We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Welcoming and relaxing stay in a beautiful part...”
other travellers have booked this property
Ford Wetley Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge A nice warm fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge
A nice warm fire
Farmhouse kitchen
Master bedroom with bathroom.
Twin room with shower room.
Downstairs double room with shower room.
Private Cottage Garden with BBQ/Fire Pit
Relaxing in the front garden
The neighbours
The bridge over the stream to the cottage
Could you be lucky and have a white Christmas?
Another stunning start to the day
Bit chilly for Alfresco dining!
Fun in the field
Expedition time, well just into the field
Nearby scenery.
Sun setting at the back of the cottage
Charlie and Breeze, our Miniature Shetland ponies!
The Ford Wetley Dogs, Paddy and Murphy.
Waterfall in the garden
Peak District
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ford, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HMC147
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming and relaxing stay in a beautiful part of Staffordshire”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

A great place to visit if you fancy a peaceful, rural retreat but close enough to explore lots of places to visit such as Chatsworth, Alton Towers and the Peak District. The only problem was, no mobile phone reception which made it a bit tricky to make arrangements when meeting up with family but there was wifi. The Croome's made us very welcome and were very helpful during our Christmas stay, the cottage was very comfortable, cozy and festively decorated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a good stay here. Hope to see you again one day. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Winter Getaway”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

I would definitely this lovely cottage. My wife, children and in-laws stayed here for a long weekend it was so cozy and peaceful especially with christmas songs playing whilst the log burner was roaring. There is everything you need in this cottage the beds were comfortable and clean everyone had such a good relaxing time.

You can also wondering around the grounds which are huge, lots of wildlife to take in. The owners Louise and Adrian are awesome too, they will be happy to help with anything that you need. All in all what a great place, I will definitely be returning with my family in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, how to see you a gain one day.
Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazvic
cleethorpes
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just returned from a fabulous weekend break at this beautiful cottage, this was our first visit to Ford Wetley but it certainly will not be our last. We had such a wonderful time. It was cold, dark and raining when we arrived but Louise took the trouble to come over to make sure we were ok - the cottage was lovely and warm but we still made the most of the gorgeous log fire. The welcome pack of wine, milk and eggs was much appreciated -thank you. We stayed with our family - six adults and our 17month old grandson, there was ample room for all of us, the cottage is well equipped with everything you could possibly need. We loved our stay at Ford Wetley, the only thing that could have made it better is if we could have stayed longer! Can't wait to come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Hope to see you again one day. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Cottage that has it all”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Picture the scene - dismal driving rain, freezing November winds, horrible driving conditions. Yet at the end of it was a two night stay with good friends at Ford Wetley Cottage.

We were advised not to use satnav to get there, and this was good advice - it takes you to a gate that leads into a field! Using the instructions provided though, we duly arrived and to a welcoming, comfortable, very well stocked and kitted out cottage.

As soon as we arrived we threw some logs onto the wood burning stove and got the heating on; in no time it was cosy and we could forget about the autumn night outside.
Our time at Ford Wetley was lovely,. The cottage was a great base for exploring the local area, Eyam, Buxton were places we went to. There's everything you could need in the cottage, both inside, with three bedrooms all with en suite bathrooms, a well stocked kitchen; and we were welcomed with fresh eggs from the chickens kept there, chocolates and a nice bottle of wine. Very much appreciated.

Outside we didn't enjoy as much as we would have had the weather been nicer, but there is an outdoor tap and hose for cleaning muddy boots and dogs, and a nice patio area which must be glorious to eat an evening meal at during long summer evenings.

The wifi worked very well in the living room, and the tv, dvd player and sound dock were a nice way to while away the end of the evening - we had brought Withnail and I, but this is as far from Crow Crag as you can imagine, don't worry!. Our resident DJ appreciated trhe chance to play some of his favourite tunes on the ipod dock :)

A lovely cottage run by very friendly folk, recommended with gusto!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: lovely cottage, cosy and welcoming and tranquil
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed it here,and hope to see you here again one day. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneRG
Bury At Edmunds
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A absolutely stunning cottage”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had such a wonderful time at Ford Wetley cottage. We can't recommend this place enough, our boys throughly enjoyed exploring around the cottage which was equipped really well with lovely chocolates, wine, eggs, milk and lots more for us to enjoy. We can't thank Louise,Adrain,Finley and Jessica enough for making us so welcome. We also had a brilliant time out and about exploring lots of lovely places near by, we can't wait to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Thank you, it was lovely to meet you. hope to see yo again one day. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;