We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for accommodating a large group with good...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Kilmun, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gregor M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for accommodating a large group with good access to Holy Loch”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Travelled with a large group on a boys waterskiing weekend.
This Self-Let property was perfect for our needs with hot showers, ample well equipped catering facilities in the kitchen, large dining area and multiple rooms suitable for entertaining.
Holy Loch Marina is a 5 minute drive from the house and we were able to set up for water skiing across the road from the house's drive on the shore of the loch.
Owners were flexible with accomodating an earlier check-in and went out of their way to make us feel welcome.
Thank you for having us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The price, location and character of the property.
Liked least: The weather before the sun came out.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
I am glad you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for looking after the place so well, and for your kind remarks about the owners!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllyBally...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and hosts”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The house was great and the location was even better. Excellent views and a set of goal posts in the garden too!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
Thank you. Come back and see us another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle...
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fine house, let down by owner’s neglect”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

There is much to like about Old Kilmun House. The house has character, the bedrooms are comfortable, and there is plenty to do if the weather is bad, including a sauna which is a nice touch. The location is appealing, a peaceful lochside setting with pleasant views and several nearby attractions. The interior was clean, the housekeeper had done a good job.

However our stay was marred by the inexplicable neglect throughout the property. Damaged or broken chairs in the kitchen and garden (some on the verge of collapse or with nails sticking out). Dog poo all over the lawn, which we had to clean up before the children could play there. Several broken light bulbs, damp on at least 2 walls. There’s a snooker table, but the cloth is ripped and there is only one functioning cue. There’s table tennis equipment but no net. A broken shower, a rusted unusable barbecue. I could go on at length but you get the picture. Is this laziness? Who knows, but most of this could be easily remedied with a little effort. We arrived on a wintry April day, but the heating was off and the house freezing. It took several hours to warm up to a habitable temperature. I won’t easily forget the sight of my 85 year old father shivering in a blanket. Why not switch on the heating a couple of hours before guests arrive? For £600 per night we expected better.

None of this was significant enough for us to contact the owner during our stay. Communication with him was generally unsatisfactory so we weren’t seeking further contact. We had to chase him several times for the privilege of making the payments. He then emailed us during our stay to ask if we “still owed him a pile of cash” and then asked us to provide details of the payments we’d made months earlier!

These issues didn’t ruin a relaxing and enjoyable family gathering. I’d recommend Old Kilmun, but not until the owner makes more of an effort on the maintenance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The range of facilities
Liked least: The poor condition of the house and facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
Very tricky to respond to this set of comments without sounding defensive, but I will try. I am glad nothing ruined the relaxing and enjoyable family gathering, and I am glad you found much to like, nice touches, and plenty to do, as well as good housekeeping standards. But it is a real shame that anything marred your stay especially when we could have sorted things there and then. As the reviewer says, they didn't contact us about any of these issues at the time. That's really frustrating for us. In all our information packs and emails, we always ask guests to contact us if they have any problems during their stay, because we can usually resolve them. Also, if they don't contact us, we cant do anything about the issues. (One of our examples in the email is of a broken snooker cue, ironically...) So, we are sorry we didn't get a chance to put things right during your stay, and I suppose I should also say thanks for the critique now, that will enable us to put the other things right. There were already and always are spare snooker cues. light bulbs and table tennis nets in the house. I could have told you where they were. The heating is always set to come on well before guests are due. If you were early, or if for some reason that didn't happen, I am really sorry. Most guests are extremely happy with the temperature of the house at all times of year, as the walls are four feet thick. Dog owners are asked to clean up after their dogs, and our gardener and cleaner are both charged with checking they have done so - I am sorry that on this case they didn't manage that between them. The maintenance issues on the chairs have been attended to. The shower has been fixed, and would have been fixed on same day you arrived as we have a plumber on call as required. The roofer has dealt with the gutter problems. We spend a fortune on maintenance of this beautiful Grade A listed house, and we don't neglect the house or anything in it. (Unfortunately when things do go wrong, we then generally rely on guests to tell us, and if they don't then the next guests can encounter the same thing. So, an instant fix isn't always possible.) But we can reassure all guests that we do make an effort on maintenance, and will continue to do so - most people rather like the fact that we don't hound them for money, but I have to accept that criticism of my inefficiency as valid. Very sorry if we only merited three stars; we certainly aim higher than that!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilyjess...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a great weekend!!”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Booked a weekend away with a big group of friends for a good catch up! It was absolutely amazing and we all had such a great time thanks to the wonderful house! Lovely large rooms, one of the showers was out of order but it didn't really affect our stay. Had two amazing nights downstairs in the pool/dart and tv rooms!! Such a good set up, made it great for my friends and I to chill and have a great time. Lovely walks available around the house, we were lucky we had such great weather! Can't explain how good it was!!! We will definitely be saving our pennies up to return very soon! We all have the Kilmun blues :(! Thanks John!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
I am so pleased you had a good time. Thank you for leaving the place nicely - and for leaving this review. Most of our satisfied guests don't actually bother !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
432yvonne
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Old house in need of some TLC”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Firstly, the positives - this is a gorgeous old house, in a beautiful location, with plenty of room for everyone to spread out and good sized rooms. The kitchen is well equipped and the dining room is stunning.
Unfortunately, this house is not being given the care and attention it deserves. The kitchen was dirty on arrival, with the previous guests' breakfast still stuck to the table, a mouldy filter in the coffee maker and general grime in the cupboards and on the dishes. We had to do some cleaning before we felt comfortable using it.
The photos on this web site and the Old Kilmun site are obviously not recent, as the furniture throughout is getting a bit tired, with the worst thing being the discovery of a piece of chipboard under the matress on one side of the bed in the master suite - to help someone with a sore back? No, to prop up the matress from collapsing through the broken base of the bed!
A downlight hanging from the bathroom ceiling, a nail sticking out of the planking in the sauna, a shower that leaked through into the kitchen, cracked sinks and bath, the TV in the snug downstairs that turned funny colours while you were watching it - everyone was very pink at one stage and then suddenly yellow, and the beautiful panelled ceiling in the
dining room that was sagging alarmingly, right under where the bed would be sitting in the master suite, all made us very sad that this magnificent house does not seem to be getting the care and attention it deserves.
We had a lovely week, but would not have rated the house 4 stars (a fact noted in the guest book by other recent guests) and would urge the owner to spend some money on fixing these issues, before more reviews like this one start to appear on this site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and size of the property
Liked least: The condition of the house and furnishings
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
I am very sorry that you judged us so harshly, but very glad you had a lovely week. We have reluctantly had to let the housekeeper go, as the coffee grounds in the coffee machine was a regular occurrence, and dishes and cupboards were too often found as previous guests had left them. (Usually, that's clean, but it cant be left to previous guests and chance. That's not good enough for our standards). A few quibbles with your quibbles. The shower doesn't leak if people pull the shower curtain across. You were the first people to mention a TV problem and the TV has been replaced even though the next guests after you said it was fine. The house dates from 1693 and some of the ceilings sag - there is no need to be alarmed by that. Visitscotland rated us right at the top of their 4 star category for excellence with a score of 82. 85 is the maximum. We send lots of money on the place, and replace anything that needs replacing as soon as we see it needs replacing. This year so far, - new sofas downstairs in games room and in snug, new rugs, 45 new cushions and pillows, new bedside lamps and linen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing