We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bridgend, Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Graham M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Claggan Farmhouse is simply excellent for the price and what you get. I travelled to Islay with a large group of friends to visit the whisky distilleries and used Claggan as our home for the week. It is well situated in the middle of the island only a 20 min walk to Bridgend which has a corner shop, hotel and bar, gas station and post office, it also has a bus stop for when you don't want to take the car. The farmhouse is built and furnished to be lived in and enjoyed, and I would recommend this property to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wharris19...
1 review
“Perfect base for an Islay distillery adventure”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The house was really well-equipped and everything was ready for action when we arrived. There was brewing tackle left from previous users which was much appreciated and there was more than enough space for all 12 of us. The games room was great, perfect for a bit of evening entertainment and the sitting room with its fireplace was great for relaxing after a day of whisky tours. The internet dropped out on the second day but that wasn't an issue for me and I preferred radio silence to be quite honest, especially in such a picturesque part of the world (there were a couple of stunning sunsets). The weather held off mostly and we all had a fantastic week: overall very homely, comfortable, well-stocked & -equipped and in a fantastic location.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thank you for this review, our apologies for the wifi. BT had mistaken are account for another property and had disconnected the wifi with out notifying us. It is being reconnected.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maartenvd...
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Nice place for à Large group. Clean. All equepment in werking order. Very Nice view. And just 1,5 km away grom the nearist village

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathryn47...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful House, Great Location, Amazing Views”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This is the second time we have stayed Claggan & both times have been fabulous. The house is very large with plenty of space for our large group. It is set back from the road so peaceful yet is only a 10 minute walk to the shop & local hotel bar. The drying room is large & warm & perfect for returning from outdoor activities. The house is clean & the owners are helpful if you have any issues. I would recommend this property to families or groups of friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property Location
Liked least: Cost of Electricity
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth B
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We love Claggan Farm House”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have visited Claggan many times over the last 25 years often at New year or sometimes in the summer too. We first came as students in our early twenties with big groups of friends, then as families with small children and now families with teenagers. Obviously we love Claggan and Islay. The house is large and comfortable with a good sized living room and open fire. The games hall is also a great space for active kids if a bit hard to beat. It is important to remember this is an old family house so sometimes there are issues to sort particularly if you visit in the winter however the owner is always quick to respond or support is available locally. The location is quiet and about 15 minutes walk from Bridgend where you can pick up essentials in the local store. The co-op in Bowmore is a short drive away. Although you can see the sea it is easiest to drive to one of Islays many glorious beaches. There is open space around the house and a woodland walk through to Bridgend if you dont want to walk along the road. We love Claggann and it has suited our family and friends very well over the years. The owner makes regular improvements and this is a welcoming, comfortable base to explore the island. Remember the linen charge and that heating and hot water is on a meter. We hope you have holidays too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the easy comfotable atmosphere
Liked least: a small problem getting hot water going.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing