We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Family French Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Olive Tree Cottage

Olive Tree  Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Olive Tree  Cottage
Well equiped kitchen in Olive Tree Indoor dining area in Olive Tree
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Olive Tree  Cottage
Well equiped kitchen in Olive Tree
Indoor dining area in Olive Tree
Sejour in Olive Tree
Lounge in Olive Tree
Double bedroom
Double bedroom with views over the garden
Twin bedroom with views over the garden
Bathroom in Olive Tree
Bathroom in Olive Tree
BBQ and Patio area outside Olive Tree
Swimming pool area
Swimming pool area
Swimming pool area
View of the house with Olive Tree far left.
View of the garden from one of the bedroom windows
Part of the main garden
BBQ area which over looks the garden
Main back garden full of olive and fruit trees
Cathar Chateau
Almond trees in our garden
Local vines
Local wine
Vineyards
Mediteranean beaches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Marseillette, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hjtccfc
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Perfect Family French Getaway”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in August 2016

This year our family of four will be returning to the Olive Tree Cottage for the third year in a row. We stay here with another family of four who use the Canal View Cottage, which is back-to-back with Olive Tree. Both cottages are completely separate and have their own entrance, making this a great place for families and friends who want to holiday together but not share the same accommodation. I never thought I'd enjoy going back to the same place for the third time, but this really is the perfect place for a family holiday in France. The English owners (and their dog - Inky!) who live on site, are extremely welcoming and friendly, and are always on hand to help out with advice about the area.

The cottage is in the lovely village of Marseillette, and importantly it is only a 5 minute walk to the village Boulangerie! It is also right next to a Lock on the Canal du Midi (which provides endless entertainment as the boats try to navigate through it) and about an hour's drive from the Languedoc's Mediterranean beaches. It is also about a 20 minutes drive to the historic city of Carcassonne and Trebes, with its canal-side restaurants, is about 10 minutes by car.

The accommodation itself is really well equipped and very clean, and has a beautiful pool surrounded by olive trees, for the use of the 2 cottages - a huge bonus in the climate of this region. There is so much to do in this area, especially for the kids, so plenty of options for days out if you choose not to spend your time relaxing by the pool.

This is a perfect place for a French holiday, which has created some wonderful holiday memories for us.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
It has been a pleasure welcoming you back each year and we are looking forward to seeing you again in August. In the 5 seasons we have been running the Gites it has been a great pleasure that quite a few families have returned each year.

Ann-Marie and Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom s
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another fantastic week in Marseillette”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our second trip to the gites was once again wonderful. We rented both Olive Tree and Canal View as we took more family along, this is a great way to get extra space without being under each others feet. Swimming pool was hot enough for everyone to get in without moaning despite it being early in the season and Ann-Marie and Adrian went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. The lock gate on the canal right outside the gites was again a source of huge entertainment for our 7 year old, as was practising French everyday at the boulangerie, going to the beach, visiting Carcasonne, the list goes on. We will be back..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
It was again a pleasure to welcome Tom and his extended family. Having guests like Tom is so easy and our black lab, Inkie, liked welcoming back James. Always ready to welcome you back. Ann-Marie, Adrian and Inkie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: the wind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Oct 2015
Thank you for a great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Declan F
1 review
“Immaculate gite in convenient location”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just returned from short stay in Olive Tree cottage and we enjoyed our stay immensely. Accomodation was in pristine condition and our hosts were very welcoming and helpful.
Gite was just right for two adults and two children and our girls loved the pool which was also kept in good condition.
Conveniently located to both Carcassonne itself and for traveling further afield via Expressway I would have no hestitation in recommending this accomodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing