We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully appointed cottage with wildlife to...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Loch View Cottage

Loch View Cottage from the front.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Loch View Cottage from the front.
View of cottage from Loch Sunart
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Loch View Cottage from the front.
View of cottage from Loch Sunart
Living area
Taking it easy swing.
Pine Marten from the window.
Twin bedroom
Living/Dining area.
Bathroom
View from the doorstep during spring tide.
Pollock fishing from the rocks can be fun.
Some people bring a kayak.
There are pollock & dogfish to be caught from the rocks.
Picnic table and chairs provided.
The sky at night can be stunning.
Many photographers stay, and send us their images. Thanks Al for this one!
There are many seals in Sunart.
its sometimes surprising how close you can get to the wildlife!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Glenborrodale, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lindsey h
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully appointed cottage with wildlife to match.”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from our 4th consecutive visit and have already booked for next year. The cottage is well equipped throughout - home from home. We appreciate the courtesy call from the owner at the beginning of the week to check everything's OK. The wildlife including pine martens and deer are regular visitors in the garden.The cottage is well equipped for rainy days with books, games,jigsaws etc. We booked with Wild Highland Tours for a twilight tour which we really enjoyed. We just love the area and the cottage and find the people who live in the area very friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and wildlife
Liked least: Only having one toilet.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1sue345
Haddington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and cosy family cottage, the perfect base for exploring the peninsula!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We're just back from our second consecutive year at Loch View and we're hoping to be back. The cottage itself has everything you could possibly need- the espresso coffee maker was a welcome surprise. We take all our food for the week so we don't have to spend any time shopping, so the well-appointed kitchen is great, like home from home. There's even an electric whisk so if you go prepared with the makings of a chocolate fudge cake, you can sit by the log burner with a cup of tea on a rainy day!
The owners are really friendly and helpful, even phoned to check everything was okay on arrival.
Ardnamurchan is so beautiful too, Sanna Bay is not to be missed, cream teas at Nadurra, loads of walks. You can do something different every day. We had just as much fun relaxing at the cottage some days, wandering down to the loch and we even launched our little boat from the jetty and went fishing. The children were outside almost ALL the time, playing on the shore so sometimes we just watched them from the comfort of the lounge.
One big highlight for us was hand-feeding the deer in the garden. A mother and fawn visited every night and eventually the fawn would take apples from the children's
hands (see the pictures on the
website!).
We just can't recommend this cottage highly enough for comfort, value for money, location, wildlife. Fantastic.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topchook
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic cottage and situation”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

A lovely cottage and ideal situation for kayaking (can float your boats out from the burn in front of the cottage at high tide straight into the loch).
Wildlife fab too - the feeder is only a few inches away from the living room window and if you put peanut butter on it you will get views of pine marten that springwatch would be envious of! If there is any peanut butter left over the deer will come up at night and lick it off! Don't fill up the bird feeders though - unless you want to watch the deer headbutting them to empty them and then hovering up the contents!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the unrivalled wildlife watching
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnKirto...
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent holiday cottage.”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

A very comfortable cottage - well appointed with all the mod cons. The wildlife in the garden was fabulous, Red deer, Otters and Pine matens all visited while we were staying. From the beach we saw Gannets feeding, seals and a wide range of other birds, with great walks and some stunning views everywhere you turn. If you are into walking and wildlife this is a dream place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pine martens in the garden
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanMC231
Meigle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic holiday in great location”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Cottage was lovely and comfortable with all facilities and the location is just superb.
Had a wonderful relaxed time exploring the beaches in the area and we landed really lucky with the weather as the summer finally decided to arrive on the same day as us.
The fishing wasn't at it's best yet but we did catch some sights of the Pine Martens, Deer and Porpoises.
Our two dogs also loved the holiday with the freedom to explore and my Border Terrier pup discovered that he's a natural born swimmer.
We all loved it and will definitely be back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage, location and weather
Liked least: The awkward single track road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing