We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
66
73
58
29
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
73
58
29
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub full english steak and ale pie pudding evening meal tea and coffee making facilities excellent value for money good nights sleep breakfast was excellent large room cooked breakfast lovely meal sunday lunch young children stayed here for one night yogurt warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Really disappointing roast. Potatoes were obviously deep fried and not roasted. Some of veg was stone cold and boiled potatoes rock hard. Also wait for food was unacceptable. We were there for 2 hours for 2 courses. Not what you want when you pull over from motorway for bite to eat.

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with family
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterloo-cross, General Manager at Waterloo Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

hi Simon P.
Thank you for taking your time for writing a review. Let me apologise for not getting things quite right on a day for you. I will investigate into it and appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We stayed in room 2. It was very clean and looked recently refurbished. Lovely bathroom. The only problem was that smokers congregate outside the bedroom window, so we were woken up early in the morning. It felt very intrusive, like they were in the room with you. I notice that they have made a huge effort to keep flies and wasps at bay. It seems to be working. The breakfast was nice and freshly cooked. The waitress seemed rushed off her feet. The coffee certainly let the breakfast down as it was just pots of water with sachets of instant nescafe coffee... Very disappointing when you like good strong coffee.. The wifi was excellent, with a router right in the room with us.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joules J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterloo-cross, General Manager at Waterloo Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Hi Joules j,

thank you for your review here. We are glad you loved our room and breakfast.
Thank you for your feedback of people smoking beside your room-ever since I have changed the patio layout and there are no smoking signs up .We can defiantly make our guests stronger coffee by the request too.
Hope to see you very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Very nice hotel room was very clean and plenty of hot water in the shower a comfortable bed. Breakfast was good as was the evening meal that we enjoyed in the restaurant. Neil and his team were very helpful and friendly. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterloo-cross, General Manager at Waterloo Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Hi Maureen S.
thank you for your lovely comments.We are very glad you have enjoyed your stay with us,Hope to se you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Popped in for a late lunch and ordered 2 jacket potatoes. Smallest potatoes ever and had obviously been microwaved as there were hot spots and the bottom was inedible and so rubbery. When the waitress asked if our meal was ok I told her it was terrible and she said she would speak to the chef. Well that was the last we heard from her. The kitchen obviously don’t care. Don’t waste your hard earned cash there

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kaznal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

My husband, two sons and I stayed here for a night after going to diggerland, we arrived for dinner with 4 others and although the pub was busy an older female staff member managed to put tables together for us and we had a nice meal. We then stayed the night and the family room was lovely! Really big, clean and comfy! We had some pudding brought to our room and the same female staff member was lovely and knocked very quietly as she knew we had young children! The breakfast was fab the next day and the male member of staff was really helpful & breakfast served quickly! Overall it was a great little place to stay, cheap and child friendly :)

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Ralphie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterloo-cross, Manager at Waterloo Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Thankyou for your lovely comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews