We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Petit Chambon

Gite from courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gite from courtyard
Patio area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Gite from courtyard
Patio area
Fields in Summer
View from gite kitchen
Courtyard
Gite
Bedroom to Lounge
Bathroom
Courtyard
Kitchen window
Summer Kitchen and Barbeque
Garden 1
Flowers
Shower
Gite
View to Courtyard from Bedroom
Gardens
View to Gite from Garden
Kitchen Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Gabillou, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gary J
Wiveliscombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Paul & Gina for a wonderful holiday in your Gite. You made us very welcome. Cannot praise Le Petite Chambon enough, ideal location in a quiet peaceful Hamlet and for visiting the surrounding area. This is our 3rd visit to the Dordogne staying in various Hamlets and this was one of the best. It is extremely well stocked and a very good size inside. If we revisit The Dordogne we will definitely rebook with you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Not a thing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry C
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Everything about this rental was good, The initial booking, contact with Paul and Gina, our arrival,our reception and our stay. The Gite has everything you could wish for in a holiday let and I mean everything. Paul contacted us to verify our arrival and informed me that there would be, wine, cheese, ham, milk, tomatoes, butter, jam, courgettes onions and even a home made loaf of bread in the Gite. Our shopping therefore was reduced.

The property is in a small sleepy village named Gabillou about 16k from Thenon ideal for visiting Chateaux in the Dordogne. The place was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The pool was excellent.

Gina and Paul were very welcoming hosts and nothing was too much trouble.

I would have no reservation whatsoever to recommend this property to anyone wishing to visit the Dordogne.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64Jazz64
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable.”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We recently enjoyed a two week holiday in this quiet rural location, Our hosts were very welcoming, friendly and helpful, but never intrusive.The cottage was exceptionally large and was well equipped. The swimming pool was well maintained and very inviting and offered an open view to the trees and countryside. We thoroughly enjoyed exploring this interesting area of France from the tranquil and beautiful villages, to the little towns with their diverse markets. The busier town of Bergerac and Bordeaux city centre were also worth a visit. The cottage and surroundings offer a haven of peace and relaxation after a day of exploration.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich H
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was a wonderful holiday from beginning to end.

Gina and Paul are such welcoming hosts and had thought of everything to make our stay that much more personal even down to providing us with a welcome gift containing some food and drink. The gite was clean and towels were provided. The kitchen was well equipped and had everything we needed to be able to cook all of our meals. There was a really good guide booklet explaining what there was to do in the local area and we were able to plan some really memorable days out from the information here.

The views around the immediate area are incredible looking out onto open fields with some amazing stone buildings. We were both really impressed with the pool and gardens and spent a lot of our time relaxing and enjoying the peace and tranquillity that came with it.

Gina and Paul recommended we visited Montignac market on the Wednesday and we were not disappointed. I really enjoyed looking around the various craft and food stalls and then having some drinks in a lovely restaurant next to the river.

I couldn't recommend this holiday enough. We were made to feel at all times like this was our own personal piece of France. My partner and I were so dejected when we had to leave. We can't wait to go back again next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin J
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Le Petit Chambon”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A great place to stay, we were warmly welcomed by Paul and Gina and the goodies left us were very generous, including some lovely homemade bread. A very comfortable gîte with plenty of areas to sit and relax around the garden. Lovely pool a real suntrap. The gîte also ideally situated to get to all the tourist sites.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely undercover dining area and the pool.
Liked least: Waterproof mattress protector!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing