We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Ford Wetley Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge A nice warm fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge
A nice warm fire
Farmhouse kitchen
Master bedroom with bathroom.
Twin room with shower room.
Downstairs double room with shower room.
Private Cottage Garden with BBQ/Fire Pit
Relaxing in the front garden
The neighbours
The bridge over the stream to the cottage
Could you be lucky and have a white Christmas?
Another stunning start to the day
Bit chilly for Alfresco dining!
Fun in the field
Expedition time, well just into the field
Nearby scenery.
Sun setting at the back of the cottage
Charlie and Breeze, our Miniature Shetland ponies!
The Ford Wetley Dogs, Paddy and Murphy.
Waterfall in the garden
Peak District
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ford, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
red_llama...
Manchester
1 review
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Wonderful place, stayed here with a group of friends (7 of us in total) and everything about it was great. Louise and Adrian were amazing, offering to help with anything and gave us some great tips about local events, but they also left us to get on with our holiday and enjoy the place. We have stayed at a number of similar cottages as a group of friends and this was by far the best. Would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/ house & garden
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your review, great to have you here and glad you enjoyed it. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ady Y
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in fantastic surroundings, a perfect base for exploring the surrounding area and beyond.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our family of 5 stayed in this lovely cottage for a week. The 3 en-suite rooms suited us perfectly. Fresh eggs, milk, wine and chocolates had been put out for us by Louise and were very welcomed. The children loved meeting the ponies and the dogs. The cottage was the perfect base for exploring the surrounding area - we went for walks on the Manifold Trail, The Roaches and around the local reservoirs and nature reserves. We also visited Matlock Bath (for the Heights of Abraham) and Chatsworth House. The gorgeous Ilam Hall and Dovedale were a short drive away and well worth a visit.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to have you here, the kids loved playing together too. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magic_ruf...
England
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed for a week in this beautiful cottage during some lovely weather with our 2 Cockapoos. It is an extremely comfortable and well appointed cottage in a lovely private setting and it's a great base for exploring the Peak District. How refreshing to find such a high quality dog friendly cottage! The attention to detail and cleanliness made our stay extra special and we were very sad to go home. Thank you Lousie and Adrian - you should be very proud of your holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: dog friendly but still high quality
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Great to have you both and your lovely dogs here and hope to see you again one day. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish C
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great escape!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My two pre-schoolers and I stayed at Ford Wetley for two weeks in May 2014. The cottage is really warm and cozy, and has everything you could possibly need. My girls loved having grass--and ponies!--right outside our door, and it was an easy drive to a lot of great local sights.

Louise was such a kind host and really went out of her way to make us feel welcome and make sure we were okay (not to mention letting the children play on the swings etc in her garden!).

It was a really lovely, relaxing break.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2014
Lovely to have you and the girls here, hope to see you again one day. Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marian m
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely house in a beautiful spot”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I have just had my second stay in this warm and pleasant cottage, along with my sister and our 3 friends. We enjoyed evenings in the spacious lounge, lovely bedrooms and bathrooms. Louise and Adrian are kindness itself, providing lots of extra touches and offering help whenever needed (including a pair of Adrian's walking boots on my first visit, as I'd forgotten mine!). We also enjoyed free range eggs from the owners' hens. Already looking forward to returning.

I'm completely baffled by a previous review titled “Overpriced and uncaring owners” as this just doesn't describe my experience in the slightest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming atmosphere.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2014
Lovely to see you all again, glad you enjoyed your stay. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing