We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic romantic and luxurious barn conversion...”
Beautiful & tranquil spring evening in May
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful & tranquil spring evening in May
Hot Tub bliss! New orchard - view from the hot tub..
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Beautiful & tranquil spring evening in May
Hot Tub bliss!
New orchard - view from the hot tub..
Hot Tub any weather - under cover from the elements!
The barn has a large patio, lawn & covered porch with the fabulous private hot tub
Fantastic hot tub, why not indulge yourself,  a great way to relax & you will sleep really well.
View from the hot tub
A fantastic sociable space, guests tell us 'it's even better than the photos!'
The Log Burner - so cosy, especially after a soak in the hot tub!
Solid oak floors, underfloor heating throughout, log burner & comfy sofas.
Stunning kitchen, oak floor, granite tops, all mod cons here!
Master bedroom with super king size bed & access straight out to the hot tub.
Cosy twin room with under floor heating
Stunning ensuite wet room to the master bedroom, underfloor heating & rain shower
Fully tiled Master ensuite with gorgeous soft white fluffy towels!
En suite to twin room with a huge over bath rain shower & underfloor heating!
Bathrobes & slippers, lovely after a long soak in the hot tub!
Honeymoon welcome..or anniversary...treat your partner to a surprise stay perhaps..
Christmas treats! Meal, wine, fizz, Christmas cake, mince pies & presents for all!!
Beautiful winter sunset
'Big skies' with dramatic skyscapes
Relax at the end of your day with a beautiful sunset - no light pollution here!
Christmas snow 2014! Even better when you know our road gets gritted twice a day.
Local views over the moors towards the Welsh mountains
360 degree vista at the top of Ecton Hill, feel 'On top of the world' on this local walk
Tittesworth reservoir - view from the top of The Roaches....
'Hen Cloud' from The Roaches....
Footpath at the top of The Roaches - panoramic views..
Looking up to The Roaches..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ford, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CupcakeBa...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic romantic and luxurious barn conversion in the Peak District.”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the barn after extensive searching on the Internet, we were looking for somewhere quiet and romantic for our wedding anniversary but also somewhere which was well equipped and of a high standard. This accommodation more than exceeded our expectations, in fact, it is probably the nicest place we have stayed in, the only problem was that we had such a short time to enjoy it. Everything was first class from the initial response to my enquiry, to information sent prior to arrival, to the actual barn itself which is superbly designed, furnished and equipped, and immaculate. Lynn and Nigel who own the barn are very welcoming, friendly and informative and there are lots of little extras which make this holiday unique. On the first night of our stay we arrived after a long journey to find a home cooked chilli waiting for us in the slow cooker, the table all ready set with a bottle of red wine. There was also a bottle of bubbly on ice with a lovely card for our anniversary. There was also all the essentials you may need at the start of a Hi day - fresh milk, free range eggs, home made bread and more. It is things like this which are really appreciated . I could say many more good things about this holiday but I think I will just say I recommend you book to find out for yourself.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentine...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ford Old Hall Barn”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Set in the heart of the peak district Nigel and Lynn should give themselves a well deserved pat on the back , a beautifully well equipped barn with everything considered for your stay Hot tub , dishwasher, walk in shower , log burner, just too much to list !!! With easy access to all the peak district can offer. this 5 star accommodation! Last but not least hot meal on arrival, home made bread , wine , flowers chocolate and lynn's home made butterfly cakes (Delicious)
Thankyou Nigel & Lynn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlyNewcas...
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding accommodation in a perfect location”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with my wife and 2 yr old son - wonderful welcome with home cooked food and a bottle of wine. The barn conversion is outstanding and everything is finished to the very highest standard. The hot tub is really clean and well maintained and it is clear that Nigel and Lynn (the owners) take great pride in the standard of their accommodation. The barn is perfectly placed to explore the peak district. We did Alton Towers and Chatsworth House which we thought were great!. If you are a looking for high end accommodation with a personal touch this is the place to be. We will definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: Nothing but Wifi would be a bonus
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S R
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nigel and Lynn are the nicest people you will ever meet!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What can we say......we stayed at Ford Od Hall for two weeks, this barn was so clean (pet free), modern and had everything we needed. The hospitality was better than great. Nigel are Lynn are lovely friendly people who just want you to have a great experience at their barn. They are always on hand to help and advise on where to go and what to do, Lynn made us a lovely meal on arrival with some gorgeous wine to accompany our meal. We were given freshly made oatcakes, home made flapjacks, freshly baked bread, beautifully made cup cakes and all the little essentials that you need like washing up liquid, toilet paper, kitchen roll, washing tablets for clothes, dishwasher tablets, milk, and butter. The dinner table was set out beautifully like it would be in a restaurant and all these little touches were just perfect. Every year we holiday in converted barns around the UK, however we have to say that this was is right up there as being one of the best. We ventured out on most days with Alton Towers being the best place to go especially if you have children. It's literally 15 minutes away from the barn. The hot tub was so relaxing after our days out, we would unwind in there and talk about what we did that day whilst being pampered in a touch of luxury. This is a great barn and we would definitely recommend it to anyone thinking about it..... go on, just do it! Our two weeks flew by so fast and we were sad to leave on our last day but at least we hold a lot of good memories of our time at this wonderful barn and we definitely hope to come back to see our lovely friends Nigel and Lynn again! The Rushmere's

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food and treats on arrival and the cleanliness of the barn
Liked least: Not being able to get a phone reception or WiFi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich L
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning accommodation in beautiful Peak District.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ford Old Hall is a real treat - literally! From the welcome meal, wine and fresh bread on arrival to the cupcakes on our last day, all absolutely delicious and very thoughtful, thank you! We travelled with our two 10 year old children and wanted somewhere quiet to wind down for a week but still within easy reach of all the Peaks has to offer. The barn certainly hit the spot. It is easy to find (with Lynn's great directions) and close to Leek and Ashbourne for shopping, though there are smaller local shops close by.
The accommodation is really beautiful, finished to an incredibly high standard and completely spotless - we felt like we were the first family to stay there. The upstairs has a lovely open plan living/kitchen area with views out to the farm and a fabulous log burner should you need it. The kitchen has everything you need to self cater and more! It's incredibly well stocked with all washing essentials - no need to bring anything. A real home from home! Downstairs there is a large utility room with washer, freezer and plenty of space for muddy boots! Two lovely bedrooms, each with their own en-suite, and again, decorated beautifully with lots of wardrobe/drawer space in both rooms. The en-suite in the master bedroom has a fantastic wet room with walk in shower and the fab under cover hot tub is also accessed from this bedroom too. We spent each evening in the hot tub enjoying the glorious starry nights that we don't get so often living in a town (it was also the kids favourite part of the barn!) Bath robes and slippers are also provided for lounging around the patio/hot tub area. All of the bedding and towels are luxurious and spotless, high quality and no expense spared. The attention to detail, quality and taste throughout the barn is clear to see and all makes for an easy holiday - we felt relaxed as soon as we got there! Lynn and Nigel are both lovely and friendly with a wealth of local knowledge should you need it. We were lucky enough to get amazing weather so were out and about each day, there are books, dvds, board games etc if you need them. Alton Towers is only 15 minutes drive away, as too are Dovedale and Ilam for glorious walks. We hired bikes and biked along the Manifold track, walked up Thor's cave - a great day on virtually traffic free tracks(enjoy a delicious lunch at the half way point - Manifold Inn). Monkey Forest was a great day too - Trentham was about 40 mins away. We had a very relaxing holiday(apart from the trip to my mother-in-laws) and would definitely recommend this accommodation. Like my son said on the way home "That holiday house was like a really massive posh hotel room mam!"
Book up - you honestly won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and chilled wine on arrival
Liked least: Really?? Nothing!! :)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$249
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing