We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet and authentic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunbeam Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Villa with private pool
Private pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Kuta, Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
kenthomps...
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet and authentic ”
Reviewed 2 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The private little pool was very enjoyable. If you enjoy solitude without the distraction of other guests, Sunbeam Villa is the place to be. Bed was clean and the amenities are sparse but it feels real.

Amin is very cordial and always ready to assist in any way. Thanks, Amin!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor R
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Bacteria infested, dimly lit nightmare”
Reviewed 14 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

- Regarding the cleaning schedule provided by the Sunbeam Villa,- I’ve been told by the owner (Amin) “we do not have a regular cleaning schedule, only by your request “. And i have requested numerous times without any positive results (when i was able find the members of staff on site) the rest of the time we had to reuse dirty towels and remove ourselves the rotting food from the fridge and old razor blades from the unbearably smelling bathroom, left by the previous guests. The only thing was done is the bed sheets was changed only once in 11 days of our stay. They never removed the bug cocoons from the headboard, shower drain was completely clogged all the time of our stay and even after my request nobody cleaned the rusting hair clips left by the previous guests, from around the sink.
i will kindly attach some pictures of deeply depressing and sickening state of the “villa” we had to spend the biggest part of our honeymoon.
Regarding the modification fee,- Amin withheld the total of IDR 1 450 000 ! Even though the email send to me by Booking.com clearly stated the modified grand total is IDR 6 325 000 ! (I have payed IDR 9 775 000 to Amin in cash, he unwillingly returned only IDR 2 000 000 after 11 out of 17 days of painful stay). I see absolutely no reason for any fees from his site as he misrepresented the property on the Booking.com website, turned my honeymoon in to a total hell filled with infection, bacteria and piles of rubbish.
I will speak to my lawyer regarding the situation, upon my return to London. As i feel deeply hurt and violently ill after my stay at the Villa Sunbeam.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rovermel1
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Extraordinary Stay at the Sunbeam villas”
Reviewed 13 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had an awesome stay at the villa and would highly recommend staying there. We were well greeted and upgraded upon our arrival. They provided us a scooter for the whole stay and gave us recommendations on what to do around. Breakfast is very good!! Finally, the service is the best! We would chat with our hosts frequently and they surely made us feel at home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin S
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
788 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 514 helpful votes
“A good private place to stay”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Not a hotel in the normal sense of the description but then why would anyone think it is when the name itself suggests otherwise. A collection of three separate buildings. One a small bungalow room, the other two are private pool small villas. These consist of a bedroom, which is a good size with a large shower room. Equipped with very effective a/c, WiFi, TV we didn't try. Outside is a kitchenette area but equipped just with a fridge not for self catering a meal. In this kitchenette is also a small seating area facing the garden. In the garden is the pool, 5x3 metres, a good size plunge pool about 1 metre deep for a part and 1.60 for the rest. A really useable pool for a dip after a day at the beach and completely private with 2 metre high garden walls and gated entrance.
And so, not a hotel with reception and services and room cleaned and towels changed, but these things are on request only not conducted daily, primarily so that guests have complete privacy if they want. Breakfast is provided, just tea or coffee, eggs to choice and toast. Sufficient to start the day. And while there might be no formal reception services, one of Amin's team is usually there to answer questions or Amin is available on whatsapp via the WiFi, but you do need to be prepared to live in a reasonably local environment. It is a 30 minute walk to the town and restaurants, the best direction being out left from the property which is by far the easier on motorbike being just 100 metres to tarmac road. The other direction is about 800 metres unpaved to the other main road into the town where you'll start to find restaurants. But a motorbike is highly recommended, not just for getting into town for restaurants but to visit the stunning nearby beaches like Tanjung An, Mawun etc.
At this price for a private plunge pool room it cant be beaten, but care and maintenance of the highest standard will be needed to maintain the attraction of the pool.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell M
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Massive difference between what they say you get, and what you get”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It turns out that if you book the less expensive villa, you don't really get very much at all, certainly not the list of features they promise in the description of the place. No kettle in the room, no hot water in the outdoor shower, no pool access.

If your mother knew that you even considered touching the 'welcome drink' of homemade rice wine in a dirty old reused plastic bottle, she'd never let you leave the house again.

An outdoor shower is a nice idea, until you realise that you have to stand outside naked, surrounded by mosquitoes. When showering, expect to share shower space with a banana plant. The toilet was filthy and the built-in bum gun didn't work.

If you wanted your room cleaned, you had to ask for it, but reception was not staffed during the day so our room wasn't cleaned for the three day stay. In order to make contact with anyone, you've got to send a WhatsApp.

We asked for a driver to take us to the beach, the owner sent round his friend, who tried to charge us 500,000 for a return journey. We found a much friendlier driver in town who took us for 250,000 return.

I have no clue where all these glowing reviews came from, but I would be deeply suspicious of them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing