We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic little cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Ford Wetley Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge A nice warm fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge
A nice warm fire
Farmhouse kitchen
Master bedroom with bathroom.
Twin room with shower room.
Downstairs double room with shower room.
Private Cottage Garden with BBQ/Fire Pit
Relaxing in the front garden
The neighbours
The bridge over the stream to the cottage
Could you be lucky and have a white Christmas?
Another stunning start to the day
Bit chilly for Alfresco dining!
Fun in the field
Expedition time, well just into the field
Nearby scenery.
Sun setting at the back of the cottage
Charlie and Breeze, our Miniature Shetland ponies!
The Ford Wetley Dogs, Paddy and Murphy.
Waterfall in the garden
Peak District
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ford, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linsey H
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Idyllic little cottage”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just spent a very unwinding week at the cottage. On arrival we found a very clean cottage with a complimentary bottle of red, fresh eggs and chocolates. The children loved exploring the area and made sure time was available to play on the tyre swing everyday.
The cottage is very isolated so be prepared to walk in order to get a phone signal. I managed to get one half way across the field behind the cottage. We lost the internet by Tuesday and none of our devices would connect. Not a problem for me but my 17 year old was not happy.
The cottage is a great base with all the mod cons you would need to explore the Peak District.
We did book this holiday based on previous reviews of the warm welcome and attention from the owners, unfortunately they booked a holiday at the same time so we were welcomed by another family who were staying in the main house. However they only visited us a couple of hours after we arrived & promptly left on the Tuesday without a word. Luckily we are quite an independent family and just got on with things for the rest of the holiday.
Having said that the cottage is well worth a visit and I would recommend it to others.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we're very glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage in good order. We are sorry that we didn't get to meet you, unfortunatley our holiday period is dictated by our children's school. We normally arrange for house sitters where we can, however they like to give people their privacy once checked in. We hope that you will visit Ford Wetley Cottage again in the future. Kind regards
Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
red_llama...
Manchester
1 review
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Wonderful place, stayed here with a group of friends (7 of us in total) and everything about it was great. Louise and Adrian were amazing, offering to help with anything and gave us some great tips about local events, but they also left us to get on with our holiday and enjoy the place. We have stayed at a number of similar cottages as a group of friends and this was by far the best. Would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/ house & garden
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your review, great to have you here and glad you enjoyed it. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ady Y
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage in fantastic surroundings, a perfect base for exploring the surrounding area and beyond.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our family of 5 stayed in this lovely cottage for a week. The 3 en-suite rooms suited us perfectly. Fresh eggs, milk, wine and chocolates had been put out for us by Louise and were very welcomed. The children loved meeting the ponies and the dogs. The cottage was the perfect base for exploring the surrounding area - we went for walks on the Manifold Trail, The Roaches and around the local reservoirs and nature reserves. We also visited Matlock Bath (for the Heights of Abraham) and Chatsworth House. The gorgeous Ilam Hall and Dovedale were a short drive away and well worth a visit.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to have you here, the kids loved playing together too. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magic_ruf...
England
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed for a week in this beautiful cottage during some lovely weather with our 2 Cockapoos. It is an extremely comfortable and well appointed cottage in a lovely private setting and it's a great base for exploring the Peak District. How refreshing to find such a high quality dog friendly cottage! The attention to detail and cleanliness made our stay extra special and we were very sad to go home. Thank you Lousie and Adrian - you should be very proud of your holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: dog friendly but still high quality
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Great to have you both and your lovely dogs here and hope to see you again one day. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish C
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great escape!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My two pre-schoolers and I stayed at Ford Wetley for two weeks in May 2014. The cottage is really warm and cozy, and has everything you could possibly need. My girls loved having grass--and ponies!--right outside our door, and it was an easy drive to a lot of great local sights.

Louise was such a kind host and really went out of her way to make us feel welcome and make sure we were okay (not to mention letting the children play on the swings etc in her garden!).

It was a really lovely, relaxing break.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2014
Lovely to have you and the girls here, hope to see you again one day. Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$133
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing