We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A truly beautiful house - would HIGHLY recommend...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Kilmun, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Agnes W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly beautiful house - would HIGHLY recommend it!”
Reviewed 11 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed at Old Kilmun house for a Birthday weekend and had an unforgettable time.
The house was extremely well equipped with two sitting rooms (a less formal one downstairs) a large dining room, and a cosy kitchen. There was even a sauna! The location was great, right opposite the beautiful loch (which we went swimming it!!!). We went for a long walk right behind the house along a trail into the arboretum.
John was a great host, he replied to me very quickly and was extremely helpful answering any questions and queries I had - thank you! He also gave us all of our deposit back despite us spilling some red wine on the carpet!

Thank you for renting your lovely house to us!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2015
Thanks for the lovely review - it was a shame about the red wine but you were lovely guests and we would welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_ell23
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“***DEPOSIT SCAM***”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
7
people found this review helpful

**DEPOSIT SCAM - BEWARE**
We paid a £600 "housekeeping" deposit to the owner via direct bank transfer (we have since found out bank transfers are common requests from scam artists). The owner has withheld £300 of our deposit as he claims we left the house with the shower running. I mean...really? What sane person would leave a shower on and leave the house with a £600 deposit to lose??!!!! The shower then supposedly leaked onto the floor, dripped through the ceiling and caused damage to the kitchen worktops (even as I type this I can't believe the story which has been concocted). So we are £300 out of pocket through no fault of our own. We believe this is completely fabricated. He has not provided us with any photographic evidence of the alleged damage, no invoices from who completed any work etc. We have no proof there even was any damage. We think the owner was simply angry at us as we left the main door unlocked as we left...however we were led to believe the cleaners were coming in at the same time we were leaving.

If you make the risky decision to stay here....please make sure you pay any deposits to this owner by credit card. And if there are any issues with the house/things not working- then take pictures and report to owner asap. We didn't do this and we should have as the shower we were accused of leaving on DIDN'T EVEN WORK!!!!! So there were clearly existing plumbing issues which our £300 has paid for.

I look forward to seeing the owners response to this post as he is the most irrational and unreasonable person I have had the misfortune of coming across.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Only just seen this post. Extraordinary. Libellous. Pack of lies. This was booked by a woman who seemed very nice, who it then turned out wasn't coming, because it was a stag party. She neglected to tell us this at the time. As well as being messy, they treated the place with the respect you would expect of a drunken badly brought up 15 year old. They left the house with a shower running, water pouring out of the shower cubicle. It flooded into the room below. They left every light on in the house. They left the central heating on over-ride. They left the front door wide open. They left with the house keys. They didn't ring me, they didn't ring the housekeeper. They didn't tell us they had left the house unlocked. We could have had the place emptied, squatted, burnt down. No-one had ever suggested the cleaners would be arriving the same day they left. I shouldn't really have given them a penny of their deposit back as a result of all this, but I did so, because we actually got the remedial work done for £300, and because we are honest people not scam artists. We take the deposit against damage, so we refund the difference if there ever is any damage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanMacF19...
Wemyss Bay, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent rental house for large travelling parties”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This property was booked for a large family gathering and has great facilities for everyone and ideally placed for exploring Argyll and the rest of Scotland.
A great old house does come with its own character with the plumbing and other rattles and groans but this just adds to the overall atmosphere of living in a large old house.
The power shower and Sauna on the second floor were well used and the magnificent large rooms - dining room/kitchen/living room/TV room meant there was plenty of space for everyone to chill and socialise as required.
The games room was also great for kids and adults alike along with the extra kit - goals/golf club sets (There is a great wee nine hole course about 2 miles away at Strone with an honesty box) and bikes.
The welcome pack has a lot of information that is very useful with the local garage/shop/diner great for the essentials and the diner is very good for food before a days exploring if you do not want to use the large kitchen and cookers ( Aga/microwave/electric).
all in all a great place to go with a large gathering with great views and taking the break at whatever speed suits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: staying in a large stately home
Liked least: no different type of pillows available
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for visiting us and for taking the time to post a positive review that will help other people judge us fairly. We aren't perfect but we do our best!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gail_n_to...
Blairgowrie
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place to celebrate 40th”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Booked Old Kilmun and stayed the weekend with family and friends celebrating my 40th birthday. We all had a blast. It's an old house, but modernisation would take away what makes it so grand. We had such fun from arrival on the Friday night right through the weekend. There is something for everyone. We were lucky the weather was perfect, had a lovely walk around the grounds and area, bike rides, and my highlight was my first game of croquet...what a laugh. The dining room is amazing, we all dressed up and ate like kings and queens in this gorgeous room. The snug was perfect for the boys and there footy games while others played pool, darts. Perfect weekend. Highly recommend to anyone thinking of booking.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Thank you so much. Delighted that you had such a great time and appreciated the house as much as you did. We love it and we do our best to keep it in the best condition to be enjoyed by everyone!!! I hope we will see you soon again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDLee
Leawood, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and comfortable old house in a spectacular setting”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We just finished a wonderful week at Old Kilmun House. We were here with extended family from teens to grandparents and everyone had a great time. The house is lovely and well equipped with something for everyone. We had a couple of meals in the formal dining room and lots more in the snug kitchen. There was plenty of room for everyone and no shortage of bathrooms and showers even with a large group of 16.
The gardens are beautiful and we spent quite a bit of time out doors. There is plenty to do in the immediate area. We enjoyed hiking, touring the botanic garden am golfing and some beautiful drives through the peninsula.
If you are lucky enough to stay here, you will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the location and the historic nature of the house.
Liked least: The knives were dull - hardly a huge problem.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
I am so pleased you enjoyed it. We never stop spending money on the house and gardens to try and ensure guests have the best time possible. It is great that you had such a lovely time. The four floors of accommodation certainly work well for multi-generational families, with children confining themselves to games room, billiard room, cinema room and gardens and adults left with civilised space. It works for us!!!! Thanks so much for positing a review; not every satisfied customer does and it is nice to read such truthtful, positive, unsolicited praise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing