We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely house in a beautiful spot”
other travellers have booked this property
Ford Wetley Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge A nice warm fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge
A nice warm fire
Farmhouse kitchen
Master bedroom with bathroom.
Twin room with shower room.
Downstairs double room with shower room.
Private Cottage Garden with BBQ/Fire Pit
Relaxing in the front garden
The neighbours
The bridge over the stream to the cottage
Could you be lucky and have a white Christmas?
Another stunning start to the day
Bit chilly for Alfresco dining!
Fun in the field
Expedition time, well just into the field
Nearby scenery.
Sun setting at the back of the cottage
Charlie and Breeze, our Miniature Shetland ponies!
The Ford Wetley Dogs, Paddy and Murphy.
Waterfall in the garden
Peak District
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ford, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marian m
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely house in a beautiful spot”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I have just had my second stay in this warm and pleasant cottage, along with my sister and our 3 friends. We enjoyed evenings in the spacious lounge, lovely bedrooms and bathrooms. Louise and Adrian are kindness itself, providing lots of extra touches and offering help whenever needed (including a pair of Adrian's walking boots on my first visit, as I'd forgotten mine!). We also enjoyed free range eggs from the owners' hens. Already looking forward to returning.

I'm completely baffled by a previous review titled “Overpriced and uncaring owners” as this just doesn't describe my experience in the slightest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming atmosphere.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2014
Lovely to see you all again, glad you enjoyed your stay. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Excellent country retreat with everything we needed”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Had a great extended weekend at Ford Wetley Cottage. The cottage was lovely with all mod cons and a perfect tranquil setting, yet close by to many of the best parts of the Peaks. Louise and Adrian were perfect hosts and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. We will definitely book again, next time we visit the UK.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed it here. Kind regards
Lousie & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Loughton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a idyllic place for a family getaway with plenty to amuse everyone from Grandpa to the kids.
We felt truly welcome from the minute we arrived. It being Easter not only did Louise leave us eggs,wine and chocolates but the children had an Easter egg each on their beds.
There was also plenty of space for everyone and with the bedroom (with ensuite) downstairs it was perfect for my mum who struggled with stairs.
Louise and Adrian were a great wealth of local knowledge, suggesting places to visit, walks to enjoy and the best pubs to frequent.
We will defiantly be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2014
Thank you and glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see yo again soon Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe A
Hartley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I had a wonderful break away at Whetley Cottage. We had a very warm welcome from Adrain & Louise and their children who. Soon became friends with our children & went of exploring in the lovely surroundings, they even all collected eggs together for our breakfast. The property was of extremely good taste and well looked after, there was plenty of room for us all to chill out. The Whole experience was excellent. Cleanliness and standard of facilities of the property were very impressive. We have already bookd for our next break in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2014
Were glad you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to seeing you again in Summer. Louise and Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat B
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay, made possible by Louise and Adrian, the owners!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

On my first visit to Ford Wetley Cottage there were four of us, two adults and two children, we all had a fantastic time, the cottage had everything that you could wish for, it is so cosy and relaxing.
The kitchen was so well equipped, clean and plenty big enough for everybody to enjoy their meals at leisure. The lounge area consisted of such comfortable sofas you did not want to move very far in the evenings. There were three good sized bedrooms all with en suite facilities, the bedding and towels provided were of really good quality. We even had a barbecue that was for our use and no washing up with a dishwasher provided, what more could you ask!!
The surroundings are amazing with lots of walk to explore in the local area and the perfect base for exploring the Peak District.
Louise and Adrian are the perfect owners who live nearby and could be called upon for any advice required about beauty spots to visit or fresh eggs to be collected.
All things considered it was a perfect break for all of us, so perfect in fact that six of us visited again last year and have also booked again to go this summer.
Well done Louise and Adrian for perfecting such a tranquil holiday cottage with everything that anybody could wish for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage, area and owners.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are looking forward to seeing you again this year. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing