We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Finca Carpe Diem(Minca)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hostal Coco Bomgo(Minca)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$42
US$11
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Loma Minca(Minca)(Great Value!)
US$17
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
30
18
6
4
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
18
6
4
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightnice terraceother guestsbedsbathroomhillhammockscasa
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Was a nice place. Beds were much better than the place we stayed the night before. I think it has fairly new management or owners. It seemed a little unorganized but has potential.There is a kitchen but not sure for guest use. They had a nice room for the price. Wifi was a plus.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

Chilling in a hammock surrounded by the jungle and playing with the lovely cats and dogs all day - just paradise. Minca is a lovely place and Casa Colibrí made our stay unforgettable. We hang out with the owners, employees and guests and the atmosphere was great! Definitely will be back.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mgatonegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

One of the worst hostel experiences I've ever had. The owners were incredibly rude, we did not feel welcomed at all when we arrived. My partner and I needed to do work on our computers during the week, and they promised to have high-speed wifi, but it did not work at all. When we politely said that this place wouldn't work out for us, and asked for our money back so that we could go to another hostel with reliable wifi (I had an interview the next day), the only worker there told us we had to wait about an hour for the owners to arrive because she didn't know how to handle the money. After waiting for 5 HOURS, and losing the entire work day, the owners finally arrived and actually *yelled* at us, and told us "you're free to leave, but the money stays here."
Not only are the owners horrible, but the place is filthy--filled with cat and dog hair, poop and pee.
Absolute disappointment. Do yourself a favor and stay anywhere else in Minca.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

There are so many things wrong with this place (see list below) but it was even worst when we tried to complain or ask for help. See last part of the review to have an idea of how rude they are.

1) If you pay using credit card they will charge you an illegal extra fee.

2) The reviews about guest being attacked by animals is REAL. I had lived with animals all my life so I disregarded those reviews, but, oh boy was I wrong? This is really strange, I don't know what they did to these animals but they will attack guests just chilling on the common areas. On top of that (not the animals fault) The place stinks like cat poop and pee, is disgusting.

3) The rooms are ok, but as soon as you close the door you can smell how mildew the walls are, I understand this is a humid area, but it's noticeable that the lack of maintenance is to blame for this one.

4) Dirty bathrooms, related to point 1, the animals get in the bathrooms pee and poop in the shower and the staff don't clean after them.

5) Wi-Fi did not work while we were there, they claim to have a fast-speed Internet connection, this is false, in did not work at all for 4 days in a row.

6) You're on your own. They don't have a staff, most of the time there is only a cleaning lady by herself, trying her best to cook, clean, and help guest, but clearly we wasn't trained to do all those chores and the size of the place and the amount of animals is simply to much for a single person to handle. But owners don't seem to care.

After our first night we realized how bad the place was so we decided to leave. Of course the only staff around was the cleaning lady and she did not know how to deal with that, the only option she offered was waiting for the owner.

Room Tip: Best thing you can do is stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cchCaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHANTRIER R, Responsable commercial at Casas Colibri Hostal Minca, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

maybe the humidity of the region at this time attacked this brain ... welcome when you wish :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

A lovely place to stay! Really friendly owners and really clean. Shower is cold but we loved that after hot treks up to Cass elemento and the water fall ! Loved this place super comfy and lovely chill areas!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KarKar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews