We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Home from Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room (cosy, beamed, tv, DVD player, 2 sofa beds)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room (cosy, beamed, tv, DVD player, 2 sofa beds)
The ford Bedroom 2 (twin room, good views of countryside)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Living Room (cosy, beamed, tv, DVD player, 2 sofa beds)
The ford
Bedroom 2 (twin room, good views of countryside)
Stairs (with night lighting)
Bottesford Church (from a distance)
Views to Rear of the Cottage
Main House and Walled Garden
...and in the winter... the cottage is warm and cosy --- see TripAdvisor
Living Room (cosy, beamed, tv, DVD player, 2 sofa beds) - from stairs
Bedroom 1 (twin room, good views of countryside)
Kitchen / Diner (oven/hob, fridge/freezer, microwave, dishwasher)
Living Room (cosy, beamed, tv, DVD player, 2 sofa beds) - from kitchen
Living Room (cosy, beamed, tv, DVD player, 2 sofa beds) - from front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bottesford, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Hbenella0...
aldershot
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This place is lovely, sadly let down by not being hovered for months, spiders and mice also staying!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
5
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful little cottage with everything you could need in a fab village, unfortunately let down as very dirty, especially the carpets, skirting, under sofas, did not look like it had been hoovered in months! cobwebs and spiders everywhere and then discovered we had mice and mouse droppings behind the beds. Jars on kitchen shelf, full of mould, dirty dish cloths On the sink. Thankfully the shower and toilet were clean! A lovely place but let down by simple things! Told owner On departure that we found it dirty and there was mice, didn't seem faded and did not reduce the cost, we won't be returning!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G
2 reviews
“Lovely Home from Home”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If you are looking for an idyllic village location and a lovely home from home, you need look no further. This is the place for you.

The location is great at the back of the village with no through traffic, yet close to the main shopping street. There's views outside across open fields and the owners allow you to use their garden like it is your own (without the weeding).

There's a wealth of animals that make themselves at home here too. There's chickens, 7 cats and 3 dogs. The cats in particular make themselves at home in the cottage, which we absolutely loved (although a relative who was allergic was not so keen). Look out for Posher the cat, who I had to say, nearly got snuck into our bag for a trip over to Australia!

The cottage was very tidy when we moved in with nice bed linen and comfy single beds.

I have found this a very, very difficult property to rate as we loved it, and actually went back there for a few extra nights rather than going to another hotel in Grantham we had booked and paid for.

In the end I have had to rate it 4 star rather than 5 as we had a few problems with heating (I believe that they are on top of these issues now) and when we first moved in, and the wifi was down for most of our stay (we were just unlucky as they were changing providers). There was also a mouse in residence which is to be expected given it's location and to be honest the cats soon sorted it out. I also think that guests should be warned that cats are likely to have been in, just in case they are allergic. My nephew for example couldn't have stayed there and was getting some quite serious reactions after just a few minutes.

Having said all that, this is a lovely, lovely place that I can't recommend enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, homely atmosphere, animals, beds.
Liked least: Cold shower when the heating was being fixed.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan H
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
“February Half Term Break”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Pretty cottage, nice location, helpful owner. Our 5 night break was spoilt by the breakdown of hot water and central heating system for 4days, and we were unable to contact the owner for 24 hours prior to our departure

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty cottage in a nice village
Liked least: No central heating after1st day & inability to contact owner before departure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron O
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location for a relaxing weekend away”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Lovely holiday cottage set in a very cute little village. The owners of the cottage are very friendly and helpful, keen to make sure that our stay was perfect (and they succeeded). The village itself is a lovely surprise: I didn't know anything about it, but it turns out to have a very nice, old centre with a couple of nice places to eat & drink. But the show was totally stolen by the owners' dogs, who were unashamedly begging for attention whenever we poked a nose out of the cottage ;-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting is beautiful: lovely old cottage in lovely village.
Liked least: Equipment in the kitchen was a little more basic than I expected.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: cleanliness, peacefulmess and space
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing