We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“For lovers of culture and nature.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Capestrano, Province of L'Aquila, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Espen J
1 review
“For lovers of culture and nature.”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I have just come home to a rainy Sweden after one fantastic week in the Abruzzo district in Italy. During the stay we rented Pamela Sparrows house in Capestrano. From the first mail contact the respons From Pamela was astonishingly friendly, helpful, generous AND Swift. Nothing seems to be impossible for this Wonderful person. At arrival We located the house and found the key without any hazzle and the house and private garden turned out to be absolutely perfect, both as a home and as a base for us ,lovers of nature and culture. The area is litterally crammed with intresting places, good food and amazing views with the mountains of Grand Sasso national park just outside the bedroom Window. Hot days and cool nights With southern nightingale, blue rockthrush and redstart singing outside in the night. We didnt have one single day without sun and over 30 degrees celsius so we were grateful for the cool shade from the old figue tree on the patio where we enjoyed breakfast in the morning and a dewy glass of local whitwine in the evening. Ok, so the house has everything, is beautiful and it is positioned very central in this pitoresque, onethousand years old, little village, clinging to the mountains. Capestrano has about 900 citizens and since tourism is moderate in this part of Italy We found ourselves being treated with curiosity and friendliness. My impression of the people in Capestrano is that they are very helpful, honest and welcoming. We were glad to have a rented car since there are so many places worth visiting in close proximity. If you enjoy affordable and excellent local food, breathtaking wiews of vast mountain areas, freezing cold baths in Italys cleanest river. (You Can drink the water as you swim in it) and relaxing in beautiful tranquile environments, just hit the keyboard and book your stay in Casa di Pamela right now.
Thou shall not regret.

PS. When it comes to superlatives for Pamela as person and hostess there are simply so many nice things too be said that there is not room for it in this forum. We just felt so so welcome and at home. It was perfect.

Greetings from
Espen Jensen

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind review.You have been the perfect guest and I hope you can enjoy many more stays at my home in Capestrano You are always welcome. Pamela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great location, fantastic views, well equipped house.”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Well placed to explore local area. Well equipped house with lots of local information supplied. Great having outdoor space to enjoy the views and good weather. Friendly village including welcoming neighbours. Plenty of interesting places to explore within a short distance. A plus was having bikes to use to explore the valley - steep hill to get back to the house but well worth it.
Information supplied by Pam before the trip very helpful.
Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2016
I am so glad you had a good time in the lovely village of Capestrano. To know you had an enjoyable holiday is important to me. We also use the bikes to explore the area, there is always more to discover! You are very welcome back anytime and thank you for leaving the house as you found it. Kind Regards Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coupleret...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent house in superb setting of Italian hill-town with mountain views”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Excellent, clean, well-equipped and peaceful village house, with fabulous views of surrounding snow capped peaks from the olive tree and fig tree shaded terrace: we had all our meals outside. Very conscientious host who provided very good directions etc. Lovely hill village (steep streets!) with two supermarkets, butchers shop, daily fruit and veg stall, and weekly market. One adequate restaurant/bar in walking distance plus another bar/ice cream parlour. Village centre undergoing some reconstruction for next year or so, resulting on some shrouded buildings; a shame, but doesn't spoil the atmosphere. Good hill walking nearby, with drover's paths running from village to village.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, shady terrace.
Liked least: Cooker took a bit of getting used to - difficult to control burners. We're recommending for older travellors but only if they don't mind steep village streets.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Glad you enjoyed historic Capestrano's peaceful atmosphere. Yes, there are many good walks in the area and I hope you had a chance to visit some of the other fabulous villages nearby with their wonderful restaurants. Thank you for being superb guests! Pamela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K
Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: De compleetheid van de uitrusting.
Liked least: Werkelijk niets
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Capestrano, I hope you will return one day . Thank you for leaving the house as you found it .Pamela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing