We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideally located to explore the Lake District”
other travellers have booked this property
Rear of the Property with Skiddaw in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of the Property with Skiddaw in the distance
View of Skiddaw from front driver The property has its own large lawned garden to the front.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Rear of the Property with Skiddaw in the distance
View of Skiddaw from front driver
The property has its own large lawned garden to the front.
Kitchen to Garden Room and Dinning
Garden or Conservatory
Riggside front
Kitchen with Breakfast Bar
Dinning
Open plan dinning Kitchen area
Untility
Hall
Under stair WC
Master Suite
Master TV & Remote Electric Fire
En-suite
Double
Double
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Attic Twin locked off if book for six or less, unless requested.
Twin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Portinscale, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideally located to explore the Lake District”
Reviewed 3 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Riggside is perfectly located to explore the nearby lakes and fells. The house itself is spacious, modern and VERY comfortable and within easy walking distance of Keswick. Had a thoroughly enjoyable week here and to wake up to that view every morning was amazing. Thank you Richard & Lynn for sharing Riggside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2017
Glad you enjoyed Riggside, hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todmorden
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Emily it was a pleasure to have you all stay at and enjoy you Mum's 50th Birthday in our Lakeland holiday home, made all the better for the very clean and tidy condition you left it in. Lynn & I had a very busy day on your departure date and this helped immensely. Sorry the snow never really materialised. Look forward to welcoming you back to Riggside in the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent.........They'd thought of everything!”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Really enjoyed our stay here, we'd love to come back again in the summer to make use of the lovely big garden

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2016
Thanks for your kind review, we'd love to see you in the summer. We always make sure the grass is cut regularly so our guest can enjoy the facility. We've recently provided two picnic table so you can eat alfresco too. See you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welshandp...
cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed at riggside from 4thnov until 7th our stay was wonderful the house was perfect in every way ,we could not fault it in any way.. and we as a family are hard to please.our hosts have left nothing out in this house,if you want some thing beleve me it's there. The house was spotless decorated with taste .cant praise it enough or recommend it highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
So happy to had all you needed for your stay, we pride ourselves on trying to go that extra mile by responding to past guests requests. Hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnsande...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect house in a perfect location”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were looking for somewhere to explore the north lakes and came across Riggside - I made contact with Richard the owner and nothing was any trouble

When we arrived the place was spotless and is even better in the flesh then in the pictures

Downstairs the large lounge is ideal for a gentle evening relax after a hard days walking but to be honest we did not use it much as the sun lounge just off the kitchen was perfect

Very well equipment kitchen inc a coffee machine! - also good to have a utility room which you can also use as an entrance if you have been out walking and have dirty boots on

Upstairs was just as good - the master bedroom with ensuite had a great bay window looking out onto the hill - the other double has great views of the garden - there is another 2 twin rooms but we never used these

The bed was used in the master bedroom as so comfy we did not really want to get out some morning but the view soon pulled us out and up the hills

Only a 15 min walk into Keswick where you have all the shops inc 2 supermarkets (co op and Booths)

The house itself is on a very quiet cul de sac so very little traffic comes past you and because you are elevated the views from the front are stunning

re already planning our next visit and can see us returning again and again

Thank you Richard for a very nice stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
It was a pleasure to be able to accommodate you John, you certainly hit it well with the weather. Thanks for leaving it tidy for us to arrive and enjoy and weekend for ourselves (no often it's free). We look forward to seeing you again soon, when you will join the list of some 62 repeater families over the last 9 years, that's an average of 7 families each year that choose to return to Riggside.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing