We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very well located for sightseeing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Farmer's Cottage

The Farmers Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Farmers Cottage
The Manoir Approach The Pool Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The Farmers Cottage
The Manoir Approach
The Pool Area
The Gite Garden
The Lounge
The Lounge
The Lounge
The Lounge
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
The Kitchen
The Kitchen
The Kitchen
Manoir from the courtyard
The vines at Les Roches
The Chateau at Saumur
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bouille-Loretz, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nbaker201...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very well located for sightseeing”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife , adult son and I enjoyed a warm and sunny stay. The accommodation was exactly as described, very well equipped with English TV and a private pool which we really appreciated. We were very well located for many of the places we had earmarked to visit, particularly the chateau at Angers, as well as Saumur and Chinon, but the Bioparc at Doue la Fontaine was a wonderful surprise and well worth a visit. Phil and Janet were very welcoming.and helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of facilities/ equipment
Liked least: Limited village facilities
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashir...
Parbold, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday home!”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage was clean and comfortable and as described on the website; in fact we found the cottage to be more spacious than we expected. The cottage was extremely well equipped and the welcome gifts were a lovely touch. The grounds were large with plenty of space to play and there was a raised terrace on which to relax and enjoy the peaceful setting. The cottage is on the edge of a small, quiet village( with a bakery and grocery shop) and there are plenty of things to do within 30 minutes; chateaux, zoos, canoeing, tree top trails and within 60 minutes the amazing Puy du Fou "theme park". - we really recommend this! The hosts, Phil and Janet, were very helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble- and our children enjoyed making friends with their dogs. We would definitely recommend Farmer's Cottage as an ideal base to explore the beautiful Loire Valley!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mourneman...
Co Down
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A perfect getaway”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a fabulous week in Farmer's Cottage in early July, and were extremely impressed with Phil & Janet's attention to detail. The cottage is fabulous and full of character - even better than it looks in the photographs! This is the perfect place for peace and tranquility, and there's no better way to relax than spending some time in the private pool - which our boys got so much fun out of! Some nice places to visit in the area as well, and Phil & Janet were very helpful hosts. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet!
Liked least: The insects!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEGA4
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday cottage”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Farmers Cottage in August 2014 and had an absolutely fantastic holiday.

The setting of Farmers Cottage is peaceful and relaxing. The only sound to be heard (apart from our kids & us!) was the odd tractor.

The cottage is well equipped with everything you could need during your stay. The double bed is one of the comfiest we’ve ever slept in.

Janet & Phil are warm and welcoming hosts, discrete but always on hand to chat and answer any questions. You couldn’t ask for better hosts.

We enjoyed spending days relaxing around the totally private pool and our two girls (7 & 3) were in their element playing in the water and on the vast lawn.

The location is ideal for visiting local towns and further afield. We would recommend a visit to Puy du Fou.

We left France feeling recharged and with many happy memories.

We will certainly return to Farmers Cottage in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Privacy and sole use of pool
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second visit-as enjoyable as the first!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at the Farmers Cottage. We re-booked which is something we have never done before as this was one of the best gites we have stayed in and we have stayed in a few.
The gite is spacious, very clean, comfortable and well equipped with a lovely garden and pool area. It is in a quiet area but within an easy drive of many towns/facilities. We had some very nice lunches out in local restaurants which are listed in the cottage.What also makes the gite special are Phil and Janet who are welcoming and kind hosts, nothing is too much trouble. Their 3 dogs also made the holiday for us and our young daughter. The tour around their house and grounds is very interesting.
Phil and Janet have done a wonderful job renovating their other gite, Priory Cottage, a few miles away. So much so that we have booked a week there in September!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing