We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for family holidays”
other travellers have booked this property
The Hut in the Orchard sits in its own 3/4 acre orchard paddock on our working farm in Sussex.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hut in the Orchard sits in its own 3/4 acre orchard paddock on our working farm in Sussex.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The Hut in the Orchard sits in its own 3/4 acre orchard paddock on our working farm in Sussex.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
West Grinstead, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maja_Luck...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place for family holidays”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at Connie's farm for 5 days with our 3 children (6 yo, 2 yo and 6 months baby). The place is just perfect - the hut has absolutely everything you need and more, it's super clean and comfortable even for a big family like ours. There is plenty of space in the orchard for kids to play and parents to unwind. Alicia is a perfect host, she has a great attention to detail. Our kids loved the farm, Alicia showed them around and they collected eggs from chickens. We will certainly be back for more fun. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Thank you it was great to meet you all, look forward to welcoming you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAND-N-GA...
NOTTINGHAMSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shepherd Hut with Style!!”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Tranquil location in a lovely part of the country. The huts were exactly like the photos, so we were not disappointed. We stayed for 2 weeks as a family of four and a dog, so the extra bed in the dining hut was a life saver. We felt welcomed and safe in the huts and its surroundings, being very dog friendly in the orchard. Lots of pleasant walks near by if you don't want to travel by car. All mod cons with free wifi on tap. I would recommend this accommodating for anyone wanting to escape into a slower pace of life with the ability to travel to the seaside within 30 minutes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you Amanda for your kind review, I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us, we love hearing from our guests. Hope to see you again another time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pathfinde...
1 review
“If you want peace, quiet and a beautiful setting, choice this place.”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What an amazing setting! as soon as we arrived, we could hear the perfect silence, with peace and quiet.
We were met with a welcoming smile from Alicia, who made us feel "at home" from the moment we stepped into the Shepherd's hut.
It is located so well between pubs, walks and countryside that we were spoilt for choice - which pub to walk to, - which walk we would do each day.
Alicia gave us so much helpful information and maps to guide us on our walks - it was just great.
We lit the log fire and sat around it at night and just listened to the birds and the owl.
Absolutely perfect for a break with privacy, peace and quiet. Will definitely go there again with no hesitation at all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2017
Thank you Dawn, so glad you enjoyed your stay, yes it is s special little corner of Sussex, I'm pleased you got to stretch your legs and explore the local pubs. Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atkos
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another fabulous stay! A MARVELLOUS find :)”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was our second stay in the Conies Farm Shepherd's Hut and we were once again, blown away with just how beautifully cosy, clean and comfortable our visit was. Our host (Alicia) met us with a bright, cheerful smile once again and made sure we got settled in quickly. The little treats left in the hut for us were a wonderful touch and made the beginning of this, our second stay, feel even more special. It was wonderful to see the updates made to the adjacent dining hut - a gorgeous wooden bench that folds down to provide another bed and some rather cute curtains to make the area private should you want to. Just perfect if you have more than just a couple staying, or if you just fancy an afternoon snooze by the log burner! Throwing the blankets provided around our shoulders one evening so we could sit out and star gaze whilst enjoying some toasted marshmallows was certainly a highlight! It was wonderful being shown around the farm again and seeing some of the changes since our last stay. The little piglets especially were very cute! There's plenty to see if you want to as well as some fantastic places to visit locally (including some great pubs, local towns and villages or even walks through the bluebell forests) but equally, Alicia is a very sympathetic host and will respect your privacy should you prefer a more quiet, laid back stay with minimal contact. Nothing is too much trouble but being left to your own devices is certainly one of the benefits of this gorgeous hide out in the West Sussex countryside. Alicia keeps the hut immaculately clean with just about everything you need for your stay, whether that is for one or two nights or a week or two. The farm is both child and animal friendly, with Alicia ensuring everyone feels right at home. Do not hesitate to book a stay here, you really will not be disappointed. Whether you are a family, friends or just a couple looking for a romantic escape to the country...you will not be disappointed! Already looking forward to our third visit! Thank you Alicia!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Wow! I don't know what to say, thank you so much for your generous review, it is really touching to hear such lovely remarks, it means so much to me. So pleased you enjoyed your time with us, it was really great to see you both again. Hope you enjoyed your New Zealand trip and it lived up to expectations. Look forward to seeing you again! All the best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie O
1 review
“Perfect weekend away!”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I booked the hut as a surprise for my husbands birthday and we both weren't disappointed. From the moment I booked Alicia was happy to help with everything. We took our puppy with us and he loved exploring the paddock and meeting Alicia's dogs. The hut itself was beautiful and has everything you could need. Lovely walks nearby and very peaceful. We haven't stopped telling our friends and family about it and will definitely be returning!

Thank you Alicia for such a memorable weekend.

Melanie and Luke x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Melanie, it was lovely to meet you all and I'm so pleased you had such a great time here, thank you for your glowing review! We look forward to welcoming you back again, when Larry is old enough to enjoy some longer walks further afield, I can point you in the direction of another charming country pub.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing