We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect honeymoon”
other travellers have booked this property
The Villa Rosa Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villa Rosa Garden
The Cottage Bedroom with attached Bath The Rose Garden and Birdbath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Villa Rosa Garden
The Cottage Bedroom with attached Bath
The Rose Garden and Birdbath
The Cottage Kitchen
The Serenity Path
The Cottage Dining area and Loft Stairs
The Cottage Sitting Area and Patio Entrance
A view of Sant'Andrea di CompitoVillage
Spring in the Garden
Part of the Villa Gardens
Cottage Cutting Garden
Summer Flower Display
Springtime on the dining patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sant'Andrea di Compito, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
iconsidin...
Ennis, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect honeymoon”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We recently returned from our honeymoon at Il Rifugio, and we had a fantastic time. We couldn't have been looked after better by our hosts Bill and John. The cottage was clean and well stocked upon our arrival, and it is just the perfect romantic get-away for two. The village is lovely and people are friendly, and it's the perfect place to enjoy a bit of dolce vita. The cottage is completely private, but if we wanted some company, Bill and John were always there to share a bottle of house wine and lots of funny stories under the wisteria..... life couldn't have been better. Thanks Bill and John, we'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall experience
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2013
The Cottage is ideal for a honeymoon...completely private, but near enough to the main house for socializing. Our guests love the village and its people...and these guests were the perfect travellers. We would welcome them back anytime...it was a pleasure having them with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwi_Jacq...
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Heaven in a perfect package”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We loved this beautiful place - our accommodation was spotless and well maintained; the gardens were a joy to either dine, dream or just recharge the soul in; and our hosts really helped us to pick out the best places to visit and hire a bicycle from.
We were thrilled to find the village has a great bakery within walking distance and 3 super restaurants nearby.
Il Rifugio really is as wonderful as the great reviews and we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and gardens
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2013
These guests were with us in the Cottage for several weeks. They were an absolute joy to meet. The husband spent many happy hours touring the hills around the village on his bicycle, while the his wife sun bathed in the villa gardens and enjoyed walks in the hills. We look forward to their return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2013 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: My wife loved the garden outside and picturesque surrounds, I liked the two excellent resturaunts minutes away.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NMLady_De...
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Five Gals in Tuscany”
Reviewed 11 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Il Rifugio is an Italian experience in a country house with lovely gardens within a world of its own. Four of my "Gal Pals" and I arrived with great expectations and were not to be disappointed. Everything positive written here is the way we found it to be. We occupied the whole main house and the owners Bill & John were located in the nearby guest house. They treated us to a fresh breakfast each morning and offered suggestions and an opinion on that days activity. Not only is it a lovely spot but a great central location for area sightseeing. We visited Lucca and biked the wall twice, Cinque Terre, Pisa, local wine tasting and a visit to a lovely historic villa. That was in just four days. Our wish was that we could have stayed at least one more day to just enjoy the villa and village. For dining, we enjoyed the two local spots in the village that we were able to walk. Our thanks go out to Bill and John for making this a special holiday and sharing their beautiful spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience
Liked least: Can't think of a thing.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing