We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous character accommodation for large groups...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Monbazillac, Bergerac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
fabfortyL...
leics
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous character accommodation for large groups of family/friends”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

if you are looking for somewhere to stay with a large group of friends or family with something for everyone then do not hesitate to book this beautiful chateau. We were a family party of 11 plus 2 babies ranging in age, including grandparents, 40's, 20's and teenagers. The chateau is fully equipped in every sense: kitchen & cooking facilities including a fabulous pizza oven - you can order wood from the owners, games room with pool table, numerous places to gather all together to eat/drink and lots of other areas where you can go for a bit of peace & quiet if you feel the need! The rooms are large and airy, spotlessly clean with big comfy beds. There are outdoor games such as table tennis, boules sets, badminton, and of course the par 3 golf course which is beautifully maintained with numerous sets of golf clubs to borrow. The pool is large with wide steps for easy access in the shallow end and a diving board in the deep end with plenty of sun beds & shades. There aren't any shops or restaurants within easy walking distance but the nearest bakers and small supermarket are 5 mins away. Bergerac is a large town with plenty to do including a boat ride. Eymet & Issigeac are pretty market towns all approx 20 mins away and well worth a visit. There is a Sunday market in Issigeac which is fab for fresh produce,wine and other gifts but is very busy - we managed with 2 pushchairs but it is crowded as it is so popular. Finally, Hetty and Heilko the owners couldn't be more helpful or welcoming during the whole process from initial enquiry to arrival. They were there to greet us and show us around and easily contactable if needed. We cannot recommend this stunning chateau highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Golf and pizza oven
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Thank you Jo for the great review we received from you, it was a pleasure to have you all in our Chateau de Sadillac. Looking forward to see you all again in Sadillac. Hielko & Hetty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and cool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Dear Sigrun,
Thank you for your very kind review, we were very happy to accommodate you and your lovely family. You are very welcome the next time. Hielko & Hetty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tr00001
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family vacation”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Wonderful chateau in a very small town. Plenty of space for our family of 11, ranging from 18 months old to 75. Good outdoor spaces to eat and relax. The golf course is a very good challenge for a Par 3 course.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Thank you and your lovely family for staying in Chateau de Sadillac, so glad you enjoyed everything in and around the chateau. Thank you for the review, much appreciated. Hielko & Hetty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v
Hudson, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing place for family reuinion”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in August 2013

Living on different continents we decided to gather together in France to experience once again everybody under one roof as in the old days but this time with all our (grand)children.

Now that my father passed away last August it even brings more warm memories back when we think of this place.

One of my best vacations, thanks again to the wonderful hosts.

You can't go wrong.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The country setting of the Castle.
Liked least: Nothing really comes to my mind
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac M
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we have booked this holiday chateau. This time we went with five other couples, some had been before and others hadn't. I think everyone enjoyed themselves, some visited the bastides, some played golf, all ate and imbibed far too much. We started our holiday by hiring the chef that the helpful owners, Hetty and Hielko, recommended and we were very pleased with the result. We had a fantastic meal and the chef, Sandra (and husband) did the lot, laid the table, cooked and served the food and washed up and cleared the kitchen. Worth every euro. The chef also gave us the name of a vineyard to order wine and she kindly delivered it to us. In addition we also used the LeClerc drive supermarket, sending our order through online and picking it up on the way from the airport saving a day's shopping time. A great place to stay and could recommend it for large groups. The owners were not intrusive at all but attentive to any small problems.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing