We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Linhay

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Little Coxwell, Faringdon, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JackieNew...
Wimborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at the LInday. The cottage is very comfortable and cosy. Brilliant set up.
We were made to feel very welcome by Sonia, the owner. The area is really nice with many, many georgeous pubs and walks. Very doggy friendly. Would recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Thank you - glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ah54321
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautifully decorated, comfortable cottage/barn in a delightful village”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Linhay is a lovely cottage/barn conversion in the small village of Little Coxwell with a pub within 5 mins walking distance (The Eagle).

The furnishings and decoration of The Linhay are really lovely. It is in fact 2 barns - 1 with beams and more of a rustic look but modern feel and the other barn more modern with an open plan kitchen area/living/dining room and twin room - and a wonderful log burner in the living/dining room.
In total there are 2 lovely modern bathrooms, and 3 bedrooms. The main bedroom bed though quite high as a previous reviewer said, was the most comfortable bed EVER!!!

The property has been newly renovated and is in tip top condition and is spotlessly clean!!

We stayed as a couple plus dog for 3 nights and we absolutely loved it.

The owner lives in the next house and is on hand if you need her but not intrusive in any way (it's on a farm and you can hear cows mooing but it's not like chickens running around all over the place so quite separate which is handy when you have a dog).

The owner provided welcome wine, milk and juice and toilet paper, hand soap etc are also there so all nice touches to start off the stay.

There are lots of lovely walks nearby - in the local area and a little further to the Uffington White Horse and nice pubs at Uffington, Woolstone, Fernham and of course The Eagle at Little Coxwell which does really lovely food. The staff were really friendly & professional there, in fact in the evening it seems more like a restaurant than a little pub. Not stuffy but very good quality and was busy when we visited.

Directions to the property were easy to follow and sat nav using the postcode takes you to the main house so all fine.

Booking was through Manor Cottages and all very smooth and stress free!

All in all we had a lovely long weekend - very peaceful and relaxing and we wish we could have stayed longer :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful, delighful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Thank you for such a positive review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikederry
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace and style”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A very pleasant and enjoyable stay.
Booking via Manor Cottages painless as always.
Access to driveway is blind, but is - as per the directions given - literally opposite the turning to the village and we had no problem finding the premises.
Owner Sonia is very trusting (key left in the door on arrival) and leaves you to get on with things, but is very approachable and helpful if/when contacted.
Photos provided of the property were accurate and things were as expected - furnishings are eclectic but very stylish.
Property was generally well appointed. We would have liked a microwave; we understand Sonia is now considering installing one.
Little Coxwell is very pretty and 'sleepy'. Things were generally very peaceful; mooing cows were the loudest noise encountered... Food at The Eagle pub perhaps a bit pricey for some, but was top quality and enjoyed by all our party.
No real gripes - wifi signal was not the strongest; beds are high and persons of short stature may find it difficult getting in/out - but these are very minor things.
A very enjoyable week; we have already recommended the property to our friends, and hope to maybe visit again ourselves!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style of conversion and furnishing.
Liked least: Very little. Maybe wifi signal was not the strongest.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique N
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at the Linhay from 19th to 26th August. We were pleasantly surprised by how beautiful the cottage was. It was a very comfortable cottage, hence a relaxing week away from work. It is on a farm so our children enjoyed spending time with the animals, which was the highlight of the week for them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the cottage.
Liked least: That there was no microwave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turbotid
1 review
“Hidden gem in Oxfordshire countryside”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were lucky enough to find this house at last minute for a visit to the area. We were the very first renters and found a gem.
The owners thoughtfully left us some tea, coffee, cookies (and wine!) and also supplied basics such as bin bags, washing up liquid, dishwasher powder etc.
Having rented 'holiday homes' in the area before I was wary of 'mini' furniture which is uncomfortable but all the furniture was full sized and comfy and bedding was nice quality cotton.
The house is adjacent to a farmhouse on a farm where the owners live. They are not intrusive but were very friendly and my kids enjoyed feeding the horses and seeing the other animals (we almost adopted one of the dogs when we left).
We were working nearby so did not get to enjoy the local area but strongly recommend the local pub (The Eagle I think) for food.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing