We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Weekend stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Coach House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cenarth, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daryl T
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Location saved it from a lower rating”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
3
people found this review helpful

My family of 4 - 2 adult, 2 kids arrived at just after 4pm, the other family followed the next day, after parking the car the first sight to great us was piled up rubbish, what looked like an old trampoline, old PC towers, boxes etc. Not great!
After getting the luggage in and upstairs, I had no choice but to call the owner as the kitchen was filthy, to the point we refused to put food in the fridge.
In fairness someone did come down, but the amount that needed cleaning including the toilets needed more than one person, so myself and my wife spent the first 3 hours of our break stripping the American fridge freezer and oven and cleaning it all.
In terms of its location its stunning, heating worked well, though one radiator did leak.
Only one set of jets worked on the hot tub unfortunately, and no chemicals were provided or added during our stay.
From the top floor down - the master bedroom Is a great size with great view and lovely balcony, let down by the ceiling downligthihts not fitted flush to the ceiling.
The attached sleeping space was perfect for two younger children. lots of space for suitcases etc.
On the first floor the three double rooms were on the whole good, showers were a bit tight fitting though.
Also none of the bathroom downlights were IP rated to prevent water or steam ingress, these do not meet electrical regs, doubt they were fire rated either but didn't investigate, This needs addressing urgently.
Ground floor - Excellent size sitting room, with plenty of seating and lovely views all round through two sets of large sliding doors.
Dining area - despite their being 8 of us, there were only 3 chairs!!
Kitchen - when clean was practical and cosy, plenty of workspace but no tumble dryer as the picture shows.
Nice study area which the kids used to draw etc.
Entrance and cloak room was useful with large cupboard for shoes and coats, however the configuration of the front door, cupboard door and inner entrance door needs addressing, if they are all open, you cant get through them all..
Outside - lovely decking around 3 sides of the house, didn't sit out due to the weather, but I imagine it would be lovely in the summer.
Hot tub - only one set of jets worked, though no chemicals were added by owners during our stay..which I did find odd.
The parking area is under trees and as a result of no gravel or tarmac does get muddy when wet, again could do with being addressed.
Cenarth and its falls can be strolled to but beware there is no pavement..but the pub on the junction, the White Hart I believe, is stunning, great food and really friendly staff, a must visit!!
If the improvements were made to the accommodation I may consider returning one day.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy M
2 reviews
“Weekend stay”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I stayed here with a group of 8 for a birthday weekend away, the negatives are that there is noone to greet you and explain things before leaving and the house is slightly outdated in areas e.g plugs look like they are falling out of the walls, the showers are quite a small fit, the lights look like they are falling through, we had a radiator leaking and a damp patch coming through one of the ceiling which was leaking, instructions for how to use the hot tub would have been nice as it kept going cold at times, also instructions for the oven and bath are needed, some of the curtains had rather big holes in them and the pillows are very flat and hard and the mattresses are very hard.

If you can overlook all of that then it is a beautiful location,peaceful and we weren't disturbed. Me and my friend had such a good time and are planning to come back hoping there will have been some improvements in all honesty the owner is lovely and did offer to send someone out to help but it wasn't a problem to us so I declined, the bath and main on suite on the top floor is the best bedroom by far, after a few drinks the beds are suitable and you can overlook any faults the house has, the kitchen was very homily when we were all together eating,very spacious and great to have a shower and toilet with every room and for the pricing the place was amazing,thank you for an amazing stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unknowng2...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The coach house”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

8 of us stayed & On arrival to the house it was a pleasant surprise we was surprised it was so big bit out dated but I guess it's to fit everyone's needs. Mostly decored to suite oaps needs rather than mixed. as much as it has it's bad points it has perks but still gutted sammy the seal didn't make an appearance. first night ran smoothly with no problems. Until the morning Plugs didn't work, bath was hard to understand how to use. The lights were leaking hotter water than the hot tub on the second day. First night The hot tub was like heaven in a box! But then the second night we got attaked by the hot tub. Spraying water in every direction. The tv is very out dated we brought an Xbox and stuff and couldn't connect it as it's a tv that looks like it's from the 90s but if you can look besides all this the place is lovely, it's out the way and peaceful. Rooms are a really good size, the coffee machine has nothing on the kettle but both came in very good use! There needs to be more lighting around the hot tub. At the end of the day we will be booking again as we have had an enjoyable weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westieSou...
south wales
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great weekend break”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

just back from the beautiful coach house, fab property, spacious lounge. ,9 friends celebrating birthdays, great hot tub, such a relaxing break, weather was bad, but didnt stop us enjoying hot tub, a canopy over top would have been good, but , as i say , didnt stop us at all,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hot tub
Liked least: not enough seats ariund table,
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the coach house to celebrate our friends birthdays.
As a group of 10 we found the house to be extremely comfortable and spacious with every facility available allowing us to have a relaxing chilled weekend.
The house overlooks the river teifI, an idyllic outlook.
And just a short walk from cenarth and the cenarth falls. The village has a coffee shop and 2 pubs.
The hot tub was inviting and we used it several times but we feel that it would be an improvement if there was a retractable canopy for inclement weather which would have
further improved the experience.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing