We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic retreat”
other traveller has booked this property
El Casot
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
El Casot
El Casot El Casot Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
El Casot
El Casot
El Casot Terrace
El Casot Terrace
El Casot Terrace
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom with view to forest and stream
Lounge with wood-burner
Dining area for two
Kitchen
El Casot ...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Montferrer, Pyrenees-Orientales, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Lindsay T
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic retreat”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in July 2017

We spent an idyllic week at Simon's breathtaking property, and were so reluctant to leave; we would happily have spent an entire month there. The cottage is utterly charming, rustic stone with lovely interiors. With the windows thrown open, the sound of running mountain water and birdsong was ever-present. The cottage is beautifully appointed, including a full kitchen with everything one needs to self-cater. The property itself is simply idyllic, surrounded by mountain trails for hiking, and tthe stream with several access points, including the most beautiful spot for bathing in the cool, clear water, surrounded by butterflies and dragonflies. Simon is an impeccable host: warm, funny, engaging, and helpful. His dog, Blue, is also a wonderful companion, who happily accompanied me on hikes and swims, and always made sure I found my way back home safely. I can't recommend Simon's hospitality and property highly enough. This is an utterly beautiful part of the world, a delightful fusion of Catalan and French culture and landscape, and I can think of no better base to explore its many charms. Thank you Simon - we do so hope to return to visit you soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedricHem
Sarreguemines, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable stay at Can Llouquette”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I stayed at Can Llouquette for a month. This stay will be engraved in my memory for a lifetime.
I was astonished by the location and the surrounding beauty. The house is located near a nice river between two mountains, in a very preserved environment. The accommodation is very well furnished, nothing is missing.
Simon is a fantastic host! He welcomed me warmly even though I arrived very late at night. He is very kind and honest: he arranged an upgrade for me to be more comfortable. We shared meals in the evening and had good times. I am looking forward to go visit him sometimes.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katiestge...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning views, beautiful and quiet location”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The valley is exceptionally stunning with beautiful views in the day and shooting stars at night. It was a fantastic experience staying in a place that was actually built by Simon, the owner. Simon was incredibly welcoming and helpful, showing us an inspiring way of life. Anyone would be lucky to come here. We will definitely come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swelf
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing escape in the French pyrenean foothills”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Can Llouquette was the perfect getaway. Situated in the foothills of the French Pyrenees it is ideally located for hiking trips in the surrounding hills and mountains and for relaxing on the beach. There are some lovely old fishing towns (Couliioure) to explore and lovely Mediterranean seas to swim in. In addition good markets in Ceret and Spain just a hop over the border.

Can Llouquette was the perfect child friendly place for us to come with our toddler - 2.5 years old. He loved the pristine swimming pool, the chickens to feed and collect eggs from and Blue the lovely friendly dog. Simon was very kind offering lots of tips and advice and even provided a huge bag of duplo which our toddler adored! There were also balance bikes to borrow, swings and play houses. The river was great for paddling in and - as our toddler did - jumping in!

Other day trips we would recommend are La Gorge de la Fou and Le Petit Train Jaune - both big hits with toddler and parents alike.

There is a lovely wood burning stove in the gites for if it gets cold or if there is bad weather (we were lucky we didn't have any!) and the accommodation is of a very high standard. Simon has excelled in providing a lovely get away, complete with the sound of the river rushing by. Even though you share the grounds with 3 other gites it has been extremely well designed to ensure people have complete privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the character and standard of the grounds and accomodation
Liked least: Some of the confusing hidden extra costs
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinmill...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“idyllic mountain location close to mediterranean”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I spent 6 weeks in this beautiful location. It still has the charm of the old fruit farm that it used to be but now with the full range of modern luxuries. It is is a great location for walking in the hills and close to Perpignan and Barcelona and beautiful Spanish and French country towns. Great climate and it is good to just relax next to the pool. The host are very friendly and helpful. I can highly recommend this holiday location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: walking in the mountain and the beautiful country towns
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing