We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top of our List”
other travellers have booked this property
The Villa Rosa Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villa Rosa Garden
The Cottage Bedroom with attached Bath The Rose Garden and Birdbath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The Villa Rosa Garden
The Cottage Bedroom with attached Bath
The Rose Garden and Birdbath
The Cottage Kitchen
The Serenity Path
The Cottage Dining area and Loft Stairs
The Cottage Sitting Area and Patio Entrance
A view of Sant'Andrea di CompitoVillage
Spring in the Garden
Part of the Villa Gardens
Cottage Cutting Garden
Summer Flower Display
Springtime on the dining patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sant'Andrea di Compito, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janb60201...
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Top of our List”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Having just spent a week in the Aldo apartment at Il Rifugio we can only endorse what others have said and are already looking forward to a return visit. The property is typically rustic Italian but with so many great "extras"provided. Great bed , large shower and basic supplies in the fridge when we arrived etc.etc..
Bill is a charning,amusing host and nothing is too much trouble . We really appreciated his advice on travel directions and shopping, along with recommendations for parking at Lucca. He is a mine of information and coupled with his amazing generosity we certainly felt very welcome in his beautiful village.Tre Tigli pizzeria has great food which we enjoyed twice during our week and the friendly buzzy atmosphere made for a great evening.
We really loved the private patio and the villa gardens and walking around meeting and greeting the locals.
It is easy to reach larger places but the main attraction is the relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Truly a great property in a lovely village and surrounding area. WE WILL BE BACK!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2014
Tuscany and our little village in particular seem to bring out the best
in our visitors. There's so much to see and do, if they want...or just relax and chill out for a few days. We enjoy helping plan activities for
adventurous guests, or simply having a nice chat over a glass of wine in
the afternoon. And this couple was wonderful...a pleasure to be with.
They will be welcomed back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Welcoming host and a beautiful garden.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for one week in the Aldo suite of this B and B which is located in a quiet village about twenty minutes from the historic town of Lucca. The suite has a patio garden to sit out in which is filled with planted pots. Bill is an enthusiastic gardener and the garden to the front of the property is a testament to his passion for flowers and beautiful to wander around. It's lovely to hear the church bells chime the hours which really lets you know you are in an Italian village. Bill was there to greet us even though we arrived late and he always ensured that we had what we needed and helped out by booking restaurants and even took our washing in when it rained. Croissants and tarts fresh from the local bakery were dropped in each morning by Bill which made a wonderfully relaxed start to the day. Self catering is possible in the suite and there is a large fridge but be aware there is no oven and only a little working space. This can be your excuse to frequent the excellent pizzeria only 5 minutes walk away and enjoy the local wine without having to drive. The village houses Italy's camellia collection which if you go at the right time of year, must be spectacular to see. Lucca is a beautiful, walled town with lots going on culturally as well as good shopping, ancient churches and buildings and lots of restaurants and ice cream shops. We were lucky enough to see a free open air concert as part of the summer festival. If you plan to go on holiday in this area it would be well worth checking whats on well in advance and booking tickets. Thursday night seems to be the night out for locals and there is a fantastic atmosphere with lots of dancing in the piazzas. Thank you Bill and Johnny for being such gracious and generous hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
These folks were a lovely couple who did a great deal of traveling from the
property...our central location makes it very easy to see Lucca and many
of the surrounding Tuscany sights. They are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
598Sally
Keene, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was a great find ... What a gem!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Il Rifugio with hosts Bill and John was the perfect start to our Italian sojourn. The cottage was absolutely delightful, with our own private and charming patio, a very generously stocked fridge, a super comfortable bed ... It was lacking in nothing. It was a two minute walk into the small village of San'Andrea di Compito, which boasted a church, a bar, a fabulous restaurant and a bakery. There is plenty of exploring to be done by foot through the outskirts of town, where there are beautiful stone houses, each one surrounded by bounteous gardens and orchards... Although nothing we saw rivaled Bill and John's lovingly tended garden! We also spent a full day enjoying the beautiful town of Lucca, which was an easy 15 minute drive.

But the best part of the stay was the pure generosity of our hosts. Clearly Bill is a "people person" and a very warm and generous host. (And he is equally kind and generous to his beloved menagerie of pets!)We were made to feel like their favorite houseguests... Great conversation over a bottle of wine, more great conversation over a delicious meal at the restaurant in town (we happily went their two nights in a row) and yet more visiting while Bill lovingly tended the plants in his magnificent garden. Bill was ever so helpful with directions and suggestions of things to see, and he even delivered warm croissants from the bakery to our door at 6:00am.

We look forward to a return visit, and in fact, will try to make stay at Il Rifugio a part of every trip to Italy. A real find. Thank you Bill and John!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: We should have stayed longer ... We will plan accordingly next time!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2014
We love working with guests who appreciate what we've done to the
property, the lovely village surrounding our place, and all the fun
things to do within a short drive of the area. These folks made the
most of their vacation...we enjoyed their company and would welcome them
back anytime...they were perfect guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz G
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure in the heart of Tuscany”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time here, made all the more special by the wonderful owners who made us so welcome, helped to orientate us to the area and other "above and beyond" experiences. The village itself is a real sanctuary especially when returning from a hectic day trip to Florence! The pizzeria, just a 5 minute walk up the drive is not only handy but also serves wonderful food, the soup is a must try! The other breath taking experience is the wonderful garden so tenderly cared for, the colours so vivid and the jasmine so fragrant. No apology needed for rose petals falling in my breakfast one morning - I'm not joking !
All there is left to say is thank you for a holiday to remember!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
We had a wonderful week with this lovely couple...morning breakfast chat
and activity planning, and afternoon wine and cheese before a meal at the
pizzeria. They enjoyed the village sights...olive groves, vineyards, and
the neighborhood folks! We will welcome them back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usr1000
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tuscan to the core. Charming. Cosy. Comfortable”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent our 29th marriage anniversary at The cottage - Il Refugio.
I booked it after looking at scores of rentals. Right from the time I booked, the hosts were super helpful, answering all our questions.

The cottage is attached to a gorgeous Tuscan villa with which it also shares an amazing garden. Although the cottage has its own private walled garden with outside seating.

Right from the little gravel lane leading up to the house to the riot of flowers in the garden, the prima Donna cat momi Lani and the dog and his friends, it is a place worth staying in.

The hosts are wonderful and we spent hours chatting on the patio, under the overhanging wisteria with its lacy blooms filling the air with heady fragrance. Bill is most helpful with local sights and things yo do. His driving instructions are dead on.
We would want yo hotmail back again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and the hosts
Liked least: Wi fi access is good not great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2014
A wonderful couple here for a short visit...very well traveled, we
were very impressed with their knowledge of the area...we would welcome
them back anytime...just fun to be with, and a joy to spend "wine time"
talking about their travels. They helped make our week a perfect one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing