We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Save
Review Highlights
Five stars for the bird cliffs, even without the birds!

The cliffs at this Westernmost point of Europe are really spectacular - rugged, grass-topped and... read more

Reviewed 26 October 2018
TonySwiss
,
Switzerland
Amazing - even without birds!

In knew going in October there would be no birds left for me, but the views are spectacular. If you... read more

Reviewed 13 October 2018
rsilly11
,
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Read all 302 reviews
  
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
224
51
19
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
51
19
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird cliffs gravel road afraid of heights long drive end of august parking lot worth the effort nice hike enjoy the scenery parking area take photos car park scenic drive unique experience amazing sight google maps keep in mind
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

The drive is long, bumpy, and winding. It is also beautiful, inspiring, and peaceful. It is doable in a 2WD, not paved but not potholed either. There's a bathroom a short distance before the cliffs.

We spent about an hour at the bird cliffs. There's a path of sorts to get to different cliffs. It appeared we could have walked much farther. We saw so many birds, and just enjoyed standing and watching them. We visited the first week in August, and there were some puffins though not too many. Be careful not to get too close to the edge.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank LissaJ41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

This was my favorite activity in Iceland. I was looking forward to being able to view the puffins from close up and was not disappointed! Puffins galore and they are truly magnificent to observe. Plenty of variety as well- razor bills, kittywakes, puffins, fulmor- such a wonderful place to watch birds. The cliffs made a wonderful place to walk.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

This is one of the biggest and most breathtaking bird cliffs in Iceland!! In early summer there are a million different types of birds, including the puffin. If you want to see the puffin, you need to know they are gone by mid August. We just missed them but the hike up was well worth it and there are still lots of Arctic terns swooping and nesting on the cliffs.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

The drive is long and sometimes treacherous but beautiful. Despite reading that puffins hang out until end of August, it's not the case. When we arrived at the Breidavick guesthouse they said see them from 8-10pm. We went and later learned all the puffins left last week. Nobody we talked to at the hotel or while hiking saw any puffins. Very disappointing after such a long drive.

Date of experience: August 2017
3  Thank tomschager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Visited in the evening for a beautiful sunset at this magical place. It was 13th of august and still puffins around. We drove the bumpy gravel road there in a low going Toyota Corolla from the 90's which was possible but not ideal. Had to drive real slowly and carefully. That said, it was well worth it, a unique experience!

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank hanneso866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews