We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best rental ever”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
surrounding views
Sailing at Ullswater within 20 min drive
Red Tarn Helvellyn nr Ullswater
Canadian canoeing - rent from Glenridding
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Armathwaite, Carlisle, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
theshyn
london
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best rental ever”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

If you are planning to spend a few days or a couple of week in Carlisle, you must rent this property. The place is stunning, with a great view on the Cumbrian countryside from your bedroom. The cottage is really comfortable, and the owners incredible kind, happy to help you in all your needs.
The cottage is only 15 minute drive from the town centre. Although car is recommended, the bus stop is at a walking distance (less than 5 minute). Besides, people in Cotehill are very friendly.
Once you stay there you would like to stay there forever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Thank you !!!! :))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AirCanuck
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, nice property, minor touches could improve even more”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at Chapel House for a week-long family holiday, using it as a base for exploring the Lake District and Hadrian's Wall sites with our young children. It is perfectly situated to do that while remaining within walking distance of a quiet village and a short drive from Carlisle for supplies. Finding the cottage is a bit tricky as we did not have SatNav and the written directions were a little vague. We felt lucky to pull up to the right property on our first attempt and only did so because, as I was driving past, I noticed the cottage name on a garbage bin at the end of the long lane.

The highlight of the property is certainly the master bedroom. The large windows overlook a pastoral setting and offer great sunsets. It made the room light and airy and we enjoyed many evenings reading, watching the lambs and planning our next day's adventures after the kids had gone to bed. It became the focal point of the house.

Sharu was a pleasure to deal with. Prior to our stay, she was quick to respond to our email enquiries, and agreed to provide towels (not normally included) as we were travelling from abroad. She lives next door, and was available if needed but not intrusive. Unsolicited, she offered us a more recent road map than ours and her SatNav.

A couple of things could improve the property and its value, as it was not an inexpensive rental: the galley kitchen is quite small and offers only the most basic amenities, it didn't even seem to have a coffee-maker. Some of the furniture is worn and tired, especially the master bedroom settees. The vertical blinds in the master bedroom are problematic and hard to move, thus they cut down on the range of the great views. Also, a few thoughtful touches could showcase the property better: it was clean, but it wasn't pristine: the windows need a good cleaning, sills needed wiping and cobwebs removed, and a couple of flowerpots outside the entrance could dress up first impressions.

Overall, we would recommend this rental to friends and family on account of its location, its accommodating host, and the master bedroom views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, master bedroom views
Liked least: kitchen, tired settees
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Jan 2014
Hi Rachel,

Thanks for your review. The Directions sheet to the cottage explains the exact location with a map. Also normally I get people to key in the postcode in their satnav which brings them straight to the cottage. We have not experienced this issue with other guests so far, however we will try to make the signage more visible and also look into the request for a DVD. Great idea ! Thanks.

As for the wifi, we have been experiencing some problems with the BT wifi since christmas, it has been notified to BT now. Hopefully it will get rectified soon.

Thanks again and hope to see you in the spring again,
Kind Regards,

Sharu.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian H
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the cottage through holiday lettings it was exactly what we were looking for, clean spacious rooms, with everything supplied. We travelled with my daughter son-in-law and granddaughter, it was perfect a lovely location close enough to local amenities, the locals were also extremely friendly and Sharu was a delightful owner, with good communication from the moment we booked. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
Thankyou Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location and views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2013
Maureen - That is lovely, Thankyou ! and I would love to see you here again.
Your Most Welcome !
-Sharu.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$93
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing