We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mellanytheron

Happy Honyemooners

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 08 Mar 2024
We had a beautiful stay with Moon Mountain Lodge.
peaceful and quiet.
delicious food
kind and helpful staff
drinks are affordable.
We enjoyed our own splash pool.
the view from all around the lodge is breath taking, and something to see yourself.

Date of stay: February 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
35.7 km from Moon Mountain Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
67.3 km from Moon Mountain Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
52.6 km from Moon Mountain Lodge
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
87.5 km from Moon Mountain Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Natural landscape
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
31.8 km from Moon Mountain Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • StayForLong
31.8 km from Moon Mountain Lodge
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 813
  • Hotels.com
31.7 km from Moon Mountain Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 6 494
R 4 877
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
18.3 km from Moon Mountain Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 805
  • Priceline
10.2 km from Moon Mountain Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Solitaire
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveller rating
290
133
41
8
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
290
133
41
8
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews splash pool amazing views private pool breakfast and dinner namib desert self catering out of this world an amazing place tents suite lodge sunset sossusvlei drive deck hill namibia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 493 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2024 via mobile

It’s not about the staff, or the view..

This lodge was the most expensive of our trip, it was supposed to be the highlight. But was a mistake. It’s not about the staff, they are great. And the view is gorgeous.
But the place itself is totally overrated: all over lacking in quality and the price is much too high. We do not often write reviews, but sometimes you feel obliged ….

Website is misleading, it is not luxury, and certainly not extra luxury.

The positive things.
We stayed in the honeymoon suite, it’s spacious..
The bed is fine. View great.

But it’s basic. Simple.
There is a spacious balcony, but only 2 simple upright foldable chairs. No lounge chairs, no table, no sun shield or parasol. Its outdated for years..

Yes, recently renovated, meaning repairs and a fresh wood treatment. But furniture is still old. Restaurant looks like a canteen with plastic chairs.
No coffee at your room, only a bag of Nescafe. Etc..Noisy fridge. Utensils limited and an eclectic collection. We used our own camping chairs, which were a lot more comfortable.

The food; nothing wrong, made with love
But a culinary adventure as the website promises?

Bear in mind: the price we payed for all those disappointments was almost 300 euro for a night.

Really a lot of missed opportunities.
Some simple suggestions to start with:
Something as simple as a coffee plunger and real coffee.
Two lounge seats and something to create some shade, a parasol or sail.

This was a mistake..
It is overpromised and overpriced

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 920Edwin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2024

The vibration of Moon Mountain Lodge is stingy, one of scarcity, and energetically low. As an international traveler and doctor, allow me to tell my personal story (and Moon Mountain will have their own version). This is the first time EVER that I have ever been treated poorly and unfairly by a supposedly classy place (which unfortunately it is not in my humble opinion). I booked-up a multiple-night stay in Jan-2024 and paid in advance US$1,000 but after a personal accident (broken shoulder), my injury got worse and I had to leave Namibia on a medical emergency ... and even in giving Moon Mountain Lodge TWO WEEKS' advance notice that I could not come, the owner didn't authorize any type of refund, not even a partial amount, even though they re-booked the room (and I found that out through an employee there). This was the ONLY place in Namibia on-tour that did not provide a refund (out of 7 places,5 gave me full refunds, one gave me a partial refund, and Moon Mountain Lodge gave NOTHING). They point to an awful old-fashioned and harmful policy where they won't budge on anything financially which tells you everything. They will not even issue a refund IF a pandemic hit again (and now as of Feb-2024 there is Covid nearby again in Rehoboth), so that means if you book-up a month in advance, you may have the same UNFLEXIBLE policy if you cannot come or don't want to come because of a pandemic, and yet Moon Mountain Lodge will NOT refund you. SHAME ON YOU, Moon Mountain Lodge, for you have brought this stain upon yourself: you have lowered your reputation.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2024

We had the most incredible experience at Moon Mountain Lodge over New Year's Eve. The Service was exceptional even though they were running on min. staff. The dinner was one of the best we ever had on a lodge. One tiny suggestion: please consider offering Coffee and Tea in every room. Nothing beats that amazing sunrise view with a coffee. - The staff was so kind to provide us with some coffee and a plunger after requesting :)

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pascalseebach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2024

It was our second visit. It is one of the most beautiful places. Worth every sent. Please consider the safety of the railing for children. We will definitely visit again and again! Thank you for making our stay so unforgettable!

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tianimoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 December 2023

An incredible view from the well-designed cabin. The plunge pool incorporated into the deck was well appreciated after a long hot drive. Staff were helpful and friendly. Best steak I have had for a long time!

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JamesC9406
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews