We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat ”
Review of Diggerland

Diggerland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Diggerland is The Ultimate Adventure Theme Park Experience where children and adults alike can ride, drive and operate REAL diggers, dumpers and other full- size construction machinery. Diggerland is the perfect destination for action, fun and thrill packed family days out. Fun for all ages (subject to height restrictions), Diggerland with its 20 different rides and drives and an array of additional activities is the ideal theme park for small to large groups looking for something exciting and truly unique. Get to grips with real JCBs and 180/360 excavators, take a head-reeling turn or two on the Spindizzy, rise to lofty heights and enjoy the views on the Skyshuttle, enjoy an off-road ride on the Groundshuttle, or have a go on the Dodgems and Go-Karts!
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

We spent the day at Diggerland for my sons 5th birthday. We had a brilliant day!
The staff were an absolute credit to the place, all young but very well trained in their jobs and all had excellent manners and people skills, particularly great with children which makes a real difference as a kids attraction. They go above and beyond to be friendly but not patronising or pushy. The attraction is well organised, there’s ample parking. The on-site cafe is very reasonably priced and I’d thoroughly recommend the place to young families looking for an action packed fun day out. Thank you!

Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiggerlandUK, Guest Relations Manager at Diggerland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hello there,

Thank you for your wonderful 4* review.

We're delighted to hear that your son had a brilliant time celebrating his 5th birthday.

We will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments regarding our staff members at Diggerland Durham.

We sincerely hope to see you again soon for lots more fun!

Best wishes,
Diggerland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great fun"
in 27 reviews
"theme park"
in 15 reviews
"land rover"
in 5 reviews
"height restrictions"
in 15 reviews
"coin operated"
in 6 reviews
"full price"
in 15 reviews
"big kids"
in 9 reviews
"all ages"
in 29 reviews
"off road"
in 6 reviews
"discount voucher"
in 6 reviews
"value for money"
in 23 reviews
"couldn't do enough"
in 7 reviews
"staff were so friendly"
in 7 reviews
"an indoor play area"
in 5 reviews
"year olds"
in 10 reviews
"soft play"
in 18 reviews
"little boy"
in 9 reviews
Filter

55 - 59 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

We live 15 mins from Diggerland and my son is 7 yet this is the first time we've visited. This tells you everything about the entry price really... Despite the management comments that prices are in keeping with other local attractions, I disagree with this. For the size of this attraction its more comparable to Mini Moos or Hall Hill Farm nearby, both of which have more activities and a better mix of indoor/outdoor attractions (the indoor soft play here is pretty rubbish. The rain got heavier whilst we were there so we cut the day short in the end).

Having said that, my son loved the diggers, the staff are all very friendly and the food is good value. I agree with other comments that the number of £1 coin rides after paying £20 each to get in sticks in the craw somewhat.

I also think that despite the pretty serious accident here 10 or so years ago (which tbh I think has put lots of us local people off going for a long time), safety seemed a bit hit and miss. Some of the staff were super careful. Others were letting kids onto things they were too small for. The digger was tipping with my son in it because the bucket got stuck in the mud. It took a while for anyone to notice and I couldn't reach him.

Also this isn't a place for very tall people or fatties. Some of the rides you can only take your kid under 1.4m on if they sit on your knee and there simply isn't much space on many of the rides for this.

There needs to be more seating in the cafe as it was quiet when we went and we still found all the seats were taken.

If this was cheaper we would go back a few times a year. As it is we probably won't bother despite it being on our doorstep as my son is just as happy with other nearby fun parks such as Adventure Valley which are much cheaper.

2  Thank Michaela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiggerlandUK, Guest Relations Manager at Diggerland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Hello Michaela,

Thank you for your comments.

Please be assured that we welcome all feedback in order to help us improve our service.

We are disappointed to hear that your recent visit didn't meet your expectations.

Please note the machines we use are real JCB diggers and dumpers and the attachments have been especially adapted in accordance with the Health and Safety Executive (HSE), therefore costing hundreds of thousands of pounds.

Please also bear in mind that we run various special offers in local newspapers, magazines as well as online and in our newsletter which visitors are more than welcome to benefit from.

In addition, please note that the Diggerland website does clearly display information regarding our prices and the additional extras for the dodgems and coin operated machines, so that visitors are made aware of this before arriving.

Please be assured that Health & Safety is Diggerland's top priority for all visitors and staff members. As such, we will be sure to forward your feedback on to the Health & Safety Executive regarding your concerns.

We sincerely hope that this does not deter you from making future visits to Diggerland Theme Park.

With warm regards,
Diggerland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We were lucky to have nice weather and the park was not busy so we had many rides to get on. The staff were all courteous and helpful, willing to chat and help with safety a priority and good instructions on machine use. Diggers were great fun, rides all fun to go on and my brother got to drive a JCB in a large muddy circle, a smile a mile wide. Finally, I would like to thank Alix for her help with the tyre stacking loader she was patient and allowed my brother to complete the task he started which is important as it gave him a sense of accomplishment. Highly recommended.

Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiggerlandUK, Guest Relations Manager at Diggerland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello Christopher,

Thank you for your fantastic comments and 5* review.

We are thrilled to hear that you all had a lovely time visiting the Diggerland Durham park.

The Diggerland team are a huge credit to the company and as such, we will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the staff members to the management team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon!

All the best,
Diggerland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

An excellent day out at Diggerland. We tried all the different attractions in the morning helped by friendly and welcoming staff. The JCB experience in the afternoon with Matt showing the ropes was superb, great fun and highly recommended.

2  Thank NewcastleGeordie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiggerlandUK, Guest Relations Manager at Diggerland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello there,

Thank you for your 5* review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the JCB Experience at Diggerland Durham.

We hope to see you again soon for lots more fun!

Best wishes,
Diggerland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

We visited the Durham park in February when it opened (only just got a chance to write a review) and it went beyond all expectations!

The staff were friendly and helpful throughout the day despite the weather and were so good with the kids which is very hard to find at attractions.

We ate at the cafe they have on site which was reasonably priced and the kind of food you get at all theme parks, burgers etc.

All in all, the children (and adults) had a fabulous time so definitely look forward to visiting in the summer!

1  Thank Linda_Gregory76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiggerlandUK, Guest Relations Manager at Diggerland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello Linda,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and 5* review.

We are delighted to hear that your family, especially your 4 year old son enjoyed their day to Diggerland Durham.

We will be sure to pass on your lovely comments regarding our staff members.

See you again soon!

Best wishes,
Diggerland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diggerland also viewed

 

Been to Diggerland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing