We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can't wait to return”

Review of Jilba Cottage

Jilba Cottage backed by Porongurup National Park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jilba Cottage backed by Porongurup National Park
Porongurup Region Map Welcome!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Jilba Cottage backed by Porongurup National Park
Porongurup Region Map
Welcome!
Jilba Cottage Lounge & Dining Room
Jilba Cottage fully self-contained Kitchen
Jilba Cottage queen sized Bedroom
Jilba Cottage second Bedroom
Jilba Cottage Bathroom, Laundrey & Toilet
Complimentary Continental Breakfast to welcome you on First Morning
View of Gardens from Jilba Cottage Deck
You are welcome to wander & relax in our beautiful gardens
Sunset from Jilba
Wildflowers in Porongurup National Park
Granite Skywalk on Castle Rock, Porongurup National Park
Upper of two Skywalks, Castle Rock, Porongurup National Park
Climb to Granite Skywalk - spectacular panoramic views to Albany & South Coast, plus Stirling Ranges
Visitors to Jilba Gardens
Two more visitors to Jilba
Guest meeting Jilba Cattle
Enjoy local wines at our annual Porongurup Wine Festival & be part of Taste Great Southern
Long time member of Hosted Accommodation, Australia
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Porongurup, Western Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Antoinett...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to base ourselves at Jilba Cottage to explore the Stirling ranges on the last 2 days/1 night of our SW Australia trip. It is very well located; only a short 35 min drive from Albany with Bluff knoll, Mount Trio and other great walks all close by. The Granite Skywalk was 5 minutes’ drive away.

Jim and Joan were wonderful, friendly and knowledgeable hosts. They have a beautiful property with views all the way to Albany. The accommodation is very clean, the bed was super comfortable and the fully equipped kitchen had a pantry packed with goodies for a continental breakfast as well as their local home grown olives, which we were excited to spot in a store in Mount Barker!

We only booked one night’s stay as we were flying home from Perth the next evening. We regret is not being able to stay longer to explore the Mount Barker region and especially to enjoy the property (we had time for a short walk around part of the property and were lucky enough to see Kangaroo's). One night is definitely not enough to explore this wonderful region. It is one of the most beautiful areas in SW Australia and we can’t wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I couldn't say, love it all! Great place to finish our 2 week trip around the SW
Liked least: Not staying long enough
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Hi Antoinette, Jim & I are currently overseas, so hope get this O.K. Thank you for such a great review. Thank you for choosing Jilba Cottage for you albeit too short a stay, although you did manage to cram a lot into your short time here. Hope to see you both again in the not too far distant future. All the best to you both. Joan & Jim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff C
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Clean, comfortable accomodation close to National Park and wineries.”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Well presented and well equipped accommodation. Quiet rural location, close to National Parks and associated walking trails. Easy access to Albany, Mt Barker and beyond. Warm, welcoming hosts and generous continental breakfast supplied for first morning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet rural location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2016
Thank you, Geoff, for taking the time to review our cottage - it is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful part of the world, albeit the weather wasn't in your favour, we hope to see you again sometime in the future, Kind regards, Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Quiet and tranquil”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Jilba cottage is set on the porongurup mountainside with an amazing view all the way to the Ocean and Albany. Set on a farm, we saw lots of cows and kangaroos and other wildlife in the national park, which is set right behind the accommodation! The hosts were wonderful and accommodated our changing dates. They also were full of information for things to do in the area.
Yummy breakfast supplied, comfy queen size bed, lovely shower. We sat on the deck out the front with a glass of wine - so relaxing!
30 mins to Albany, 10 mins to the skywalk and lovely wildflowers.
Had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the deck
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Thank you Lisa & Janaka for taking the time to review Jilba Cottage - it is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again some time in the near future in our beautiful part of the world. Tell your friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NannaNann...
Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gem in the South”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage in the Porongurups is the perfect place to stay when visiting the area. Joan and Jim are welcoming and provide a home away from home in a quiet peaceful setting nestled in the National Park.Thank you for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: No dislikes
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
Thank you Merryl for taking the time to let Jim & I know that you enjoyed you time in our beautiful part of the world. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leanne_pe...
perth
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Serenity and surrounded by nature”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Jim and Joan’s cottage, the hospitality and area knowledge they extended to us made our trip even more enjoyable and memorable. The cottage was comfortable and clean. For the two of us there was plenty of space. We were welcomed with olives (from Jim and Joan’s Olive trees) and a continental breakfast for the next day. The farm and its surroundings was scenic and we spotted a family of wild kangaroos on the edge of the property during the stay. Our evenings were blissfully quiet on the property, it's well away from the main road. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking meals and on the first evening we fired up the BBQ on the deck at sunset. Our favourite space was at the dining table eating breakfast and looking out to the trees, the elevated position of the cottage meant we were at eye level to the top half of the trees. Jim and Joan left some binoculars and a handy information book on the species of birds that you can spot on the property, we saw quite a few at breakfast time. For those wanting a quiet retreat and have a strong interest in Australian nature we recommend a couple of nights at Jilba Cottage. We felt so relaxed afterwards.

There are plenty of nearby hiking trails, including to Castle Rock, an amazing skywalk view from the top. Small boutique wineries are within a five minute drive, highly recommend Castle Rock Winery. For adventurers, there is the hike to the Bluff Knoll summit 1,097 m above sea level (weather permitting).

The closest town for shops and restaurants is either Mt Barker (20 mins drive) or Albany (30 mins drive).

There is loads to see and do in Albany, it would be worth adding an extra week on your stay to explore this area - loads of nature and historical sites. Some great cafes in the town centre too.

If you are driving from Perth, bring along supplies for the evening dinner, that way you can enjoy dinner on the deck and relax!

We enjoyed our stay so much we returned a couple of months later for the new year. It was such a unique stay, to be able to wake up on a farm and surrounded by nature. Loved it!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: waking up on a farm!
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Thank you Leanne & Derek for taking the time to let Jim, I & prospective guests know that you enjoyed you time in our beautiful part of the world & the wealth of things to see & do. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing