We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Ann van Dyk Cheetah Centre
from US$162,36
More Info
from US$169,64
More Info
from US$111,02
More Info
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveller rating
399
136
18
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
399
136
18
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful animals cheetah conservation dedication ann project pens
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 565 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We visited the center with our kids and their friends. Seeing cheetah up close is amazing and the bonus of wild dog adds real value to the outing. The guides are excellent with a profound knowledge of the animals. It is an unmissable outing for anyone.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

There are so many things one can say about this place but there are some simple words to describe it. Amazing, stunning, magical, out of this world.

The experience was so worth every Rand spent. A person must see the facility not just as a place where you go to see cheetahs but as a living dedication to the beautiful animals of Africa. It is not a safari lodge or a game park, it is a sanctuary and a place to get in touch with the realities of the dangers in which our wild animals find themselves.

Most shocking for me was learning about the little know plight of the Cape Vulture which is now nearing extinction. These incredible birds are being poisoned by rhino poachers as they give the position away of rhino-kills when they circle above a carcass. Although the plight of our rhinos is widely publicised, these birds are receiving no media coverage at all.

As for the staff, they are fantastic. Professional and knowledgeable and willing to go out of their way to ensure that every question you may have is answered. The experience is highly educational rather than being canned safari entertainment. Go there with your mind and eyes open and you will not be disappointed.

If you are disappointed it is because you went there expecting to be entertained and not educated.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank TonyBosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We did the exclusive tour for two, not only for the experience but because we wanted to help support the center.

We were not disappointed. We saw 3 Cheetahs run with the overall group, met Jules and then stayed behind for a private moment with Jules the cheetah to pet her...what a thrill.

we then went on a 4 hour jeep tour of the entire center while the cheetahs, Caracel, Wild Dogs, African Wild Cat and others were fed. To be within feet of these spectacular and endangers animals while they waited to be fed and then fed was a once in a lifetime experience.

These animals are NOT sold for hunting. Breeding is controlled according to need. Animals are sent around the world to properly investigated Animal Centers so people can see cheetahs up close.

One reviewer says the a cat was brought in on a leash and muzzle and forced to stand on a table to perform"...that's crap. Jules the cat and the other ambassador cats LOVE the attention. When they tire of it, they let the cats rest for several months if need be. Granted after a little petting, as with any cat, they get over stimulated and it's time to move on. But when you see how these cats are bonded to their human (they pick their human by the way) they want to be nuzzled and petted.

I highly recommend this center and supporting it. These animals are beautiful, from the cheetahs to the vultures.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank cagolfher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

This is an amazing center. We saw a lot of animals and learned a lot. It was avery good introduction to our trip to the Kruger park, where cheetahs are hard to spot. If you want to go to the 'run' in the morning, beware that it will be a bit of a 'fast affair': 2 cheetahs running at 100 km and hour for 30 sec goes by very fast indeed! We did have a lot of interesting information to complete the experience. As a whole, it was very well worth the expense and one of the highlight of our Pretoria/Kruger Park trip.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank v_roniquee317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

This was a very nice and educational day where we saw lots of cheetahs, and other animals, and also learnt a lot during the tour, which was led by some very enthusiastic guides. The tour itself was fairly priced and interesting and it was exciting to be in the truck and feel so close cheetahs and wild dogs. This part I would absolutely recommend!

***I was disappointed that, after been told all about animal cruelty/conserving animals etc, that at the end we were taken into a room and a cheetah was brought in wearing a lead, collar and a mouth muzzle. The cheetah was then forced to stand on the table like a show cat performing. It was slightly disturbing after the past two hours we had just heard about how important it was to do the opposite of this and how this centre was different! I know this may be 'what the visitors want to see' but I think it was unnecessary after already been close enough to the cheetahs. ***

Date of experience: July 2017
3  Thank Charlthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews