We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, wonderful hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
The Villa Rosa Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villa Rosa Garden
The Cottage Bedroom with attached Bath The Rose Garden and Birdbath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The Villa Rosa Garden
The Cottage Bedroom with attached Bath
The Rose Garden and Birdbath
The Cottage Kitchen
The Serenity Path
The Cottage Dining area and Loft Stairs
The Cottage Sitting Area and Patio Entrance
A view of Sant'Andrea di CompitoVillage
Spring in the Garden
Part of the Villa Gardens
Cottage Cutting Garden
Summer Flower Display
Springtime on the dining patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sant'Andrea di Compito, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sugrshack
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Absolutely beautiful apartment, Bill and John are wonderful hosts. The apartment was perfect; every room was from a dream, from the bedroom with a view of distant mountains, and the private back patio for drinking the generously provided Proseco. Bill and John are wonderful for both the hospitality, the beautifully tended gardens and the intimate knowledge of the small village, with the best places to eat where one feels like royalty. The mountains are so green, with wonderful olive groves, and very close to the absolutely beautiful city of Lucca, with music flowing through the streets.

If you are looking for a friendly, off the beaten track small town experience, you can do no better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hopitality, food, location
Liked least: having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2013
The "Cottage" is an ideal place for a honeymoon, as it is private,
although close to the villa. We enjoyed this couple's visit very
much...they are now a part of our growing Sant' Andrea and "Il Rifugio"
family. We hope to see them again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iconsidin...
Ennis, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect honeymoon”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We recently returned from our honeymoon at Il Rifugio, and we had a fantastic time. We couldn't have been looked after better by our hosts Bill and John. The cottage was clean and well stocked upon our arrival, and it is just the perfect romantic get-away for two. The village is lovely and people are friendly, and it's the perfect place to enjoy a bit of dolce vita. The cottage is completely private, but if we wanted some company, Bill and John were always there to share a bottle of house wine and lots of funny stories under the wisteria..... life couldn't have been better. Thanks Bill and John, we'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall experience
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2013
The Cottage is ideal for a honeymoon...completely private, but near enough to the main house for socializing. Our guests love the village and its people...and these guests were the perfect travellers. We would welcome them back anytime...it was a pleasure having them with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwi_Jacq...
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Heaven in a perfect package”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We loved this beautiful place - our accommodation was spotless and well maintained; the gardens were a joy to either dine, dream or just recharge the soul in; and our hosts really helped us to pick out the best places to visit and hire a bicycle from.
We were thrilled to find the village has a great bakery within walking distance and 3 super restaurants nearby.
Il Rifugio really is as wonderful as the great reviews and we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and gardens
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2013
These guests were with us in the Cottage for several weeks. They were an absolute joy to meet. The husband spent many happy hours touring the hills around the village on his bicycle, while the his wife sun bathed in the villa gardens and enjoyed walks in the hills. We look forward to their return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2013 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: My wife loved the garden outside and picturesque surrounds, I liked the two excellent resturaunts minutes away.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$129
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing