We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3 605)
Filter reviews
3 605 results
Traveller rating
1 225
1 518
615
161
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 225
1 518
615
161
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roomthemed restaurantextra toiletmain restaurantbanana plantationtoilet and sinkitalian nightfree buslarge balconypool areaevening entertainmentfirst choice replas americasself servicec blockman made beachsea view
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 3 605 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We and another family of 4 (2 adults 2 children) Stayed here as a Feb half term break for the week.

Had great room looking over ool and getting afternoon sun (left block on pic of pool).

Food was good clean tidy and nothing too much trouble for the staff.

Entertainment was good and the lounge very pleasant and big.

Location was good as you can walk around the promenade into the small town where there's wine bars, restaurants etc etc.

Would reccomend if you want a quite break and have kiddies.

Stayed: February 2018
2  Thank N11shd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

I would recommend this hotel to anyone & ignore any bad reviews that people have said, in regards to food, rooms or facility's
This hotel is perfect and great value for money.
I was there with friends and family and cannot praise the staff enough, for the effort they made in regards to the two vegans that were with us.
Every night they went out of the way to make special vegan food and I would just like to say how good the food was, (AMAZING)
After reading the reviews on trip advisor before the holiday, I was in two minds about changing the hotel, but I am glad I didn't.
Yes the hotel did show the football on a large screen, but it was in the corner of the room and out of the way. Yes you could hear them cheering when a goal was made, but honestly this does not have any impact on the other guests,
The only complaint I have is that the entertainment at night could be improved, but once again everything in life cannot be perfect.
I loved this hotel, the rooms very spacious, the food was good, the staff was good and the choice of drinks and cocktails were excellent.
I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff at the hotel for an amazing holiday, and for any people reading bad things in regards to this hotel, please ignore.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank rakheecasey20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Currently staying at this hotel with my niece. We have been quite impressed with things considering some of the reciews. Although not happy about it we did pay the €20 for a weeks WI-FI but found out tonight that only covers 1 device so my niece has just had to go and pay another €20 to use the internet on her phone. Insult to injury we can only access the WI-FI around reception not around the pool or in our room!! In this day and age with a hotel this size I can't believe this isn't part of the all inclusive package - let's hope the rest of the week doesn't hold any more nasty surprises. Ill do a full review when I get home.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank lyecart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.

It is disappointing that our Wi-Fi connection failed to live up to your expectations. However, please be assured that we never stop renovating our hotels so we can offer you the most up-to-date facilities and that we will share your impressions with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to hearing about the rest of your stay.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Buena Vista
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

If you don’t like football, don’t book to come here in the next 3 weeks god help you. A projector set up in the main inside bar fills the indoor bar with 100+ for every minute the football is on, the chants are horrifically loud and totally ruined the start to every one of our evenings.

Riu Buenavista, set up an outside area for those who chose to go nuts for football, don’t deafen everybody inside the hotel and restaurant.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

Please let us point out that as a global brand, we do offer accommodation to guests of all ages, nationalities as well as personal backgrounds and due to this reason they enjoy their holidays differently based on their individual preferences. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We really hope you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves and to demonstrate the high standards of guest service and quality that are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Buena Vista
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Having stayed at Riu resorts previously we were looking forward to our stay here. First impressions were favourable - reception staff being warm and friendly and that could be said for all the staff we met.
The room was very generously sized with a partial sea view from the balcony.
However the restaurant buffet food soon became very monotonous with the same dishes being served day after day . If you like Tilapia, Hake or Turkey then you will be delighted. Very little variation elsewhere even the same desserts appearing with unending regularity.
The pool areas are clean and there are plenty of sun beds, although if you go in peak time you may struggle to find one after 9-30am and your neighbours will be very adjacent.
What we found disappointing was that there was nowhere to have peace and quiet as there was a continual stream of activities being conducted in both pools by very loud staff fond of their voices through loud speakers and whistles! Just when you had settled down for a quiet snooze yet another class of Aquazumba, Water polo or some other activity would erupt.
Also there are no beaches adjacent to the property although the online photos purport to show differently.
This property slopes quite sharply around the pool areas so it is not ideal for those with mobility issues. Also there are a number of steep stairways to negotiate between the pool area and the reception area.
There is a cafe beyond the pool areas that is open at lunchtime but quite frankly the selection provided is so poor you may as well eat in the main buffet area as that is nearer the pools.
WiFi - be warned there is no free WiFi- a weeks WiFi will cost you 20 euros for just one IPad!
Surrounding area : there is nothing really close by in terms of shops/restaurants/bars within comfortable walking distance.
TUi offer a weekly bus trip to the market at Los Christianos but frankly it’s the usual tat you see anywhere else. But you can have a walk along the front for a change of view.
Transfer time - this took nearly an hour from the airport as this hotel is the last drop off and also the first pick up for your return so be warned!
Also the Tui rep may try and sell you a voucher for the Airport lounge and ‘fast track’ through security for approximately 22euros. Don’t bother the lounge is very poorly stocked with stale sandwiches and a limited selection of drinks. And there was no fast track security!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lwrigh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing RIU Hotels & Resorts once again for your vacation and for taking the time to give us your constructive and valued feedback.

We place great importance on providing our guests with unforgettable experiences and it is disappointing to see that you left our hotel thinking otherwise this time. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve our services, and for this reason, your impressions will be shared with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate the high standards of service and quality that are typical of our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Buena Vista
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews