2 reenactment and the tickets were very reasonable. Well it was a fun pack and very interesting day with every item use in war time and an insight to how civilians back here had to muck in and how they managed with the rationing and bombing. There were 3 live wartime attacks two on the water mill and then a massive ground attack with tanks, jeeps and some motor bike with side cars using loads of smoke and explosions. I hope they come back next year the fortieth anniversary of the film The Eagle Has Landed being filmed there and the "Church of St Margaret, Mapledurham.

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapledurham H, Manager at Mapledurham House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2015

Thank you for the lovely review - it was amazing wasnt it. We are indeed planning for next year so please do keep an eye on the website for dates etc. Kind regards ~~ Lola Andrews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2015

We do not usually go to reconstruction events but had wanted to go Mapledurham House for a long time. In spite of being a very cold day, the enthusiasm of all the people taking part in the reconstruction weekend was a real eye opener and of very high quality and a real touch of the 1940s. The food on offer was reasonably priced and variety from both the visiting caterers and Mapledurham's own facilities. The house and mill are both worth a visit with many interesting objects on display. Anybody with an interest in London's history should make certain they see the ancient maps on the staircase in the house. An added bonus was the number of Red Kites flying over the estate

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapledurham H, Manager at Mapledurham House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We were thrilled with the weekend - lovely to see so many people here. Please do keep an eye on the website for future events (including next years war). Kind regards ~~ Lola Andrews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews